beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

can’t go wrong with chocolate November 30, 2007

Ever just need a little simple gift to give/exchange during the holidays?  This clear transparent gift bag holding 10 chocolate squares is a hit!  Great for teachers, co-workers, mailman, UPS, and a fellow stamper girl who live close by to me *wink*.  I discovered this cute creation on Lauren Meader’s Blog… My Time, My Creations, My Stampendence.  Click –> here to see her creation with the template.  Needless to say, I ran out to the store the very next day to buy all items needed to make this. 

ghirardelli gift

How cute right? 

I stamped the Acetate with an assortment of SU! snowflakes in Stazon Opaque White ink (drying time is extremely quick).  Used Scor-Pal to create all of the scoring lines.  I used Sticky Strip to hold together (can hardly see).  Filled with an assortment of 10 different chocolate squares.  Punched two 3/16″ holes in the top and closed with Purely Pomegranate Satin Ribbon. 

Here is an upclose pic of the tag:

ghirardelli gift upclose

I first stamped the sentiment with Certainly Celery ink on Whisper White CS.  Used Coluzzle to cut out the circle.  Next, used Coluzzle again to a piece of Soft Sky Prints DSP and used 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch to create the scalloping (the scallops didn’t meet up perfectly, so the meeting place is hidden behind the poinsettia).  I had to add Purely Pomegranate to the main image tag due to the ribbon, so added the flower.  But I also wanted to incorporate more Acetate so I used my Scallop Punch & Acetate, sponged edges of the scalloped Acetate piece with Stazon Opaque White ink, and placed this piece over the poinsettia.  Added 3 Silver Brads and adhered with a Stampin’ Dimensional.  Added a touch of Baby Blue Stickles to some of the details of the stamped sentiment.  Punched a 1/16″ circle to top and attached to Satin Ribbon with Silver Elastic Cord.

STAMP SETS USED:  Season of Joy; snowflakes from sets Snow Flurries, Simple Snowman, and Seasonal Whimsy.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Whisper White and Soft Sky Prints DSP.

INKS USED:  Certainly Celery & Purely Pomegranate Classic Stampin’ Pads; Stazon Opaque White ink.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Acetate sheet measuring 8-1/2″ x 9-1/2″; Scallop Punch; Crop-A-Dile for 3/16″ Circle Punch; 1/16″ Circle Punch; Coluzzle Cutting System; Baby Blue Stickles; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Silver Brads; Silver Elastic Cord; Purely Pomegranate Satin Ribbon.

That’s it!  Very easy.  Thanks to Lauren for the inspiration. 

 

7 Responses to “can’t go wrong with chocolate”

  1. Laura Says:

    I love that you put the pointsettia over the uneven scallops, I think it looks Awesome!

  2. Barb Barton Says:

    Cute!!! I like how you did the acetate over the flower!!

    I’ll have to get you to show me how to use the punch to do this. I’ve had no luck when I try to scallop with the corner rounder!!!

  3. You did a great job! Yummy bag of chocolates! Deb

  4. Jennifer Says:

    What a beautiful gift this makes, LOVE the tag Mary Jo and festive design. Jennifer 🙂

  5. Angie Tieman Says:

    LOVE this one too! It’s a great color combo, and the chocolate just puts it over the top, of course! I sure hope you consider Texas close by to you! *wink* lol!

  6. Penny Says:

    To cute. Who wouldn’t like chocolate. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful ideas with us.

  7. Joanne B. Says:

    Oh my! This is truly stunning.
    I want to make one too!!!


Leave a Reply

