beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

SU! can do headless October 12, 2007

Yes, I do love the headless chick stamps from mft.  I was faced with a situation…”Man, I love those stamped images of the headless chicks but have only SU! stamp sets (at this time).  So, how can I make this work?” 

headless su chick

Come on…it’s funny right?   And I pulled it off.  But I will confess, being a person who loves to watercolor, I have to have the headless chick stamp sets at mft (I will be ordering some next week). 

I made this card for SCS sketch challenge 145.  I am a couple days late, but I had to try this sketch out (love it).

I’m lovin’ All in the Family stamp set.  The possibilities are endless (as you see).  I wanted to dazzle up my chicks dress a bit.  I masked out and used a swirled stamp image from Priceless stamp set.  Used my White Uniball Signo Gel Pen to the dress buttons so it would coordinate with the Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP more.  I stamped the dog twice..once on the main image and another time on a separate piece of Shimmery White CS.  Cut out the body & head and attached with Mini Glue Dots just to add some subtle dimension to him (so his legs, tail, and ears are set back just a tad).  Free-handed a leash from hand to dog with a Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker

The card size is compact which is just right for the stamped image size.  Card size is Chocolate Chip CS measuring 3″ x 3″ with 3/4″ cut off of one side.  Added Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP to both inner and outer exposed folds. Outside measures 2-1/8″ x 2-3/4″ & inside measures 2-1/8″ x 2-7/8″ and edges sponged with Chocolate Chip ink.  Stamped sentiment from Short & Sweet stamp set with Chocolate Chip ink and added a Orange Fire Rhinestone Brad to lower left corner.  Created scalloping with Slit Punch and Old Olive CS.  Hard to see in pic, but did use Crop-A-Dile to each scalloped section to add a dry embossed circle. 

The main image is stamped on a 1-1/4″ x 1-3/4″ piece of Shimmery White CS.  Matted on Chocolate Chip CS 1-3/8″ x 1-7/8″ and Fall Flowers DSP 1-1/2″ x 2″.  Strip of ribbon from Jersey Ribbon Originals added to card with Sticky Strip.  Attached main image to card.  Card ties shut on right side with ribbon. 

Have a happy weekend & TFL.

 

28 Responses to “SU! can do headless”

  1. Jen Says:

    I love this card. It’s so cute! Love that dog! I have this set. I’ll have to try some headless cards too! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Kim Says:

    This is hysterical! I LOVE it!!!! What a clever card and your watercoloring is terrific!

  3. dawn k Says:

    love it! I also try to stay loyal to my SU stamps, but those MFT stamps have gotten under my skin too! great idea with this card.

  4. Melissa Says:

    Well shoot! Now why didn’t I think of that?! So creative Mary Jo!

  5. pegg Says:

    You are so clever. This is sooo adorable!

  6. Aren’t you the clever one! Great card! I call them headless wonders!(MFT) I have the dog walking set and it is fun! TFS-Deb

  7. Tara Says:

    Wow…such a cute idea…I love this card!! 🙂 I’m sure I tell you this everytime…but I love your blog!

  8. Cindy Says:

    This is hilarious!

  9. Renée VS Says:

    I love this! How creative to come up with something similar to the MFT stamp sets. I’ll have to try it, although the headless things does weird me out a bit … this card, however, is fabulous!

  10. I totally love it! The only problem is….I had decided to get the Wild West Alphabet with my incentive….now I need the All in the Family instead! aaahh!!

  11. soooo cute Mary Jo!! Arent you clever?!?!

  12. Elizebeth Says:

    I love this card! This set is so much fun and I’ll be happy when I finally order it.

    I also wanted to mention I bought my first MFT stamps when they revealed their latest creations and I’m in LOVE with them! You’ll have so much fun coloring them!

  13. Samantha Says:

    What a great rendition. lol!

  14. Donna Baker Says:

    bwaa! that’s too cute!!

  15. Caz Says:

    LOL what a cute idea… I have that set so will try that one day.

  16. corie Says:

    What a great idea — this is so adorable.

  17. Tamara Says:

    Your card is cute, but I don’t understand the MFT stamps. The headless images look odd to me.

  18. Bad Sherry Says:

    Mary Jo!!!! Girl this is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!

  19. Heather P. Says:

    Oh my gosh, I absolutely LOVE this! Her dress, that awesome ribbon, everything! Just too ca-ute!

  20. You aint right!! This is so cute. Love the headless. I guess MFT don’t really have a lot on SU after all. Tee Hee

  21. JanTink Says:

    That is stinkin’ funny! I love it!

  22. Lorien Clark Says:

    Headless chicks! Oh you are funny. I’m not a big fan of the headless chicks but I love how creative you are.

  23. Beate Says:

    Yes, you pulled it off! Your card is fantastic! Your coloring is beautiful like always and your scallop edge finishes the card off great.

  24. Jerri Jimenez Says:

    I just have to leave a comment. I’m not fond of the headless stamps from MFT, but this card is so totally adorable! Cute idea to case the MFT theme, I love it!

  25. Laura Says:

    This is great, I just love the color combos you come up with!

  26. Andrea Hays Says:

    This is just wonderful. I wasn’t sure what to do with that stamp set, but now I want to borrow it or buy it so I can make this! What a hilarious idea! It turned out great!

  27. Rose Ann Says:

    You go, girl!! I really love this, Mary Jo!!

  28. Kathyc on SCS Says:

    This is soooo funny and so darn cute! Good for you for makin it work!!!!!


Leave a Reply

