beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

already ready!! July 6, 2007

Here it is.  Like I mentioned, I like to create my mini scrapbooks before traveling.  I will be taking this to Denver with me.

convention scrapbook

I just love the colors.  Makes me feel young again like a little girl.  So fresh!  Love how the flowers flow across the cover and look realistic.

Stamp sets used are Doodle This, Rough Edges Alphabets, and Looks Like Spring.

I made this book out of chipboard.  Covered with Barely Banana cardstock.  Other cardstock colors are: Certainly Celery, Pretty In Pink, Regal Rose, Close to Cocoa, and Confetti White.  I also used Certainly Celery Prints Designer Series Paper.  Scalloping made with 1/2″ circle punches and added soft subtles brads.  “C” (for convention) is from On Board Simon Lower covered and sanded. 

convention scrapbook tag upclose

The tag was made with a tag punch and accented with chipboard heart and rhinestone brad.  Secured to cover with linen thread.  I added two buttons stacked on top of one another to the center of the flowers with linen thread.

convention scrapbook pages upclose

I kind of tried to organize the days in sequence to our so-called itinerary.  The book has 24 pages total.  I can add more tags when I come back home.  Tags created with Round Tag punch.  Every other page has coordinating ribbons (celery, apricot, rose, light pink, and taupe grosgrain ribbon attached with soft subtles colored brads). 

For the stitching, I originally paper pierced and faux-stitched with a Close to Cocoa stampin’ write marker….didn’t like it.  I went over it with a white uniball gel pen, and let me tell ya, looks so real.

Book size & inside pages: 5 1/2″ x 7 7/8″

left side celery strip:  1 1/4″ x 5 1/2″

Circle: created with coluzzle cutting system

Will show inside pages when I return from convention and our journey through some states:)

 

8 Responses to “already ready!!”

  1. Jen Says:

    I am so fricken amazed everytime I see some of your work. This is so awesome. I love all the details! Have fun at convention!

  2. Angie Tieman Says:

    Wow! This is awesome!! Let me send you my address…I think you have just enough time to whip one up for me for Convention! *wink* Or better yet, you can just take it with you and we’ll meet up when we get there!

  3. Sue Says:

    Love all of the detail. Beautiful.

  4. Melissa Says:

    Wow! This is stunning!

  5. Teresa Says:

    OMG!!! How fabulous is this??? Love every little detail!!!!!

  6. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo, this is absolutely stunning. Have fun at convention! You will be a show stopper with that little book of yours!

  7. Heather P. Says:

    This is incredible!!

  8. Deb VK Says:

    Mary Jo, you are definitely on your way to being a “dirty girl!” You have an amazing eye for color and layout. You’d better hold tight to this beauty at convention – people are going to want to nab it!!! Have a blast in Denver. Can’t wait to see what you do in the future. deb


Leave a Reply

