beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

wowzers! 12,000 hits & some blog candy September 2, 2007

I checked my blog yesterday and I wasn’t at 12,000 hits – so I started my thoughts for some blog candy to award.  I checked #’s and I’m now on my way to 13,000!!!

So, here’s what I came up with — I have developed friendships since I started my blog, and this spiked ornament (when given as a gift to someone) represents “friendship”.

spiked ornament 07 & kit             spiked ornament 07 upclose

You may have seen this ornament published in Onstage that I made almost a year ago (different papers/supplies used), and it has been voiced to me that the directions can be challenging to follow.  FYI…it takes approximately 2hrs to make this beauty.  If you are a Stampin’ Up! demo, the directions are on the site.

 HERE’S WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO:

Guess how many ribbon scraps I have.  You win the spiked ornament & a unassembled kit to create another spiked ornament with full directions and some helpful pics.  I will keep this open until I reach 13,000 hits.

One entry per person.  Good luck to you!!

ribbon scraps count

SUPPLIES USED:

Dashing DSP; Coluzzle Cutting System; 2-way glue; Mellow Moss eyelet from Soft Subtles I; Linen Thread; Stazon White; Crystal Clear Embossing Powder; Real Red & Always Artichoke grosgrain ribbon; On Board Garland Greetings.

 

86 Responses to “wowzers! 12,000 hits & some blog candy”

  1. mylastingimpressions Says:

    Great blog candy, very beautiful…okay here’s my guess: I think you have about 30 different scraps of ribbon there :)!

    Hugs,
    Catherine
    http://www.mystampinggrounds.blogspot.com

  2. Liz Says:

    unfortunately, I don’t have a website but love looking at your blog everyday. You have a rare and beautiful talent, thanks for sharing it with us.

    Liz

  3. Jill Kirk Says:

    Your creative mind is amazing. I wish I could comform mine to do the same! I love seeing your work, it’s awesome!!! I think there are 98 ribbon scraps 🙂

  4. Estivalia Says:

    Hum… I’d say you have 57 ribbon scraps there 😀 Thanks for the chance, seems like a very fun project!

    Hugs from Chile 🙂
    Estivalia

  5. Estivalia Says:

    Hum… I’d say you have 57 ribbon scraps there 😀 Thanks for the chance, seems like a very fun project!

    Hugs from Chile 🙂
    Estivalia

  6. Donna Baker Says:

    I’d say 33…great ornament!

  7. Cathy Says:

    Congrats on your hits. Great blog and inspiring artwork. This ornament is just to awesome.
    Ok my guest will be 68 pieces of ribbon.
    Thanks for a chance.
    cmeyers@hughes.net

  8. Cyndi Bundy Says:

    As usual, I love your blog. This ornament is beautiful. I must have missed the directions last year in SS, I’ll have to go track them down 🙂 OK, I know there are waaay more little bits than there appear to be, so my guess is 174. Congrats!

  9. Tamara Says:

    That is a GREAT ornament. I think you have 134 scraps.

  10. Jennifer Speanburg Says:

    Wow, what a great ornament. After this, maybe you could post the directions for all of us? I am going to guess 86 pieces of ribbon.

  11. Angie Tieman Says:

    Two hours! Whoa, girl, you have some serious patience and it shows in all of your beautiful creations!! I’ll have to go look up these directions and see if I can control my ADD self long enough to give it a try! lol! I’ll guess 149 scraps of ribbon, thanks for the eye candy and blog candy!

  12. Dee Says:

    “CONGRATULATIONS” on 12,000+ hits
    Great blog…Thanks for a chance to win your blog candy.
    My guess on your ribbon scraps is 50.

  13. Mary Jo Says:

    Great blog! This is my first visit here. I will be subscribing. My guess is 76. Thanks for the chance to win that beautiful ornament. I will be looking at the directions again and may try it out. Thanks for the inspiration.

  14. Dee (okiedee) Says:

    This is a wild guess..I will use my age…63! Keepin’ my fingers crossed! What an ornament..wow…I would love to try it. Hugs, Dee 8^)

  15. Amy Says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog. Beautiful inspiration! Congrats on your artisan award, too; I’d love to see photos of the artwork you entered…

    How about 117 ribbon scraps?

  16. Patty H. Says:

    Its hard to figure, since I don’t know the size of the jar. I will just throw out a number….100.
    Thanks for a chance and I really love your blog.

    rholschen@air-pipe.com

  17. Cindy Says:

    I would like to guess… 83!

  18. NancyS (momsnack) Says:

    My guess – 72 – that ornament is beautiful!
    NancyS (momsnack)

  19. Angel Says:

    I am going to guess 88.

  20. Dawn E. Says:

    Wow that is a beautiful ornament! We don’t get the OnStage anymore in Canada 😦 So I didn’t see it in the magazine last year. Too bad too! I’ll check it out on the site though…thanks!

    hmmm my guess will be 94.

  21. Peggy Maier Says:

    I’m so awful at guessing – but I’ll say 55!

  22. Erica T Says:

    Awesome blog, after a summer on the run (holidays and running around) I am back at checking them all out again!! I think you have 134 scraps in that jar. I also love to store my ribbon in big jars (old pickle jars) TFS

  23. Diane McVey Says:

    Wow, that ornament is fabulous! That is too cool…I will guess 169 pieces of ribbon in the jar. 🙂

  24. Elizebeth Says:

    That ornament is amazing. My guess is 132 scraps of ribbon.

  25. cheryl Says:

    Great blog candy. My guess is 110 pieces of ribbon. Congrats on the blog hits.

  26. Kimmie Says:

    Wow, that ornament is gaw-jus!!! Looks kinda hard to make though, so instructions and helpful pics would be great!!! I’ll play!! Ummm…..my guess is 36!!

  27. Amy Says:

    That ornament was well worth 2 hours of work! BEAUTIFUL! My guess is… 123… yes… I’m sure you have exactly 123 pieces of ribbon there. 🙂

  28. Colleen Says:

    Oooo! I’d love to learn how to make that beautiful ornament. My guess is you have 125 scraps of ribbon in that jar.

    Fingers crossed xxxxxx

    Colleen
    http://kroppykat.blogspot.com/

  29. Elizabeth V. Says:

    I would guess 85 ribbon pieces are in your jar. Congratulations on your milestone and I love your beautiful ornament!

  30. Chriss B Says:

    77 pieces of ribbon? Love you ornament and I hope that anyone that has received one from you takes a lot of care in storing it! Thanks for the blog and all of your sharing!
    Chriss B.
    chriss58 on SCS

  31. I was going to use my age, but then when I relooked at the jar I started thinking that wasn’t enough (and no, I’m not that young!) So I think I’ll guess 101! 😉

    Gorgeous ornament! So cool that one of these given as a gift means friendship. Congrats on the hits!

  32. tanja fussell Says:

    Congratulations! I’ll have to say 77! The ornament is the bomb! Just gorgeous!

  33. Susan Says:

    What a gorgeous ornament! My guess is 156 pieces of ribbon in your jar!!

    You have a beautiful blog!

    Susan

  34. Claudia F. Says:

    148 is my guess. Love your blog!

  35. Kim B Says:

    My guess is 64. Congrats on the hits and great blog!

  36. Abbie Says:

    Your work is always inspiring! LOVED these ornament in Onstage…just couldn’t quite make them work! Congrat’s on your artisan award too!!! My guess is 136 ribbon pieces in the jar.

  37. FA Stamper Says:

    Awesome ornament. I am going to check out those directions. Congrats on the hits! I will guess 94 pieces.

  38. Pam Says:

    My guess is 66. I would love to make one of these! It is beautiful!!!

  39. Britiney Says:

    Ooooooo! I LOVED that ornament. I’m going to have to go searching for the instructions again and give it a try. Thanks so much for your amazing inspiration and talent. My guess is 58.

  40. Trisha Says:

    I would have to say 156…

  41. Love the paper craft flower project! I would guess 85

  42. Love the paper craft flower project! I would guess 85.
    Thanks for chance to win goodies! Deb

  43. Angie Warren Says:

    I love your work!! I will guess 124. Fingers are crossed!!
    Anie

  44. Carolynn | cornellian Says:

    Wow…amazing ornament. My guess is 84. Could I be that lucky?

  45. Kelley Says:

    wow, I would say there are 100 scraps in there!!

  46. Melanie Says:

    great job! can you let me know where on the demo SU web site this ball is? I couldn’t find it! thanks! and congrats on your hits this ball is cool!

  47. Wow! that ornament is certainly a ton of work, but it is completely fabulous. 2 hours, hmmmm… I can be a lazy papercrafter, maybe if I spread it out over 4 of my sons piano lessons I can complete one.

  48. Susan Daly Says:

    Hi there,
    I would guess 87. Check out my site for more blog candy.

  49. doverdi Says:

    “CONGRATULATIONS” on 12,000+ hits. My guess is 56 ribbon scraps. Thanks for the chance to win.

  50. Samantha Says:

    I am guessing 70. Why I don’ know. lol! sounds good. thanks for sharing with us and hope your having a safe and happy holiday weekend!!!

  51. Heather Leech Says:

    Hi!
    I’m going to guess 111 (a few of my first choices had been taken). Thanks for a chance at a beautiful prize!!
    Heather L.

  52. awesome blog candy Mary Jo! love that ornament! My guess is 52.

  53. ANETTE Says:

    Beautiful ornament….would be proud to add it to our family collection…congrats on the 12,000 plus hits… my guess will be 115. Thanks for the opportunity…great site 🙂

  54. Pegg Says:

    Congrats on your hits!! My guess is 72! Hope you are enjoying the weekend!

  55. Ida Faye Says:

    The ornament is gorgeous. Maybe it represents friendship because someone would have to be a good friend to receive one!!! My guess is 98 pieces of ribbon. Thanks for sharing.

  56. What a beautiful ornament! I’m going to guess that there are 152 ribbon scraps. Thanks for the chance to win!

  57. What a fun contest!! I have a ribbon fetish myself, so I am going to guess 242 ribbon scraps

  58. SusanH Says:

    Wow, the ornament is gorgeous – and my guess is 187 ribbon scraps! (you have a beautiful blog, too)

  59. Courtney Says:

    Congrats on your way past 12,000 hits! I love your blog layout- its similar to mine but the color combo is great. Its inspired me to fiddle with the colors of mine.

    And my guess is 132 scraps.

  60. Laura W Says:

    Oooh, I always guess low, so I’m guessing high this time! 🙂 102??

  61. Nancy Riley Says:

    Awesome blog candy! Woohoo!!!! My guess on the ribbon scraps will be 248.

  62. rebecca Says:

    My guess is 74. What a great ornament. 2 hours??? I’m glad one of the prizes is an assembled one. Great blog, BTW. Once again, you & I can thank Allison for sending me your way.

  63. Betty Says:

    Congrats on your hits!! I guess 100.

  64. Elaine Says:

    that is the coolest ornament thing!!!! I am guessing 90 scraps!

  65. Kristine Says:

    Beautiful ornament! I’d say 134 pieces of ribbon.

  66. Nikki Says:

    Georgeous ornament! Thanks for the chance to win one – I’m going to guess 116.

  67. Lori Says:

    WOW! That is beautiful! And takes a lot of patience. 🙂 I would love to try and make one of those! I’ll guess 146.

  68. Kelly Says:

    Beautiful ornament! What fun! I will guess 141 scraps of ribbon.

  69. Rosella Says:

    I would love to learn how to make this gorgeous ornament! My guess as to how much ribbon you have in your jar: 199
    Congratulations!

  70. Tara Says:

    Wow…How cool is that ornament!! I love that..it would be a fun one to make. My guess is 78! 🙂

  71. Cris Says:

    Wow! Great giveaway!!! My guess is…hmm…. 75 pieces of ribbon. I’m not a SU! demo, and I loooooove Christmas and pretty papers, so this is a lovely prize! Thanks and congrats on the hits!

  72. Jen Says:

    I knew your blog would take off. Your artwork is just amazing. I just received one of your cards in the mail and I gotta say it’s fabulous, thank you!

    I think you have 113 scraps. Happy Labor Day!

  73. Beanie Says:

    Love you blog

  74. Jan Scholl Says:

    lets try 66-because I dont know how large the jar is . Just sounds like a good number.

  75. Kim Says:

    I think you have 114 scraps. That is a beautiful ornament! Thanks for the chance to win!

  76. joyk Says:

    am enjoying your blog and wonderful creations……….my guess is 172

  77. Alison Says:

    Well, I wasn’t going to guess, then I noticed that there were 77 comments to your post. 77 was the number I was thinking of for the scrap jar!

  78. Tandra Boyer Says:

    Ok I was going to say 77, then read the post before me and she said 77, so Ill say 79!! LOL
    LOVE your ornaments, and I tried to do the instructions from SU demo side but I lost my patience! hee hee My fingers felt like tree stumps trying to make them!! Try try again!
    Love your blog!!
    Tandra

  79. becca Says:

    thats awesome!! congrats on all your hits. Im going for 206!

  80. suzy Says:

    I am going to guess 154. Thanks for the chance to win, what fun!
    Suzy

  81. Brenda H. Says:

    Congrats on all the hits…great blog!! My guess is 89…thanks for the chance to win!
    ~Brenda

  82. Sondra J. Says:

    Awesome website. I’m going to guess 99. Thanks!

    Sondra

  83. Dawn Marie Says:

    Love your Blog. My guess is 62 pieces!!Good luck to everyone.
    Dawn Marie

  84. Michelle Says:

    Your blog is AWESOME!! Thanks for sharing!
    My guess is 98. Thanks again!

  85. Jo Ann Says:

    What a beautiful ornament! I’m guessing 81!


Leave a Reply

