beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

simple swap-a-rama July 11, 2007

Trying to get some swap cards completed.  This is what I came up with:

monkey swap card

I used the monkey from Zoofari, and the sentiment is from Polka Dots & Paisley set.  I also used Linen BG stamp on the Certainly Celery piece of cardstock.  Cardstock used:  Chocolate Chip, Certainly Celery, Groovy Guava, Purely Pomegranate, and Whisper White.  Inks used:  Chocolate Chip for watercoloring, sentiment, and sponged to edges, Stazon Jet Black, Stazon White sponged to edge of Chocolate Chip card base, Uniball White gel pen for faux-stitching. 

I picked this little guy because he is simple and I could still do some watercoloring.  I added the grass to this card (so this must be a fad I’m having right now…but it’s just so cute to me).  Added a simple flower to left side of sentiment made with spring bouquet flower punch and attached to card with a silver brad.   Scalloping around Circle created with 1/4″-circle punch (this is going to be the hold up for finishing the cards…don’t have the scallop circle punch yet). 

Card base:  4 1/4″ x 8 1/2″

Certainly Celery piece:  3 5/8″ x 3 5/8″

Purely Pomegranate piece:  1 1/2″ x 4 1/4″

Whisper White Circle:  3rd inner circle with Coluzzle Circle Cutting System.  Also used to create the Certainly Celery grass layered on top.

Here is my other swap card that I have in my SCS gallery: 

ahoy, matey swap

This is a pop-up stand-alone card.  I added dimension by having sentiment on front, cutie pirate in middle, and treasure chest in the background.  This card folds flat.  When Pirate middle tab is pulled, the sides slide down and forms a base.

Thanks for looking!

 

8 Responses to “simple swap-a-rama”

  1. Patty H. Says:

    Very cute card!

  2. Ila Says:

    They are both fabulous!! I love the colors and stamp you’ve used in the top one…so cute!

  3. Angie Tieman Says:

    Wow! These are fabulous! If you’re thinking of these for swaps, I see I’m going to have to rethink my own lazy swaps! lol!

  4. Jen Says:

    I can’t believe these are your swaps. The pirate one is just amazing. I am gonna have to try it!! Have I told you lately that I just love your work??

  5. Heather P. Says:

    These are GREAT! Love the Zoofari monkey running on the grass! 🙂

  6. Jennifer Scull Says:

    I am scared to death of monkeys, but your swap card is so cute that I may just have to re-think that!!! 😉 both cards are going to be such a huge hit! you are so very talented! isn’t faux stitching a ton of fun?!

  7. Jill Kirk Says:

    oh my goodness…I hope I run into you at convention!!! I want to swap with you so bad. I love the cards you are bringing!!!

  8. […] Virginia Beach Regionals.  I came home the next day and had to give it a try.  I also made this Ahoy, Matey one for my convention swaps last year (yep, crazy for making about 60 of them […]


Leave a Reply

