beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Grateful for you friend September 19, 2007

I’ve been warned that the Splitcoast daily challenges can be addictive….hum, yep!  But, I do like having a template to follow so I can create something daily (for now).

Here is todays challenge:

dotted autumn sc142         

I just love my Dotted Autumn & Fall Flowers DSP.  The paper lets me incorporate the ever so lovely soft sky into my autumn themed creations.

I used the “g” negative space from On Board Lots of Letters, covered with DSP, sanded edges, and sponged with Close to Cocoa ink.  Then I added a different pattern of DSP in Soft Sky to fill in the “g”.  The pumpkin, leaves, and acorn were stamped on Shimmery White CS.  I added some pewter wire works and a brad.  The faux-grass, which I can’t get enough of, was scalloped with my 3/16″ corner rounder punch then I cut on the lines of the design on the paper so it looks like little individual pieces of paper:

dotted autumn sc142 image upclose

This card has so many layers to it.  The challenge pattern consisted of 4 layers, as my card has.  I wanted to add something to the right side of the card where it opens.   The card size is 4-1/4″ x 10-1/2″ scored at 5-1/2″ so you will have a shorter side (which is the front and you’ll have a 5/8″difference from back).  I added more scalloping out of Fall Flowers DSP, then another layer of Really Rust CS.  The inside back piece of the card is wheeled with my Autumn Dots wheel in versamark:

dotted autumn sc142 layers upclose

STAMPS USED:  Dotted Autumn stamp set & Autumn Dots wheel.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Old Olive, Really Rust, Whisper White, Shimmery White, Close to Cocoa, Fall Flowers DSP.

INKS USED:  Old Olive, Really Rust, Close to Cocoa, and Versamark Pad.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Pewter Brads from Vintage Assortment, Wire Works, Ticket Corner Punch, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, On Board Lots of Letters, Sanding Blocks, Stampin’ Sponges, Linen Thread, Word Window Punch, Ribbon from Jersey Ribbon Originals.

 

13 Responses to “Grateful for you friend”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I’ve been having a terrible time trying to come up with something fabulous with this set so THANK YOU!!

    You don’t by any chance have the Tags On Board set too do you? LOL!!

  2. Jill Kirk Says:

    Simply adorable as always. Your work is so detailed, it’s amazing. I love all your posts lately!! Fun for us 🙂 I love all your instructions as well, it’s so helpful. Thanks!

  3. Elizebeth Says:

    This is so beautiful. I love how your cards have such a cute style, but their also stunning! I really like that wire and brad on the pumpkin, such a great touch.

  4. Michelle D. Says:

    So many great details here, and your cutting is absolute perfection! Great card!

  5. Jennifer Scull Says:

    it is wonderful how you combined the softness of the blue with the boldness of the greens and oranges to create such a stunning Fall card! what a creative mind you have! thank you for the inspiration to think ‘outside the box’! 🙂

  6. Lindsey B Says:

    Yet another masterpiece. I’m continually amazed at your attention to detail! It’s fun to see you having fun with the challenges, I think they are a blast!

  7. Tammy Says:

    I love this and all the little details. You are very talented! TFS!

  8. corie Says:

    So incredibly gorgeous!!! I love all the layers!!

  9. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo, this is beautiful! I love all the layers and all your details. AMAZING!

  10. Angie Tieman Says:

    Beautiful card, MJ! Love all the layers and colors you used!

  11. Heather P. Says:

    Wow, this is gorgeous!! You always have ~the~ best little “details” on all your creations! 🙂

  12. Erica A. Says:

    This card is beautiful! Your work is top notch. I want to know how you make your cuts so perfectly.


Leave a Reply

