beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

MERRY topiARY November 6, 2007

Filed under: my favorite things — mjalbright @ 10:21 am

My Favorite Things released 3 new stamp sets on Nov. 1st and I received my order yesterday.  I spent the whole day Monday cleaning my home and couldn’t wait for my late evening stamping time to approach.  I decided to make a card with Build a Bouquet (the possibilities with this set are endless & some of the samples I have seen so far have blown me away).

merry topiary

I think it turned out cute.  I had someone in mind when making this….someone who loves to garden and has beautiful flower beds.  I wanted it to be for the upcoming holiday season, so it is definitely a festive dressed up shrub!  

This was a bit difficult (well a lot of trial and error on this one):

  • I had to punch the small flowered image in Real Red ink on Whisper White CS.  Punched out with a 1/4″ Circle Punch.  Attached with Mini Glue Dots in the pattern I wanted.  Applied Crystal Effects on to of each circle.  Carefully placed a small gold bead to the centers of the circles (placed just right so the holes where aligned and the gold thread would go in the pattern I wanted).  Threaded the gold thread through the centers of the beads.  Sprinkled a fine dusting of Iridescent Ice.  
  • Each stamped circle to make up the topiary was Old Olive Ink stamped on River Rock CS; cut out; sponged bottom of the circles with more Old Olive Ink to create shadowing; attached to main image section with Stampin’ Dimensionals.
  • The Pot was made with the Faux-Metal Technique.  Used Gold Embossing Powder.  FYI…the Liquid Applique on the pot was done on Whisper White CS, cut out, then applied to the pot.  You can’t reheat, or heat near the pot, or the stamped image on the pot would re-melt and disappear.

merry topiary upclose

I picked Dashing DSP because it continued the circle pattern of the card.  I stamped a larger flower image within each circle with Versamark, applied Crystal Clear Embossing Powder, heated to set. 

There is paper-piercing to the whole outer edge of the card to flow with the paper-piercing half-circle behind the topiary. 

I had a hard time picking a sentiment from the new sentiment stamp set, so I went with “Believe” from the stamp set Think Pink. 

STAMP SETS USED:  Build a Bouquet and Think Pink

CARDSTOCK USED:  River Rock, Old Olive, Real Red, Very Vanilla, and Shimmery White CS;  Dashing DSP.

INKS USED:  Versamark Pad; same as CS listed above.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Gold & Clear Embossing Powder; Iridescent Ice; 5/8″ Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon; Kreinik Gold Thread; Gold Beads; Liquid Applique; Gold Brads; Crystal Effects; Mini Glue Dots; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Paper-Piercing Tool; Ticket Punch; Stampin’ Sponges.

 

8 Responses to “MERRY topiARY”

  1. Kendra Giles Says:

    Just gorgeous mary jo! I love what you did with this! 🙂

  2. Love this topiary card! So clever! Deb

  3. Kim Says:

    Wow! I mean WOW!

  4. Jennifer Scull Says:

    absolutely stunning! this may be one of my faves of yours! that pot is really pretty. love those swirls! thanks so much for sharing, as always!!

  5. beate Says:

    Wow! Like always…a Master piece!
    Hugs!

  6. Denise Says:

    I got to see and touch this card. It’s absoluting gorgeous. MJ, thanks for sharing all your wonderful creations.

  7. kuroba1412 Says:

    this is beautiful! I liked the faux “metal thing” on the pot 🙂

  8. Donna Baker Says:

    wow! I love this card!!!


Leave a Reply

