beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Happy Birthday, Human June 13, 2009

Today we celebrated my Husband John’s birthday.  We had a wonderful day with family.   We did some swimming and finished off with a fabulous cookout. 

When I first saw this sneak peek set from Stampin’ Up! Lots of Bots (releasing July 1st), I had to have it!  Cute, and I could put my spin on it….changing it up so I could give it to John today.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-1-8

Aren’t these robots just so cute?  Let me explain the main image, as they are changed up a bit…This is to show you to think outside the box.  Utilize a stamp set to its fullest.  This stamp set comes with three robots for three different occassions, with three different elements that coordinates with the sentiments. 

Here is what I did to create my robot birthday scene:

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-2-3

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-7

 

First Robot

Omitted gift bag from robots left hand.

Used the sentiment for the main sentiment on the card front.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-6

 

Second Robot

Omitted icepack from head and added a birthday hat from First Robot.

Took gift bag from First Robot and have it laying next to his leg due to his arm missing LOL!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-5

 

Third Robot

Omitted flowers and replaced with a balloon from First Robot.

Added birthday hat from First Robot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That, my stamping friends, is how to get the most use out of a single stamp set.  My hubby is so worth the work that went into creating this card.  Although, I did take it back from him after he opened it to display for a while in my studio.  He totally understands.  This way, it is displayed and a nice reminder of his special day.

The inside of the card is a nice little pop-up surprise.  I used Stampin’ Up!’s new Look Here Bigz XL die that will also be available on July 1st (I’ve mentioned my love for pop-up books and cards, so this purchase was a given *wink*). 

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-3-1

You can’t go wrong with a gift card right?  I see myself using this die a whole lot during the upcoming holidays.  Honestly, this is SOOOOO simple to create (and fun)!

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg-4

Finally, added one more robot to the card to continue the theme from the card front to the inside. 

Thanks for stopping by!

STAMPS:  Lots of Bots

PAPERS:  Basic Gray, Bashful Blue, Very Vanilla, Watercolor Paper, Real Red, and Crushed Curry.

INKS:  Stazon Jet Black; Crushed Curry, Real Red, Bashful Blue, and Basic Gray Classic Stampin’ Pads.

ACCESSORIES:  Big Shot Die Cut Machine; Look Here Bigz XL die; Small and Large Oval Punch; Modern Label Punch; Vintage Brads Assortment; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Aqua Painter.

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!

 

23 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Human”

  1. Angie Tieman Says:

    Wowzers! This is amazing! YOu blow me away with your creativity to change things up! TFS!

  2. Sue Kment Says:

    Um…you are one tricky girl! Love this new stamp set and especially what you have done with it. Hope your hubby gets to touch his card again someday…I do the same thing LOL!

  3. katie Says:

    This is great. I love what you’ve done with the robots and the die. Time to add to the wish list.

  4. babbert Says:

    This is SO clever! I didn’t even look at that set until your card. Your husband shares a birthday with me!!!

    Connie
    http://www.inkspiredtreasures.com

  5. barb dean Says:

    WOW!! This is amazing!!!!!!!! I absolutely LOVE it. I am so glad I changed my mind and ordered this on my 2nd pre-order! :) way to go talented girl!

  6. Claudia Says:

    Totally Cool! I love how you’ve changed it all, to show the versatility of the set, because I really didn’t like the set, but now…
    Anyway, quick question… when you omit, I am guessing you just use a marker to ink up the portions you want… What kind of marker do you use, so you can watercolor after. I am thinking that the basic black marker might smear… I usually use a black StazOn ink pad when coloring in like that. Please let us know your trick :-)
    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Julie A. Says:

    I love it! The coloring is awesome!

  8. Karen U Says:

    I love your blog and don’t think I’ve commented before, but this card is amazing! All that work to create the robot “party” and your coloring – wonderful! Such attention to detail!
    TFS – Karen U

  9. SueB Says:

    these are great and the artwork reminds me of that used in The Iron Giant – one of my fav kids’ movies of all times – TFS!

  10. Fran Gottsch Says:

    This is awsome Mary Jo. Thank you for explaining how you changed the stamps to meet your need for this card. This will make a great class….do you mind if I use it? Fran Gottsch, SU Demo ,Carmen, OK

  11. Allison F Says:

    Wow! That is amazing. I definitely don’t think I would have the patience for this but wish that I would because it looks incredible!

  12. Jill K Says:

    absolutely awesome

  13. Anthonette Says:

    Very creative! I love how you modified the stamps. My household is just crazy for robots, so this will definitely be in my first order. Thanks for the inspiration!

  14. katie Says:

    I love this set too and am getting excited to use it. Great job on this card with the pop up and altered robots and everything!

  15. Wow! He is sooo cute! Great alterations make an amazing card!

  16. Donna Henley Says:

    You are one ingenious Earthling! I love seeing new ways to use a stamp set – you were truly thinking outside the box on this one! Now I’m thinking I DO need to buy this set, lol.

    cheers
    Donna

  17. Donna Says:

    simply GENIUS!

  18. debi Says:

    stinking amazing, thanks for helping me think outside the box

  19. Martha Pineda Says:

    so so cute! I love it.

  20. Gail Says:

    Wonderful creativity! I too ordered this set after seeing this card. Claudia and I have the same question. How did you “omit” using a stazon pad? Please let us know.
    Thanks for all you do and share?
    Gail

  21. JanTink Says:

    Wow! I didn’t buy that die and now you’re making me want it! Dang it!

    Hope your husband appreciated the card. I’m lucky that mine used to teach printing, so he has an appreciation for things made out of paper.

  22. Adriana B Says:

    FUN!!! The card is great inside and out! TFS

  23. Terri E. Says:

    I know you are at convention, but I just wanted to drop you a little note. I think you are so wonderful and talented. I have missed your blog posts and I just wanted you to know that.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers