beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

my “Zany” little ONSTAGE boy! September 17, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 8:52 pm

Okay…so I knew that the latest issue of Onstage was to be made available to us SU! demos mid September.  I waited and waited.  I was so tickled with a melted heart to see my little boys picture in the table of contents and displayed as one of my winning artisan award entries.  YOU CAN ALSO SEE HIS PHOTO PUBLISHED IN THE DICTIONARY NEXT TO MISCHIEVOUS!!!  The story behind the “Zany” page was that I wanted to capture the perfect portrait of my little Ethan.  I chased him around for hours and he kept making faces at me while sticking out his tongue…LOL.  I gave up and just went with what he was giving me. 

ethan’s rainy day page                            mm060756.jpg

I haven’t scrapbooked in over 6 months.  So I took another take on Beate’s weekend sketch challenge and created a 6″ x 6″ scrapbook page of my little Ethan.  I had already made a card in my prior post if you would like to scroll down to see a card with her same layout.

I wanted to create journaling with raindrops incorporated around and within.  I used chipboard petals from On Board Blossoms & Basics and covered them with Soft Sky CS and Crystal Effects.

ethan’s rainy day journaling details

For his little 1-3/4″ square pic, I used all colors of cardstock in my theme and mounted on a chipboard scalloped square from On Board Lots of Letters.  You can also see the large scalloping created with my Coluzzle Cutting System with Soft Sky DSP.

ethan’s rainy day page pic details

STAMP SETS USED:  ABC alphabet lower and Happiness stamp sets.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Blue Bayou, Wild Wasabi, Real Red, Basic Black, and Soft Sky CS & Prints DSP.

INKS USED:  Blue Bayou Classic Stampin’ Pad and Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker.

ACCESSORIES USED:  On Board Blossoms & Basics and Lots of Letters, Black Brads from Vintage assortment, Black buttons from Earth Elements & Neutrals, Linen Thread, Write me a Memory Volume II fonts CD, Coluzzle Cutting System for large scalloping, Jersey Ribbon Originals, Crop-A-Dile, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, Crystal Effects.

 

5 Responses to “my “Zany” little ONSTAGE boy!”

  1. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo your scrapbook page is beautiful! I love those rain drops. Your work is amazing all the time!!!

  2. Heather P. Says:

    WOW, I love those raindrops… This LO is fabulous!

  3. Lynn Says:

    What a cute layout! Just yesterday I was looking at those tiny petals that came with the Blossoms & Basics chipboard and I was wondering what I could do with them. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Kathleenh Says:

    Wow! I LOVE this page! The raindrops, scallops, journaling, colors, just everything looks GREAT!

  5. Tammy Says:

    This is so awesome! I love the chipboard petals turned into raindrops! Great idea!


Leave a Reply

