beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

tutorial requested October 16, 2007

Filed under: tutorial — mjalbright @ 2:47 am

I attended a SU! Regional Seminar in Virginia Beach earlier this year.  I have to give full credit to SU!’s creative design team who demo’d how to make this type of card.  I must tell ya…This was a Wow! card for me.  I instantly fell in love with it & decided to make some for my convention swaps (see my swap here).  

I have had some requests on how to create this card.  So, I’m presenting to you my first tutorial:)

1.  Gather up suppliesScor-Pal & Fiskars Paper Cutter; desired cardstocks and stamps/inks you choose to use; sticky strip; adhesive. 

pop-up stand alone step 1 -supplies

(For my sample: Sherbert Ribbon Originals; jumbo pewter eyelets; 1-3/8″ Circle Punch; Crop-A-Dile; Linen Thread; Hodgepodge Hardware-pewter; Fire Rhinestone Brad; 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Scallop Punch, Crystal Clear Embossing Powder; 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punches; Always Artichoke grosgrain ribbon; Brayer; Pick a Petal stamp set; Short & Sweet stamp set; Fall Flowers DSP; Really Rust, Soft Sky, and Old Olive ink; CS same as ink and Confetti White.)

Card base = 4-1/4″ x 11″

Inside tag = 2-1/2″ x 5″    with matting = 2-3/4″ x 5-1/4″

 2.  First series of scoring (on 1″, 5-1/2″, and 10″ lines).

pop-up stand alone step 2 -score

3.  Move piece of CS to 1/4″ mark

pop-up stand alone step 3 - move

4.  Start second series of scoring (on 3″, 4″, 7-1/2″, and 8-1/2″ lines)

pop-up stand alone step 4 - score

***IF YOU DON’T HAVE A SCOR-PAL, SIMPLY SCORE AT:

1″, 2-3/4″, 3-3/4″, 5-1/2″, 7-1/4″, 8-1/4″, AND 10″

5.  Cut on 5-1/2″ scored line (middle) 5/8″ in from both sides with either a Fiskars paper cutter or with a hobby blade.

pop-up stand alone step 5 - cut you can cut slit larger if using embellishments that have a lot of dimension (click here for pop-up stand alone step 6 – cut).

7.  Assemble your card base and inside tag by sliding tag into cut slit.  Apply sticky strip to end 1″ sections (more the better).

pop-up stand alone step 7 - assemble

8.  Attach one of the 1″ sections to tag (make sure tag is centered in your cut slit)

pop-up stand alone step 8 - assemble 

9.  attach other side to tag…and your card/base is finished and you can create & stamp to your likings.

 pop-up stand alone step 9 - assemble

Here is my finished sample:

pick a petal pop-up stand alone card  (I had to make the middle cut slit larger on this sample).

Upclose pic of my flower– Embossing Resist to petals.  Stamped first with Linen BG on Fall Flowers DSP.  Stamped petals with Versamark ink & applied Crystal Clear EP.  Used Brayer to cover with desired inks.  Wiped off excess ink.  I love these petals.

pick a petal pop-up stand alone card details

Here is a pic of the card flat (not pulled open and how it would look when received/mailed).

pick a petal pop-up stand alone closed I decorated part of the bottom with paper-piercing and a very thin strip of DSP that is only seen when the card is in the “not-opened” position.  Once card is pulled open, this part disappears and is on the card base. 

Whhhhhhheeaaa!!!!  Finally all done.  If you have any questions, please let me know.

 

13 Responses to “tutorial requested”

  1. Great tutorial, well presented indeed! It looks a bit challenging to me, but I will save it and give it a go soon! Your card is just perfect! Deb

  2. Jen Says:

    Oh, I was so hoping you’d do a tutorial on these. I LOVE that pirate card you did! I am going to try one of these and don’t be surprised if I also case your pirate one! 🙂 Thanks MJ!

  3. tracy Says:

    Thank you for this tutorial! I have the scor-pal and it looks so easy w/ your visuals. I can’t wait to try it out. 🙂

  4. Nancy Riley Says:

    Wonderful tutorial, Mary Jo! I’ll have to try one of these … they’re so cute! BTW, I saw in my Stampin’ Success that you were the winner of the September WOW! Art File! CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Can’t wait to see the published piece in the upcoming On Stage! Way to go!!!!

  5. Elizebeth Says:

    Great tutorial, thank you! I love your pirate card and you make this seem fairly easy….so I will brave it and give it a go.
    Did I read right that you won another award in the last Stampin Success?Congratulations!

  6. Beate Says:

    You are amazing in everything you do! Wonderful tutorial!

  7. Cindy Says:

    Mary Jo,
    I’ve admired your awesome work from afar, but I’m glad to have found your blog today. I was at the same regionals (I remember swapping with you, you sweetly gave me two cards.) Thanks for the super tutorial and inspiration.

  8. Angie Tieman Says:

    Excellent tutorial, MJ! When my customers see your pop-up swap from Convention, they just go crazy for it! This one is amazing too! I know I say it every time, but your attention to details blows me away. You truly are a “real” artist! Hugs!

  9. Oh Thank You! What a great tutorial, and your sample is divine. I’ve been wondering how these are done. Maybe someday soon I’ll get around to trying it thanks to your most excellent tutorial.

  10. corie Says:

    This is a great tutorial, very easy to follow. Thanks so much for sharing!!

  11. Rose Ann Says:

    Wonderful tutorial, and I love the end result! This is sooo pretty!

  12. Heather P. Says:

    What a great tutorial… These types of cards are totally WOWs! 🙂

  13. Mel M. M. M. Says:

    Fantastic project and the perfect tutorial. Thanks for all of your hard work! :O)


Leave a Reply

