beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

my crazy brain starts working…… September 8, 2007

at midnight when I should be sleeping!!   

 seasonal whimsy wsc#18

Sentiment details upclose:  I LOVE THE BUTTERFLY!!  So graceful and sweet.

seasonal whimsy wsc#18 sentiment upclose

I have spoken to many fellow stampers & communicate with them that it takes me 1-2 days to make a card….and I have discovered that I am sooo not alone!  But then, I started to think something was wrong with me after I had dinner with the notorious Brent & Amy from SU!  They said that many “work better under pressure and deadlines”….this is not me.  I am going to give you a glimpse as to why I can’t post a card everyday:) 

Friday am — Beate posts her weekend sketch challenge on her blog fresh & fun:

wsc18.jpg

I spent the day brainstorming up some ideas.  I already had my heart set on using my Seasonal Whimsy stamp set so I knew I wasn’t going to use a circled image.

 What colors to use?  Well, it would have to be many bright colors that all coordinate due to the stamp that I picked.  I started browsing through my SU! catalog and found the perfect combo on page 150.

I always draw up sketches for all cards that I make.  I’m such a visual person.

seasonal whimsy wsc#18 sketched ideas

Family goes to bed.  It’s midnight and I get the opportunity to put all my thoughts together. 

I started out thinking I would use my stampin’ write markers for the image.  Well, it just wasn’t working for me.  I didn’t like the way it turned out.

 seasonal whimsy wsc#18 markered image(markered image)

I knew what I was going to do next…which meant that I would be spending more time on some unexpected details.  But, glad I changed the look.  

 seasonal whimsy wsc#18 image pieces(stamped detail pieces)

I went with stamping all images in the desired colors, cutting them out, sponging additional ink for more detail, adhering to a base stamped piece to give some awesome depth and dimension!

seasonal whimsy wsc#18 image upclose(final stamped image)

 At approximately 3am, I finish a card.  I woke up a few hours later only to change the card again…LOL.  I always do this.  I walk by it – change it – walk by it – change it again!!!

Okay!!  So I’m crazy right? 

STAMP SET USED:  SEASONAL WHIMSY

CARDSTOCK USED:  BASHFUL BLUE, PUMPKIN PIE, CERTAINLY CELERY PRINTS DSP, VERY VANILLA

INKS USED:  BASHFUL BLUE, PUMPKIN PIE, CERTAINLY CELERY, OLD OLIVE, REAL RED, CLOSE TO COCOA.

ACCESSORIES USED:  REAL RED BRADS, STAMPIN’ SPONGES, COLOR SPRITZER TOOL, PAPER PIERCING TOOL, POP-UP GLUE DOTS, TICKET CORNER PUNCH, CRYSTAL EFFECTS, DAZZLING DIAMONDS GLITTER, JERSEY RIBBON ORIGINALS.

 

24 Responses to “my crazy brain starts working……”

  1. Tara Says:

    what a beautiful card! I loe the colors…they are fun and some of my favorites!! 🙂

  2. wow, that’s a lot of work, but I agree it comes up better than done with the markers!

  3. Angie Tieman Says:

    Beautiful card, MJ! Now I know why your cards always turn out amazing! I think “Now what kind of scraps do I have laying around here…” lol!

  4. fran Says:

    This beautiful! Thanks for sharing your “creative process” with us – that’s quite a process! But the results are lovely!

  5. Denise Says:

    Wow, wow, wow! That is fantastic!

  6. corie Says:

    WOW, such inspiration!! Love this card — especially the 3-D effect.

  7. Jill Kirk Says:

    I don’t think you are crazy, I think you are brilliantly amazing!!!!! Your mind sure does work wonders. I just LOVE your work. You are serisouly my idol!! LOL.

  8. Dawn E. Says:

    Beautiful card! It does look like it took hours to make too! Love all the details you put into it!

  9. Estivalia Says:

    ” I always do this. I walk by it – change it – walk by it – change it again!!!

    Okay!! So I’m crazy right? ”

    I don’t think it’s crazy at all, I do it all the time myself! =P Amazing card, it does look to take a lot of work.

  10. Lori Says:

    This is a gorgeous card. Thanks for sharing in detail all of the steps you went through to create it.

  11. Dee (okiedee) Says:

    This is a gorgeous card, and yes, it takes me a long time to make a single card..I just cannot pop them out one by one.
    Question here..I see you used the SU Color spritzer…does it work nice, without making large splotches on the paper? I have been eyeballing it for a long time now…I am hoping to get some feedback about it…Thanks for sharing your wonderful cards. Hugs, Dee in Oklahoma 8^)

  12. Misty Says:

    What an awesome card. I think it’s so pretty.
    Misty

  13. amazing card Mary Jo! so nice of you to share your steps in creating your wonderful cards!

  14. Jen Says:

    As always it’s an amazing card! Your so not alone. Sometimes I will walk away from my cards and come back an hour or two later and change it all around. Sometimes a fresh mind helps! Your stuff is amazing, so whatever your doing is working!

  15. Elizebeth Says:

    I dont think you should be concerned with what other people do, your cards are beautiful! If it works for you then theres no need to change what your doing.

  16. I am totally with you on the 1 to 2 days to create a card! I make sketches ahead of time as well…but it is sometimes funny how different it ends up being once I have finished it.

    The time factor makes it harder when I do classes…to design the card takes awhile, but to just make it is a shorter time…how much shorter is where I get myself into trouble sometimes 🙂

    I check your blog all of the time…love the work that you do…Thanks for always sharing!

    Andrea (craftyengineering)

  17. I love your card, and how you showed the difference a little time can make a huge difference! The finished product of piecing as oppose to the markers is amazing!

  18. Lindsey B Says:

    No, I think you’re an artist. 🙂 Thanks for a lovely blog!

  19. Amazing! Thank you for taking the time to make your truly one-of-a-kind creations. They’re all stunning.

  20. Heather P. Says:

    Wow, this card is gorgeous!!! I can see why it takes so long to creat such a beauty! 🙂

  21. Staci Says:

    i am SO glad to learn i’m not the only person who takes 3+ hours to make a card… i’d begun thinking something was wrong with me 😉

    this card is so stunningly beautiful and WORTH all the time you took. “God is in the details”, right?

  22. Dani Says:

    WOW!!! This card is just absolutely stunning! The colors are great and the detail is just amazing. This is such a happy card. It should be framed or something.

  23. Beatrice Says:

    This is soooo lovely. I saw your card on Beate’s blog and my jaw just dropped to the floor. You put so much thought in your work and it clearly shows. Your card just made me want this set more and more. Thanks so much for sharing your art, Beatrice

  24. Marie Says:

    This is gorgeous!!!!! I saw that you gave it to Beate – lucky duck! TFS


Leave a Reply

