beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

my first ATC November 1, 2007

I was contacted by Taylor Vanbruggen blogging at Taylored Expressions regarding an ATC swap.  I have heard of ATC’s, but I always shy away from swaps.  After some consideration, I gladly agreed to participate in the Stampin’ Up! swap category.

If you are not familiar with ATC, here’s a tutorial, and I’ll show you what I did.

There are guidelines some:

  •  the card is only 2-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ in size….that’s a challenge for my busy mind:) 
  •  It must be 2 layers — well of course I had to take it to another level….mine is a mini gate-fold ATC card with a total of 5 layers.
  • Must have embellishments.

Good thing I only had to make 10 ATC’s for this swap.  They are little mini works of art that will end up in someone else’s hands, so I wanted to make something that would represent me well.

Here it is.  I think it is beautiful!  I made this card last month and it inspired my ATC creation:

atc - holy triptych

Definitely had to watercolor.  This card blings — it has Dazzling Diamonds and Clear Micro Beads:

atc - holy triptych details

Now, here is a pic of how this little ATC looks opened.  It is a gate-fold mini ATC with River Rock Double-stitched ribbon that is tied in a bow to keep it closed….really cute:

atc - holy triptych gate fold details

Finally, when making ATC’s, the most important thing is to give it your autograph and number it.  For mine, I punched out a half scallop with a post-it note, applied it to the bottom of my card for masking, stamped back with Linen BG stamp, then signed my name and numbered it:

atc - holy triptych back

There you go.  That’s all there is to ATC’s.  I can’t wait to receive the other swaps from my group.  Also, here’s an idea — I may make a couple more of these and insert gift cards in them for holiday gifts:)

STAMP SETS USED:  Holy Triptych, Linen BG, Short & Sweet stamp sets.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Chocolate Chip, Blue Bayou, Shimmery White CS; Holiday Harmony DSP.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black; Chocolate Chip, Blue Bayou, Soft Sky, River Rock, Mellow Moss, Blush Blossom, Creamy Caramel Classic Stampin’ Pads.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Silver Brads; Ticket Punch; Scallop Punch; Aqua-Painter; Stampin’ Sponges; River Rock Double-Stitched Ribbon; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Dazzling Diamonds, Clear Micro Beads; 2-Way Glue Pen; Crystal Effects.

 

14 Responses to “my first ATC”

  1. Taylor Says:

    WOW!! These are over the top! All the participants are going to be blown away! Your coloring is absolutely gorgeous! Thanks so much for participating!

  2. Cathy Says:

    MJ – your ATC is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. I’m in Taylor’s swap, but not for the SU! category, and now I’m SO disappointed I won’t get one of your little beauties. You’ve done a wonderful job! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Kirsten Says:

    Oh I love these! Awesome job!

  4. Charmaine Says:

    These are gorgeous! Wonderful coloring! WOW!

  5. mbrein23 Says:

    I’ve been creating an alternate version of the ATC in my online doll club for some time now! We call them ATDs!! It’s tons of fun … Your ATC turned out gorgeous – I love the bling!!!!! -Melinda

    Can’t wait to see what you receive back from others!

  6. Laura Says:

    This is wonderful!

  7. beate Says:

    Wow! This is amazing! Love the bling you added!
    Wonderful ATC!

  8. Elizebeth Says:

    I’ve never seen an ATC this detailed before, or a gatefold ATC! WOW!!!

  9. Lisa Says:

    WOW! Your coloring is awesome, love all the sparkle. I love that stamp set.

  10. MichelleD (SCS too) Says:

    Oh my GOSH, what an absolute treasure this is, and how super, super lucky are the 10 ladies who’ll be receiving these amazing works of art…..which pretty much describes all of your creations!

  11. Heather P. Says:

    This is by far the most elaborate ATC card ever! Just gorgeous!

  12. Chris Says:

    I love this, absolutely gorgeous!

  13. Melinda Says:

    OMG! I was checking Taylor’s blog to get the particulars as this is my first ATC swap, too, and I found your link. I quickly muttered under my breath, “I hope she’s in my group,” and after checking the list, you ARE! I’m so excited! It’s absolutely gorgeous and probably even more so IRL. 🙂


Leave a Reply

