beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

oh how I wish…. October 3, 2007

the kids would give me a portrait.  With all the different ages of the kids in my home, and their different styles, choices of clothing….it is next to impossible for me to capture a portrait of them all and how I would want it.  I made this card for todays scs sketch challenge 144.  Yes, there are 5 kiddos here….his, mine, and ours = 5. 

all in the family together

SO, I MADE MY OWN PORTRAIT OF THEM:)  Everyone is smiling, holding hands, waving, and dressed so vibrant….LOL.

The picture just doesn’t do justice for the main image.  I watercolored an outline behind each kid in Soft Sky, and when you look at the card, it appears very 3-D like they’re popping right out at you — even my husband made a comment!   I stamped the kids with Stazon Jet Black ink on Confetti White CS (I ran out of my favorite Shimmery White CS — wish I had an unlimited supply of that stuff, or it was cheaper).  Used an Aqua-Painter for watercoloring. 

The grass is Certainly Celery scalloped and very thin cuts.  I took it a step further this time and ran it through the Crimper Tool to give it more character.  Attached to the image piece with Sticky Strip and took my finger over it to make it ever more out of control.  Added a thin 1/8″ strip of Certainly Celery CS to the grass to hide the bottom of the cuts.

I went with a “together” sentiment because it is appropriate.  We are all together as a family….and they have each others “backs” just how I want them to.  Sentiment from Define Your Life stamp set stamped on Confetti White with Real Red ink and matted on Real Red CS and Yoyo Yellow CS (had to dust this CS off before using).  

I decided to leave the On Board chipboard pieces plain so not to take away from the card.  I added the additional splash of color with the Real Red colored buttons and the Orange ribbon from District Ribbon Originals.   Also, couldn’t not add scalloping….added strip of scalloped Pumkin Pie Prints DSP to the right side of the card.

STAMP SETS USED:  All in the Family & Define Your Life.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Tempting Turquoise, Confetti White, Real Red, Yoyo Yellow, Soft Sky, Certainly Celery, Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black, Real Red, Certainly Celery, Tempting Turquoise, Blush Blossom, Pumpkin Pie, Pretty in Pink.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Bold Brights Colored Buttons, Linen Thread, On Board Lots of Letters, On Board Blossoms & Basics, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, District Ribbon Originals, Aqua-Painter.

 

9 Responses to “oh how I wish….”

  1. Jill Kirk Says:

    CUTE!! That set is so fun. I can’t decide if I should get it!!?? I can’t believe you have 5 kids too. You look way too young for a family that big. It’s great! I have 4 siblings and it is awesome!!!!!

  2. Super Mom you are! Simply an adorable card! Deb

  3. So cute! I hope you frame your portrait and hang it up on the wall!

  4. Tammy Says:

    This is so cute! TFS!

  5. Beate Says:

    Wow! This is sooo cute! I love it. Your coloring is fantastic, like always. Love the embellishments you added.

  6. Cheryl C. Says:

    This is so cute. I love it.

  7. Allison Says:

    Super cute…this stamp set is growing on me!

  8. Elizebeth Says:

    I love this set! I keep waiting to see if it will be in the spring/summer catalog before I move on it!

    And I love this used for the sketch challenge, it just works so well.

  9. Carol F. Says:

    Incredible coloring! Love the family image, the wide ribbon, and the chipboard accent!


Leave a Reply

