beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

my “DREAM BIG” history August 2, 2007

Filed under: my fam,Uncategorized — mjalbright @ 2:03 pm

As many of you know, the convention theme was “Dream Big”.  I don’t like to toot my own horn, and I don’t like to throw around winning the Artisan Award.  But, I thought I would share with you some pics so you too can dream big and be inspired.  

My new years resolution for 2005 was to pick a goal/dream each year to better myself and the lives of others:

  • 2006 was a triathlon for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. 
  • 2007 was to submit entries for the Artisan Award & to place cards in the Ronald McDonald baskets at SU! events I attend.

I get a $500 shopping spree from the SU! catalog (that I haven’t even submitted yet…I know, that takes some self-control).  I WILL USE $200 OF THAT AMOUNT AND DONATE TATTOO KITS FOR SICK CHILDREN ADMITTED TO HOSPITALS

 Art therapy for sick kids & their siblings is so important.  I lost my 11-year-old brother to cancer when I was 10 years old.  Back then, I wasn’t allowed to visit the hospital due to their policies.  He was admitted for weeks to months over a 5 year period.  I SPENT A LOT OF TIME DRAWING.  IT WAS MY OWN THERAPY.  IT MADE ME HAPPY.  

A successful peer demo at convention stated to me, “don’t be selfish with your work…..you need to show people”.  This was stated to me not in a negative way.  It was stated because I’m currently a hobby demo who needs to have workshops to educate people (sales too).    I hope the kids who get to utilize the tattoo kits will be inspired to create…….and well enough in the future to enjoy the wonderful world of stampin’ .

                 mj albright artisan display    artisan award menu and bracelet 

 shelli and i at artisan dinner    bracelet upclose

Keep Creating!!!

 

17 Responses to “my “DREAM BIG” history”

  1. Melissa Says:

    How fabulous is this? It just goes to show how much one statement can impact someone’s life!

    Many Blessings!

  2. Mary Jo, I read this blog entry and cried! I am so glad you did NOT take my comment in a negative way!! You have such a gift, and I hope you share your talent with EVERYONE! YOU are an amazing woman and I am sad I only got a few minutes to chat with you! Set some goals for the year and I know we will be hearing more about you! I have showed many of my customers your gorgeous pop up Ahoy Matey card! I am just tickled to have one of your swaps in my stamp room! I’m here if you need some business tips and look forward to hearing about all your success! Believe and YOU will achieve! ~Kimberly

  3. Sue Says:

    Ok, this made me cry. What a wonderful inspiration to all of us that stamp – we can do something for OTHERS with it (besides giving our love to family and friends through our stamping). I think it’s awesome that you won this award – and even more awesome that you are sharing part of your prize. You are, indeed, not only a terrific artist but also a wonderfully caring, sharing person. How satisfying for you to reach such a high goal. God bless you.

  4. Jill Kirk Says:

    Hi Mary Jo,
    I met you at convention and I am so glad…you are such an inspiration! I love your work, you are amazing, and you have the heart to prove it. I think that is so awesome what you are doing with some of your winnings. You are a wonderful example to many people. I too am so glad I got your swaps, they were amazing. Thank you for being such a fun, loving and fabulous person!! We need more of you in this world.

  5. Kirstin Abbe Says:

    that is so awesome, you sound like you have a big heart and this comes well deserved…have fun shopping the catalog. what a great idea to donate the tattoo kits.

  6. Heather P. Says:

    Oh my gosh, that totally made me cry. Congratulations on winning an Artisan award. Your work is so deserving! Love your generous spirit, and I’m sure those kits will touch the hearts of many children!!

  7. Misty Says:

    That is so awesome! You’ve made the best out of a terribly sad situation. Good luck in your endeavors.
    Misty

  8. Congrats on the Artisan award and bless you for making a decision to share your prize with others. You are a kind and wonderful soul.

  9. Kelly Schroeder Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your story. I’m glad that you found such a blessing out of your brother’s illness and sorry that you lost him at such a young age. What a gift you will be giving to those kids – those tatoo kits are great!

    Love the bracelet, and the great pics of you and Shelli.

    You go, girl! Cheers!

  10. Steph Says:

    MJ, you are quite an inspiration girl! I am so greatful to have you as a friend. I love to hear others say how great you are cause it’s SO true and you are so modest. You have a big heart and you’re an incredible artist.

    Can’t wait to hear all of your stories from convention this week at Deb’s.

    Love you

  11. Congratulations on the Artisan Award. i think it is wonderful you are donating so much of your prize to benefit others. So un-selfish.

  12. Congrats in winning the artisan award, such a great achievement!! What a generous thing for you to do to offer the tattoo kits to the children~ My friends 10 year old son is going through chemo right now, and we are *trying* to help with fundraising,any suggestions??

    Maybe I will pick up some kits to let her take to Children’s with her. Wish us luck~ Your work is fabulous, and the fact that you are such a caring person makes it even more beautiful.

  13. Trina Says:

    Wow, awesome, Congratulations!!!
    You deserve it!!! Your cards are amazing!

  14. Angie Warren Says:

    Congrats on the Artisan Award!! I was wondering if you could post your creations or if SU! said no? I would love to see what you created.
    Angie

  15. Donna Baker Says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog the other day, you’re quite a celebrity with all your submissions & winnings! congratulations, it’s well deserved. you’re so awesome to donate a portion of your prize to the kids!

  16. Debi Pippin Says:

    Mary Jo you were sitting in front of us the night of the awards. So glad to have seen you get this awesome award. It would have been the award that would have meant the most to me. To be a artist and want to share that talent is wonderful and so inspiring for the rest of us. You have made me want to set goals too. Good luck with your next years goals and keep dreaming big!
    Thanks for letting us see your bracelet up close and personal. You are so sweet and have a great smile.

  17. WOW!!! WOW!!! WOW!!!
    What an amazing way you took a life altering thing and put it towards not only helping yourself cope with such an untimely loss, but helping others and working to make a difference.

    Im in awe right now- and crying. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

