beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

ho-ho-ho-home for the holidays November 19, 2007

Filed under: my favorite things — mjalbright @ 1:46 pm

The news is out so I thought I’d share with you if you haven’t seen yet.  Kim (MFT Lady) posted on her blog & SCS her new DT members.  I am so excited to announce that I am on the My Favorite Things Design Team.  I am so thrilled to be in a group of such very talented ladies.  

Did you know that there is a weekly sketch challenge on SCS?  Here is my card for mftsc05 (I’m like a week late here):

home for the holidays - mftsc05  When I saw this sketch, I had to give it a try.  It is a standard card 5-1/2″ x 8-1/4″ with Basic Black CS folded in half with 2″ cut off the upper front.   Corner Rounded the upper corners.   Dashing DSP to inside measures 4″ x 5-1/4″ with all four corners rounded.  Added a 1/4″ x 4″ strip of the Dashing DSP to the top with 5 black brads equally spaced.

The front of the card:  I added a layer of Old Olive CS measuring 3-3/8″ x 4″ with bottom corners rounded.  Added another 1/4″ x 4″ strip of the Dashing DSP with 2 black brads.  Stamped sentiment to bottom right. 

The main image piece in order of layers:  Basic Black CS 2-1/2″ x 3″ with top corners rounded; River Rock CS 2-1/2″ x 2-3/4″ & edges sponged with River Rock ink; hard to see in pic but another River Rock CS piece measuring 1/2″ x 2-3/4″ on top of larger river rock…placed to the bottom of this piece to create the depth and flooring & sponged with Old Olive ink;  The chimney image and all the elements were stamped on Papertrey White CS with Stazon Jet Black ink and used Aqua-Painter to color in;  Next layer is the Christmas tree stamped on Papertrey White, colored with aqua-painter and Old Olive ink, sponged edges with Old Olive ink, colored lights in with Real Red Stampin’ Write Marker, adhered to main image piece so it would overlap on top of chimney and hang off the edge;  next is the festive christmas rug colored in with Real Red, Old Olive, and River Rock inks;  finally, added all the gifts.  Added a little sparkle to all the elements with a Gelly Roll metallic glitter pen (love this). 

The ideas and possibilities for this Home for the Holidays stamp set are pretty much endless.   I had so many thoughts, but went with a traditional look. 

home for the holidays upclose - mftsc05

Once I thought I was finished, I had to add the paper-piercing around the main image. This extends to the back part of the card, creating a box and making the eye go right to the main image. 

STAMPS USED:  Home for the Holidays MFT

CARDSTOCK USED:  Basic Black, River Rock, and Old Olive CS; Papertrey White; Dashing DSP.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black; Old Olive, River Rock, Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Sahara Sand, Going Gray, and Creamy Caramel Classic Stampin’ Pads; Real Red and Old Olive Stampin’ Write Markers.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Vintage Brads Assortment; Gelly Roll Glitter Pen; Aqua-Painter;  3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Stampin’ Sponges; Paper-Piercing Tool.

 

13 Responses to “ho-ho-ho-home for the holidays”

  1. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Congrats!! I always told you that you should be on a Design Team! I am in trouble because your so going to make me want MFT stamps. I have two now… and one is this set… you made me want to create with it!! I am so happy for you – you so deserve it!!

  2. Jen Ofiana Says:

    BTW, I LOVE this card!

  3. stacilynch Says:

    Congratulations!!! What an awesome honor! They are really the lucky ones to have you though! Great card! Have a great day!
    Staci

  4. Barb Barton Says:

    WHOO HOO!!! Congratulations Mary Jo!! As amazing as yuor work is, you so deserve to be on a design team!!! Love this card!!! I may just have to break down and go look at these stamps!!!!

  5. Congratulations!!! This card is amazing! I can see why they chose you!

  6. Congrats to you! I know you must be SO SO excited! 🙂 Beautiful card, too! 🙂

  7. Becky W Says:

    Love this card. I can’t imagine how long it took you to make. Oh and congrats on the design team.

  8. Estivalia Says:

    well, after your *gorgeus* MFT samples from a few weeks ago, it is no surprise you made it into their DT 😀 I mean it in the best sense, your artwork is amazing and so is this card too!! (:

  9. Tangii Crain Says:

    Congratulations on being on the Dt for MFT!!! You are so talented and I always love seeing what you’ve come up with. I love this card, what a great idea!!!!!!!!!!!! You go girl!!! Congrats again!

    Happy Holidays,
    Tangii

  10. Angie Tieman Says:

    Congrats, MJ!!! They are lucky to get you!! You are the watercoloring queen! I’m sending you big cyber hugs!

  11. Such talent! Fabulous news! Love this clever card! Deb

  12. Kris Says:

    Congrats on being a part of the design team. What an honor. The card is adorable.What a cool design.

  13. Charmaine Says:

    This is just too cute! Love how it opens!


Leave a Reply

