beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

b-day bouquet gift October 6, 2007

I was browsing blogs and came across this “OMW..mouth-dropping..I must make” item.  On Jenn Balcer’s blog, there’s a Girlie Gift in a Hurry creation that is oh so cute.  Jenn received the idea from Lori Craig.   And with my daughter going to a birthday party today, it was perfect timing.  It took me about 2 hours to whip this together…and I must say, the end of party report from my daughter was that, “Ashlyn just loved her gift mom!”

b-day bouquet gift (my camera battery was dying so I do apologize for the not so good pic quality…I was really rushed).

I used a clear Stampendous paint pail as my base/pot.  I put a circled piece of styrofoam in the bottom.  I added brown paper shreds to cover up the styrofoam.  I painted 6 wooden rods green and set aside to dry.  The bottom of the pail has a 2-1/2 x 14″ Petals & Paisleys DSP with a Tempting Turquoise 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon tied in a bow.  The sentiment “happy birthday”…. happy from stamp set Polka Dots & Paisleys and birthday from Everyday Flexible Phrases stamped with Tempting Turquoise ink on Whisper White CS measuring 1″ x 2″.   I matted this on So Saffron CS 1-1/8″ x 2-1/8″ covered with Iridescent Ice.   Small flower to left of sentiment from Ginormous Flowers stamp set — stamped with Versamark on Pretty in Pink CS with Iridescent Ice added.  Attached Bold Brights Turquoise Colored Brad to flower.  Added Tempting Turquoise, Pretty in Pink, and Mellow Moss 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon to left side of pail handle.

The flowers were fun to make.  First, I took Tempting Turquoise, Pretty in Pink, and So Saffron CS and covered with Iridescent Ice.  Then I punched 2 of each color with my Scallop Punch.  With same CS, I created rings (again 2 of each color) by using my 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punches.  Used Big Deal Alphabet Stamp Set with Certainly Celery & Old Olive inks on Whisper White CS.  Attached letters & rings to scalloped pieces with Mini Glue Dots.  I then stamped 6 different little flower images with same colors of ink from Little Flowers Stamp Set.  Punched out with 1/4″ Circle Punch, and attached with Stampin’ Dimensionals.

Behind the scalloped pieces are stamped flowers from Ginormous Flowers Stamp Set.  I attached the wooden rods to the backs using a Pop-Up Glue Dot.  I had to cover this  up so I punched out 6 more scallops and 6 1-3/8″ Circle Punch circles out of Petals & Paisleys DSP.  I attached to the backs of the flowers with another Pop-Up Glue Dot.

Last step is to attach money.  This was done by accordian folding the cash, pinching middle, and attaching to wooden flower rod stems with ribbons.  I inserted the flowers into the styrofoam base….took the poor picture….and daughter was off to the party.

Thanks Jenn & Lori for giving me the inspiration to create a hand-made birthday gift:)

 

10 Responses to “b-day bouquet gift”

  1. Angie Tieman Says:

    Super cute! I loved Jenn’s too, so neat you had a chance/reason to make one also! Love it!

  2. jenn Says:

    THIS IS FABULOUS!!! I love it!!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Such a fun idea! I can’t wait to try it!

  4. jen ofiana Says:

    This is so cute and unique! Thanks for sharing. I might have to try this for my nieces!

  5. Tammy Says:

    I saw this on Jenns blog too and now I can’t wait to try my own! Great job!

  6. Lisa Says:

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!! Will definitely have to give it a try! Thanks for the inspiration! Lisa

  7. Beate Says:

    Gorgeous bouquet!!!

    I can’t believe you had everything at home (can, wooden sticks) to make this. I need to stock up on supplies that those!

  8. Tara Says:

    LOVE IT!! What a great and super fun idea for a birthday…I am going to keep this in mind for upcoming birthdays!! 🙂
    darling!

  9. Heather P. Says:

    This is awesome! What a fabulous money tree!


Leave a Reply

