beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

jolliest time October 6, 2007

With my last Stampin’ Up! order, I wanted to get sets that aren’t used that much and are still pretty cool & maybe overlooked.  I wanted to used the stamp set Jolliest Time of the Year for Beate’s wsc #22 .   This set is my style….whimsical and requires watercoloring.  If you are an old pro or a newbie at watercoloring, this set has a nice feature — there are sketch marks within the image and your shades of color are to be darker where there are sketches…makes it easy:)

jolliest time wsc                   wsc-_22.jpg

Card base is 4-1/2″ x 11″ Always Artichoke CS folded in half.  Layered on top is a 4-1/4″ x 5-1/4″ Purely Pomegranate DSP from Holiday Harmony.  The Circle to the left was made with Coluzzle, a piece of River Rock DSP from Holiday Harmony (the piece that is 2 shades of River Rock and strips).  This is matted on a larger circle of Soft Sky CS and scalloped the edges with 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch

I wanted to spice up the DSP and add more colors from my card & texture.  I cut very thin strips of the same Purely Pomegranate DSP, Always Artichoke CS, and Confetti White CS and attached to the stripes of the River Rock DSP from Holiday Harmony.  Added Pewter Brads to all colored stripes.  Dazzling Diamonds applied to the Soft Sky scallops. 

The main image is Confetti White CS measuring 2-1/4″ x 3-1/2″ matted on Always Artichoke CS 2-3/8″ x 3-5/8″.  Image stamped 3 times with Stazon Jet Black Ink.  It is soooo cool and very 3-dimensional.  The legs, snowflakes, arms, and ground of the image are on the base piece.  The 2nd layer is Santa’s coat & Stampin’ Dimensionals.  The 3rd layer is his head & hat with 2 Stampin’ Dimensionals stacked to raise up higher than just one dimensional.  It really pops out at you.  All white within his clothes are colored with Soft Sky ink & Going Gray ink.  The ground, snowflakes, and shadowing behind him are colored with Soft Sky ink.  The rest of Santa was watercolored with Purely Pomegranate, River Rock, and Always Artichoke inks.  I added a fine layer of Dazzling Diamonds to the snowy ground and flakes falling. 

jolliest time wsc details

The sentiment with this set had too many words for my card.  Since only having a 1-3/8″ circle space to work with, I omitted many of the words and used what is the most popular saying we know.  I cut out the words I wanted & adhered to a River Rock CS circle created with my 1-3/8″ Circle Punch.  There is paper-piercing around this piece of CS.  I then matted on a piece of Soft Sky CS punched with my Scallop Punch.  Added Dazzling Diamonds to this Soft Sky scalloping as well to keep the pattern flowing across the card from the larger circle on the left.  Added hardware from Pewter Hodgepodge Hardware and attached with a Ice Rhinestone Brad.  Lastly, added a piece of River Rock Double-Stitched Ribbon

The upper right of the card has 2 Jumbo Pewter Eyelets with green Ice Rhinestone Brads in the center.    It’s hard to see in the pics, but there is paper-piercing bordering every circled image/element on the card.

Thanks Beate for another wonderful challenge.

TFL & enjoy your weekend.

   

 

18 Responses to “jolliest time”

  1. Great job on Beate’a sketch! Ssnta is so jolly,love the pewter brads. TFS-Deb

  2. Beate Says:

    MJ, your card looks amazing! Love all the paper piercing and the GORGEOUS coloring!!!
    Hugs

  3. Jill Kirk Says:

    CUTE! That is an awesome card. I love how you pick sets that aren’t “popular” and make them look like masterpieces. This is amazing!! Love it 🙂

  4. Andrea Says:

    Fantastic card, I love the way you have 3’d him

  5. Beautiful! I love how his head pops up. Very cool!

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Mary Jo… This is just too cute. I love what you did with Beate’s challenge and I so have to get this set now! Have a great weekend, Jennifer 🙂

  7. Misty Says:

    What a very cute Santa. Great card!
    Misty

  8. Melissa Says:

    This is awesome! I love how you spiced up the DSp – I never would have thought of that!

  9. Karie Says:

    This is absolutely adorable!

  10. corie Says:

    This is just precious — love it

  11. This it absolutly THE most amazing card I have seen in a while !! I LOVE IT !!!

  12. So pretty. I love the idea of using stamps you had not thought of before. I sometimes try to do that.

    Happy Stamping.

  13. I love this! It’s so sparkly and happy! What a great Christmas card!

  14. jen ofiana Says:

    That santa is so cute and I never noticed him before. Your doing a good job at making me notice sets that I overlooked!!

  15. Angie Tieman Says:

    What a cutie Santa!! Awesome job, as usual! I love how you’ve been “showcasing” some overlooked stamp sets, great idea! My upline has this set too, I need to stamp with her soon!

  16. Tammy Says:

    Mary Jo, this card is awesome. I love all the sparkle and the brads. Great job on the challenge! TFS!

  17. Heather P. Says:

    LOL, you say the sketch marks make it easier to color, but some of us are just challenged anyway! 🙂

    This card is wonderful! I love your coloring, and the way you laid out the sentiment. 🙂

  18. Elizebeth Says:

    This is just too darn cute!


Leave a Reply

