beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a personalized valentine January 28, 2010

I was hesitant to play around with the Sweet Treat Cups.  I had to sketch, visualize, and become a paper architect while working with them.  I think they would work better if the adhesive was on the opposite side from where it is (does that make sense?).  They just take some playing with.  But, once you get playing & creating with these cups, they are super fun…and the possibilities are endless.

I had an idea in my head for a while as to how I wanted Ethan’s school valentines to look like.  And I had to use the gumball machine images from the Something Sweet stamp set.  Not wanting to send gumballs to school in his valentines, I had to come up with another idea.  Yep!  I splurged and ordered some personalized M&M’s.  How cool!  I even ordered colors to coordinate with my project:)

All I have to say is, “Thank goodness I only had to create for a Kindergarten size classroom!”.    They were time consuming, but soooo worth it!  Ethan loves them too.  The card measures 3″ x 3.5″ and is just the perfect size for a kiddo to pass out at school.  

Here are the personalized M&M’s.  There are 3 Ethan’s in his class so my Ethan is now known as “Ethan A”.   I didn’t want a sentiment on the front of the card, so the other two M&M’s say “Happy Feb 14th” and “V-Day treats4U”.   I do have to admit that a handful of the M&M’s were smeared and not printed perfectly.  

How do I get to those M&M’s?  The Whisper White cardstock tag at the top of the card has two purposes…..it reveals a sweet sentiment and opens a circle on the back of the valentine card.  The Whisper White cardstock tag does not come out all the way.  I created it to stop at a certain point. 

Above is a back view with the Whisper White tag inside the card (not pulled up).  I used my 3/4″ Circle Punch to create the whole. 

Above picture is Whisper White tag pulled half way up

Above picture is Whisper White tag pulled all the way up till it stops.  You now have an open circle that exposes your treat.

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!:

STAMPS:  Occasions Mini Catalog Something Sweet stamp set

PAPER:  Pretty in Pink, Real Red, and Whisper White cardstock

INK:  Pretty in Pink and Real Red Classic Stampin’ Pads.

ACCESSORIES:  1/4″ Pretty in Pink Grosgrain Ribbon; Sweet Treat Cups; Bold Brights Brads assortment; Soft Subtles Brads assortment; 1-3/4′, 1/2″, 3/4″, and 1″ Circle Punches; Big Shot Die-cutting machine; SU! Perfect Polka Dots Textured Impressions Folder; 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Crop-A-Dile Tool.

 

15 Responses to “a personalized valentine”

  1. Connie Davis Says:

    I LOVE this little valentine, Mary Jo! How sweet! Would you mind sharing how you made it as I’ve tried making these “window” cards before and they don’t seem to work out. This looks to be a little easier.

  2. Sarah Naber Says:

    Mary Jo – What cute valentines!!! I TOTALLY agree about the adhesive – it is totally on the wrong side. I think that every time I use them and think I’d use them more if it was on the right side dang it! Anyway I love your project and was wondering if you’d tell us how you got it to stop?!? I really missed you posting projects and now I’ve got to view 2 in one day – it’s like Christmas!!! :) Have a fabulous day and upcoming weekend!!! :)

    Sarah

  3. Tracy Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this card!!!!! For the life of me I can not figure out how you made it stop! If you would be so kind as to share I’m sure we’d all be eternally grateful!!

  4. Debi Hadley Says:

    These are WAY cute! Might just have to CASE these for my son’s Kindergarten class, too (and my other son’s Preschool class). Better get busy if I have 30 some to make. Would you consider sharing how you made the slider card stop?

  5. fran sabad Says:

    Too cute! What a darling card! Ethan will be the star of the class!

  6. Pattie Sykes Says:

    Me too….Me too!!!! How did you make the sentiment tag stop. I made some of these for the kids at Christmas but my slide card had to come all the way out. I would love to see a tutorial on this one. It’s so cute!

    /p

  7. StampinCathy Says:

    All the Valentine’s Cards are awesome and so inspiring.

  8. Cindy Major Says:

    Best Valentine treat ever! Gotta love those M&Ms! I love how some say “From Ethan A” :D I am so hoping they won’t get thrown in the trash after the candy have been eaten – that would just be so sad…

    I agree with you that the adhesive should be on the other side!! I hadn’t bought any treat cups yet, but did decide to get some of the heart-shaped ones. I haven’t played with them yet, so it’s about time I get myself in gear!

    Thanks for sharing, it’s always a pleasure to see what you’ve created!

    Have a nice weekend,
    Cindy

  9. alma de la rosa Says:

    Just amazing. Fabulous as usual

  10. MJ what a great idea….are you going to share the tutorial on how you made your terrific opening? I love the idea of putting a stop in it….pretty please!!!!! LOL TFS

  11. Brittany Says:

    These are adorable!!! Thank you for sharing!

  12. These are so adorable! I love it! I would love to know how the
    tag stops, too. :)

    My daughter became Lauren H. in KG. She started signing her pictures and cards to us as Lauren H. It was too funny. She finally went back to just Lauren this year. She and the other Lauren go to different middle schools. LOL

    TFS!

    Hugs!

  13. Too, too cute, Mary Jo. Don’t know if I could handle making them for my kids classes though ( about 24 kids per class and that’s including kindergarten!) My kids opted for store bought Valentines but went through my stash of cards for their teachers so I guess that counts for something.

  14. Marie Says:

    Adorei o seu blog.
    Muito bom.
    Felicidades.
    Marie

  15. Tina Says:

    I also LOVE your card. This is just a very nice idea. How long did you sit to make them??? AWSOME!!!!
    Greetings from the other side of the pond.
    Tina


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers