beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

holy hardware September 3, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 1:14 am

Okay…another take on Beate’s wsc.   I love this sketch.  Having a pattern to follow is really nice & keeps me creating. 

 true friend wsc card                    wsc17.jpg

I used my new True Friend stamp set & Boho Friend wheel with a touch of Apple Cider DSP.

CARD LAYERS:

card base is 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ chocolate chip cs folded in half with wheeling on bottom.  Accessorized bottom of card with some sooo cool pewter jumbo eyelets & pewter brads.  If you look even closer you will see the color theme/design carried on through to the middle of the jumbo eyelets.

Next layers are as follows: 3-1/8″ x 4″ piece of apple cider dsp with river rock ink sponged to edges and corners rounded with a 3/16″ corner rounder punch; 5/8″ chocolate chip grosgrain ribbon; 1-13/16″x 4-1/4″ piece of river rock cs with edges sponged; 1-11/16″ x 4-1/4″ piece of apple cider dsp with edges sponged (weird dimensions due to the design on the paper and me having to have the design cut just right **wink**); 3/4″ x 2-1/8″ piece of shimmery white cs with river rock sponged to edges and the left side of strip with rounded corners.

The medallion was easy and fun to make with a lot of brads that looks so cool.

 true friend wsc medallion upclose

stamped image first in river rock and colored outer dots with chocolate chip stampin’ write marker.  Added pewter brads to outer design.  stamped image again with really rust ink…I didn’t cut out the inward scalloping — the 1/2″-circle punch FITS PERFECTLY!  Punched out a design from apple cider dsp with a 1/2″-circle punch to put in middle with a pewter brad.  The shimmery white circle was cut with coluzzle cutting system (3rd inner most circle measuring 1-7/8″) & edges sponged with river rock ink.  The next circle is really rust cs measuring 2-1/8″ and scalloped using a 3/16″ corner rounder punch & edges sponged with chocolate chip ink.  The outer layer is river rock cs measuring 2-1/8″ (4th inner most coluzzle circle) & sponged with chocolate chip ink.   

I stamped the sentiment in chocolate chip ink on shimmery white cardstock.  I colored in the bold boho-style writing with a really rust stampin’ write marker.  Added a mini library clip (LOVE..LOVE..LOVE!) with a touch or linen thread and a small apple cider dsp image punched with a 1/4″-circle punch just to carry/flow the theme & color. 

true friend wsc sentiment upclose

Hope you like this card & challenge as much as I do. 

HAVE A WONDERFUL LABOR DAY! 

 

11 Responses to “holy hardware”

  1. Kylie Thompson Says:

    Wow have just checked out your BLOG , and I love it. This card is stunning and I am keeping my fingers crossed that SU puts these sets in the next Aussie Catalogue. I read the post about you winning the Artisan Award and your story is beautiful it really touched me. Art is how I got through losing my Uncle and then not long after my parents divorce. And now it is how my girls and I play together.
    thanks so much for inspiring me to create!!!
    Kylie

  2. Beate Says:

    MJ, this takes my breath away. It’s soooo beautiful! I love your medaillon and all that hardware! You rock!!!!
    Glad your first week of schol is over. I bet you will get in a routine soon.
    Thanks for playing with the sketch. Hugs and smiles

  3. fran Says:

    This is so gorgeous! I love the pewter brads – you are amazing!

  4. Mary Jo Says:

    Beeeeautiful! Just stunning.

  5. Angie Tieman Says:

    Gorgeous card, MJ! So many amazing details! I’ll have to try this sketch today too! Hugs!

  6. Melanie Says:

    wow! I love this card! I love the brads on the flower!

  7. Heather P. Says:

    WOW, how pretty! LOVE what you did with the eyelets/brads at the base of the card!

  8. This is so great! I love all the brads – they really work well with this stamp!

  9. Elizebeth Says:

    WOW~ the details are just fabulous! I love the punched out centers for the jumbo brads and that mini library clip!
    AWESOME!!!

  10. Kelley Says:

    This is just a beautifully cool card!1 I love it!!


Leave a Reply

