beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

fairy tale wishes July 9, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 5:47 pm

I made this Joy Fold Card with the intent for it to tell a story (kinda).  Like a childs story where the prince charming is a frog and going to hop on by with some b-day wishes.

fairy tale wishes

This card was made for Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #9.  You can see a full tutorial and card size details at her blog site.  

I found inspiration for this card from the new collection book.  Colors were taken right from the front cover.  I just love the grass on pg.77 ….so my style! 

I used Unfrogettable, Double-Line Doodles, and Polka Dots & Paisley stamp sets for this card;  Cardstock used:  Blue Bayou, Wild Wasabi, Soft Sky, Pumpkin Pie, and Shimmery White;  Inks used are same as cardstock plus Jet Black Stazon ink.  Edges are sponged with Chocolate Chip. 

Chipboard from On Board Blossoms & Basics covered with Pumpkin Pie cardstock and paper pierced each scallop.  Used 1-1/4″-circle punch for Blue Bayou beneath froggie.  Frog is stamped on Shimmery white and water colored Wild Wasabi with Aqua Painter.

Grass was made with patience!  There is a base piece approx 1″ x 3 1/4″ with many many close cuts (like in collection book).  I couldn’t resist scalloping the grass to add the the fairy tale.  I added a thin strip measuring 1/8″ x 3 1/4″ to top just to give more dimension.  I have the crown laying in the grass till it’s b-day wish time (inside of card). 

Buttons were used for flower centers.  I used very thin cardstock strips of Blue Bayou, Wild Wasabi, and Soft Sky for my button threads.

 fairy tale wishes inside

For inside, Frog has gone from sitting (on cover) to hopping with the crown now his head…not in the grass…sending b-day wishes.   Grass and flowers continued to inside. 

Again, see Beate’s blog for tutorial on Joy Fold Card dimensions.

Thanks for looking. 

 

14 Responses to “fairy tale wishes”

  1. Beate Says:

    Simply wonderful! A fairytale in itself! Hugs!

  2. cheryl Says:

    Great blog. I love all creativity. I just subscribed and I am going to add your link to my blog. Kepp th creativity coming.

  3. Angie Tieman Says:

    Wow! You just kill me, your stuff is so amazing! I can’t get over all the details, they are like works of “real” art! And am I to understand you haven’t ordered your free goodies yet?! Girl, that is some self-control! I tell myself I’m only ordering what I love, so it won’t matter if it retires. Yet that’s how I ended up with over 90 retiring sets and no more room to keep growing! lol

  4. Jen Says:

    Awesome card. Probably one of my favorites with the Unfrogettable set. I love all your details and the story idea is so cute!

  5. This is such a cutie pie card! Love all the different elements!

  6. Angie Tieman Says:

    Oh no! I feel like a pusher now! lol! I know you’ll blow us all away once you get started, so I’m glad you’re getting to it!

  7. Sue Says:

    Simply awesome. Love how you used the story theme with froggie. Such an adorable card.

  8. Catherine Says:

    I absolutely LOVE this card you have created, and any child would love it too…It is wonderful. Have a wonderful day :)!

  9. Katie Says:

    WOW! I LOVE this card! What a treasure for someone special!

  10. Heather P. Says:

    Oh wow, this is absolutely GORGEOUS!! Fabulous job with the sketch. 🙂

  11. this is a gorgeous card!!! the details, the colors, the “dream” ahhhhh! *love* it!
    ~Kendra

  12. Rose Ann Says:

    Oh my goodness!! How totally adorable!!

  13. Ginny Says:

    Very cute, I love fairy tale things.

  14. Teresa Says:

    OMG! This is fabulous!!! Love, love, love it!!!


Leave a Reply

