beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

balance is important September 25, 2007

I promised my 13 yo. daughter that this was her week since I scrapped my son last week.  This page layout, colors, theme is sooo appropriate for a teen girl I must say.  The layout is from Beate’s weekend sketch challenge, and the colors are from my sample card I made for the challenge.  THERE IS A LOT GOING ON WITH THIS PAGE..READ ON:)

 (scroll down for detail pics)

I love this picture of my daughter Morgan.  She’s smiling & happy…but this was a sad day for us as this pic was taken before we left to go to her grandmother’s funeral.  I comforted her and offered support.  I was just happy to capture a smile from her on this day as she was truly aching inside.  Also, hard to capture a teen girl in a pic with her mom.  I will definitely cherish this page forever! 

Okay…the details.  Where to start.  The page is just an 8-1/2″ x 11″ piece of Purely Pomegranate Textured CS horizontally with Basic Black CS measuring 8″ x 10-1/2″ layered on top.  There’s a piece of Certainly Celery Prints DSP 3″ x 10-1/4″ going across the page. 

 happy me & my morgan sentiment details

Sentiment piece is 3-1/8″ x 4-5/8″ Groovy Guava Textured CS with 3″ x 4-1/2″ Purely Pomegranate Prints DSP layered on top.  Stamped happy sentiment from Define Your Life stamp set.  Applied Stazon Jet Black ink to “h” chipboard letter from On Board Lots of Letters, applied Versamark Ink & Crystal Clear Embossing Powder, heated to set and attached with Mini Glue Dots.  Picture matted on Basic Black CS, Certainly Celery CS, and Groovy Guava Textured CS.  

happy me & my morgan details

I wanted, again, a whimsical feel to the page.  The Almost Amethyst Circles were created with my Coluzzle Cutting System.  I wanted my daughter to be the main focus so I put a circle over her face..and carried the circle theme by adding additional ones to both corners of the page.  The upper right circle runs off of the Basic Black CS and turns to Basic Black when it hits the Purely Pomegranate Textured CS.  It is hard to see, but I have a flowing curvy line traveling through the page that was created with my paper-piercing tool…I pushed to tool all the way through the paper to create larger holes.  I then filled the holes with Crystal Effects and topped with Dazzling Diamonds Glitter….It is so cool because the Crystal Effects filled the holes and you can see through the page (even cooler when looking at the page with a light source behind it…resembles a Light-Bright Toy because of the Basic Black CS).  Hard to see but on the bottom I wheeled my Little Bits wheel in Versamark, applied Crystal Clear Embossing Powder, and heated to set.  This wheel coordinates with the Little Flowers Stamp set, so the bottom border is the stamped flowers punched out with a 1/2″ Circle Punch and applied to page with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  All the other stamped circled flowers are from Big Flowers Stamp Set and punched out with 1-3/8″ Circle Punch.

STAMPS USED:  Little Flowers, Big Flowers, Little Bits Wheel, Define Your Life, and It’s All Good.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Purely Pomegranate Textured CS and Prints DSP, Groovy Guava Textured CS, Certainly Celery CS and Prints DSP, Almost Amethyst CS and Prints DSP, Basic Black, Whisper White.

INKS USED:  Versamark, Basic Black, Purely Pomegranate, Certainly Celery, Groovy Guava, Almost Amethyst, Stazon Jet Black, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Coluzzle Cutting System; 1/2″, 1-1/4″, 1-3/8″ Circle Punches; Scallop Punch; 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Round Tab Punch; Linen Thread; Stampin’ Dimensionals; On Board Lots of Letters; Mini Library Clips; Vintage Black Brads;  Certainly Celery 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon; Ice Rhinestone Brads; Crystal Effects; Dazzling Diamonds Glitter; Build-A-Flower Accents & Elements Kit; Paper-Piercing Tool, Crystal Clear Embossing Powder.

 

6 Responses to “balance is important”

  1. Wonderful page! Great detail given, you are such a good Mom! TFS- Deb

  2. Beate Says:

    Wow…I have been staring at your page for a while now. Truly amazing! All those details are incredible. Your daughter is as beautiful as her Mom!

  3. Elizebeth Says:

    This is an amazing scrapbook page. There is so much detail, and it’s all balanced. I cant even imagine thinking up something like this. You really have a gift. Thanks for sharin!

  4. You have an amazing eye for color, balance and detail. Your work is wonderful!

  5. Heather P. Says:

    What a ~gorgeous~ layout… Every time I go back to look at it, I notice something new… 🙂


Leave a Reply

