beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

“Twill” be a true friend October 4, 2007

I made this card for scs’s thursday Ways to use it challenge (Twill Tape).  Yeah….I’m just not feelin’ this card that much.  I’m trying to pin point what it is, and I think it’s that flower just there all by itself.  But when I stand back and look at it, if there was anything else in the main image it would be too busy & the rest of the card has some busy things going on to balance it all out (I think). 

twill be a true friend

I would probably change the Whisper White CS to Very Vanilla CS to coordinate with the twill tape more…but there is white in the Apple Cider DSP and Soft Sky dbl-stitched ribbon.  I tried to balance the white by adding the “is you” part of the sentiment in White Embossing Powder.   I did stamp the flower elements on Very Vanilla CS.

As you see, there are a number of layers.  The card base is Kraft CS measuring 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″ folded in half with 1/2″ cut off of one of the ends.  Layered a piece of Apple Cider DSP, Twill Tape, Purely Pomegranate Satin Ribbon, and Soft Sky dbl-stitched ribbon. 

Where I cut the 1/2″ off, I added a strip of scalloped Holiday Harmony DSP and a thin strip of Soft Sky CS. 

I tried to spice up the lonely flower by adding a small twill tape tab to the upper right, a chipboard photo corner to the bottom left, and a green Ice Rhinestone Brad to the center of the flower.  The flower consists of 3 layers all with Stampin’ Dimensionals between.

STAMP SET USED:  True Friend

CARDSTOCK USED:  Kraft, Whisper White, Very Vanilla, Soft Sky, Apple Cider & Holiday Harmony DSP.

INKS USED:  Wild Wasabi, Purely Pomegranate, Soft Sky, Versamark

ACCESSORIES USED:  White Embossing Powder, Ice Rhinestone Brads, On Board Blossoms & Basics, Twill Tape, Purely Pomegranate Satin Ribbon, Soft Sky Double-Stitched Ribbon, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals.

 

7 Responses to ““Twill” be a true friend”

  1. Love this card Mary Jo! It looks great with so many beautiful layers! Deb

  2. Love this card Mary Jo! All of the layers are beautiful! Deb

  3. Elizebeth Says:

    Sometimes this set gives me troubles, it’s very strange. At one time I can make a card I’m pleased with and then another it makes me feel unsure.

    But, I absolutely LOVE how you layered the flower and the rhinestone brad in the center.

    It’s a beautiful card, and anyone would be lucky to get it! =)

    Have a great night.

  4. Abi Says:

    I don’t agree with you on this card – I LOVE it – I think it’s very chic. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Beautiful card! Love that twill ribbon.

  6. Heather P. Says:

    I think this turned out to be such a lovely card!


Leave a Reply

