beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Vintage-ish August 14, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 4:15 am

If you know me, you know that vintage is so not my specialty.  When I started tonight, this was not what I had in mind.  My cards are mostly bright and almost always include watercoloring.  This was truly a challenge for me that took longer than planned.

This card was made for Beate’s WSC #14.

vintage-ish card

wsc_14.jpg

There are many layers to this card, so I apologize if the directions ramble on for a while:)

STEP 1:  CARD BASE

Used Always Artichoke CS measuring 4 1/4″ x 11″ scored at 5 1/2″ & 10 1/2″.  Stamped the little 1/2″ fold with my Linen BG stamp and Always Artichoke ink.  Scalloped edge using Fiskar scissors.  Adhered a small strip of plain Always Artichoke CS measuring 3/4″ x 4 1/4″ over the flap.  Adhere a piece of Blue Bayou Prints DSP measuring 2 1/2″ x 4″ to card front.  Stamped flower image from Artfully Asian stamp set using Chocolate Chip ink.  Adhered the 1/2″ flap down.  Attached hat pin from Pretties Kit (with a clear bead, white & brown threads, and a spacer bead on it) to the flap.

STEP 2:  RIBBON STRIP

Used a piece of Bordering Blue CS measuring 3/4″ x 4″.  Attached Chocolate Chip Tafetta ribbon to the piece with sewing machine and white thread.  Adhered over piece of Blue Bayou Prints DSP and the small 1/2″ flap.

vintage-ish card upclose

STEP 3:  SENTIMENT

Used River Rock CS measuring 2″ x 3″ stamped with Linen BG stamp and sponged edges with River Rock ink.  Matted with a 2 1/4″ x 3 1/4″ piece of River Rock CS and a 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ piece of Always Artichoke (scalloped edges).  Made 3 stitches to bottom right corner using white thread.  Stamped Sentiment from Artfully Asian stamp set using Bordering Blue ink on Confetti White CS.  Cut out desired pieces and sponged edges with Bordering Blue ink.  Adhered to River Rock piece.  Created shadowing to sentiment pieces using River Rock and Chocolate Chip ink blended with an Aqua-Painter.  Attached buttons from Fresh Favorites I colored buttons.  Pretties Flower created using a circle from On Board Blossoms & Basics covered with Blue Bayou Prints DSP.  Middle petals sponged with River Rock ink.  Attached to River Rock piece with a blue (ice) rhinestone brad.  Added a couple threads of brown thread tied around the brad.   Adhere to card using Pop-Up glue dots.

STEP 4:  CARD INSIDE

I attached a strip of Blue Bayou Prints DSP measuring 2″ x 4 1/4″ to inside of card.  A small strip of Confetti White CS measuring 1/4″ x 4 1/4″ over Blue Bayou piece.  Stitches made to pieces with brown thread.  Attached a small tab created with Chocolate Chip Taffeta ribbon.  Attached another blue (ice) rhinestone brad.  I adhered a piece of River Rock to the very back of the card (to cover sewing and brad) measuring 4 1/4″ x 5 3/4″ stamped with Linen BG stamp and River Rock ink.  Scalloped edge. 

DIFFICULTY LEVEL: 4

Enjoy! 

 

4 Responses to “Vintage-ish”

  1. Beate Says:

    Wow….I post a sketch and you take it to a whole different level! I keep on looking and finding new details. Gorgeous!!!
    Thanks so much for taking the time to play with my sketch! Hugs and smiles

  2. Angie Tieman Says:

    Man, that card is amazing!! I could work on a card for a week and never get results like that. You always blow me away!

  3. Jennifer Scull Says:

    Since I, for one, happen to love vintage, I can truly say WOW! this is just stunning! I am admiring everything about it! You have gone above and beyond with this beautiful creation! so many beautiful little touches that draw my eye! 🙂

  4. Deb Kemp Says:

    Oh my! MJ — you’ve outdone yourself again! Good grief, you never cease to amaze me.


Leave a Reply

