beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

“BLING”le bells… “BLING”le all the way! September 17, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 12:14 pm

Oh my!  My first christmas card of the year.  Not sure if I’m ready for this, but I had to use my new Season of Joy stamp set from the Holiday Mini Collection.  

I made this card for Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #19

season of joy wsc#19                    

This is a 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ card size folded in half for a 4-1/4″ squared card made from Soft Sky CS.  I wanted to use my Dashing DSP matted on a piece of Real Red CS…so I went with this simple designed sheet due to the other patterns being way too busy for the card.  The Dashing DSP measures 3-7/8″ square with a 4″ Real Red CS mat with all corners ticket punched.  All edges were sponged with Chocolate Chip ink.  Used my Crop-A-Dile to dry emboss 3 circles to the left side just for some balance.

 The image..well how nice!  It is my image and sentiment all in one with a touch of some holiday bling.  I inked the whole stamp in River Rock ink then went back with my Real Red, Chocolate Chip, and Old Olive Stampin’ Write Markers and colored some details that I wanted to stand out.  I used Versamark, Heat & Stick Powder, and Dazzling Diamonds to all glittered areas (including poinsettia flower). 

 season of joy wsc#19 details

I wanted to make the snowflake in the word “joy” stand out and carry the soft sky color into the image.  I used my 1/2″ circle punch and punched out the original stamped snowflake on the piece of Whisper White CS.  I stamped the image again in Soft Sky ink on Soft Sky CS. and adhered to the back of my Whisper White piece.  Ticket corner to the corners, then matted on a piece of Chocolate Chip CS

I used Chocolate Chip Satin Ribbon from the Holiday Mini Collection to go across the bottom of the card.  I punched a 1/4″ circle to middle of poinsettia flower, layered a piece of ribbon from Sherbert Ribbon Originals which was then threaded up through middle of flower and tied in a not to secure in place. 

STAMP SET USED:  Season of Joy

CARDSTOCK USED:  Soft Sky, Real Red, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip, Dashing DSP.

INKS USED:  Soft Sky, Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Versamark, River Rock.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Chocolate Chip Satin Ribbon, Sherbert Ribbon Originals, Dazzling Diamonds, Heat & Stick Powder, 1/4″ & 1/2″ Circle Punch, Crop-A-Dile tool, Stampin’ Sponges, Ticket Corner Punch.

Happy Monday to all!

 

8 Responses to ““BLING”le bells… “BLING”le all the way!”

  1. Beate Says:

    Wow! What a great card! I love the soft colors, all that sparkle and of course your fantastic eye for details.
    Thanks so much for playing with the sketch! Hugs and smiles

  2. Elizebeth Says:

    Wow, this is just so incredible!

  3. Donna Baker Says:

    wow! this is the most gorgeous card I’ve seen done with this set!

  4. Cathy Says:

    Your card is so cute. Love what you did to the O in Joy.

  5. tanja fussell Says:

    I love it! Nice job with this set!

  6. Barb Barton Says:

    Wow, this is so cute!!! Love all the sparkle and detail on this card!!! One of the best I’ve seen yet with this set!!! Love it!!

  7. Heather P. Says:

    This is SOOOOOO pretty! LOVE all the sparkle, and the colors are lovely!

  8. Mary Jo Says:

    This is outstanding! I love the glitter and all the details. Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

