beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

at this rate…. October 15, 2007

I should have plenty of hand-made christmas cards to send out to those special people in my life.  It is only October, and the collection is growing.

I made this card for Beate’s wsc #23.  It was a simple sketch (but I’m still learning how to keep it simple):

holiday blitz wsc      wsc-_23.jpg

I recently received Holiday Blitz stamp set and wanted to use it this weekend.  I like how versatile this stamp set is with all its images.  And, I ordered it with the hopes that it may be around for a while due to the stamp set covering many occassions.

The card base is 4″ x 8″ Real Red CS folded in half with a 3-3/4″ squared piece of Dashing DSP (it cut and fits so perfectly with my size of card I couldn’t resist using this busy pattern… and with the main image covering the circles, it created a scalloped appearance without even trying).

I love the main image of this card.  I got to use all the holiday-themed stamp sets from the set.  The top piece is a 3″ square of Very Vanilla CS with paper-piercing  1″ & 2″ in x2 to create the boxes.  Each square contains an image/button.  The tree and present have 2 layers of CS within the image for subtle dimension.  The candy cane and snowman are set within the CS by punching 3/4″ Circle Punch and having the base image set within.  Very Vanilla CS then matted on 3-1/8″ square of Old Olive CS and 3-1/4″ square of River Rock CS. 

holiday blitz wsc details

The piece of 5/8″ Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon runs in between Old Olive and River Rock CS pieces of the main image.  Attached main image to DSP and wrapped the ribbon around the DSP and adhered.  Attached to Real Red CS card base. 

STAMP SETS:  Holiday Blitz, Short & Sweet

CARDSTOCK USED:  Dashing DSP, Very Vanilla, Real Red, Old Olive, River Rock

INKS USED:  Same as CS.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Crafters’ Tool Kit; 3-4″ Circle Punch; Bold Brights, Earth Elements, and Earth Elements & Neutrals Colored Buttons; Linen Thread; Stampin’ Sponges; 5/8″ Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon; Fire Rhinestone Brads.

 

10 Responses to “at this rate….”

  1. Beate Says:

    Wow! This looks great! I love the dry embossed rows and all the details in your squares!

  2. Elizebeth Says:

    This is fabulous! I love how you detailed the paper into sections for each stamp. I’m glad your collection is growing, it definately makes life easier.

  3. Super cute!! I love how cozy this looks!

  4. Nancy Riley Says:

    GORGEOUS!!!! Love love love it! You are so very talented!

  5. Melissa Says:

    Awesome Mary Jo! You’ve inspired me to get on doing my own Christmas cards!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  6. Great card! It reminds me of a folk art sampler! You did such a nice job on this! TFS-Deb

  7. Carol F. Says:

    Such an adorable card! I love the squares created by the paper piercing and all of the details within the squares.

  8. LeAnne Pugliese Says:

    WOW! I love this set, love this paper, love what you’ve done to make this card! So cute! TFS.

  9. corie Says:

    This is just so adorable, I love it.

  10. Rose Ann Says:

    What a great way to use all of those smaller images! You are so creative and talented!


Leave a Reply

