beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

special delivery…it’s a boy! December 16, 2007

Now that I have your attention…. I received my new stamp sets this past week from SU!  I don’t think I have ever purchased a baby/nursery set before, but I instantly fell in love with the elephant image in the Nursery Necessities stamp set, the Nursery Letters Jumbo Wheel, and the large Star Punch.  Aren’t they the cutest.

I made this card for Jen del Muro’s Sketch For You To Try (SCS keyword SFYTT).  You can check out the details at Jen’s Blog:  i{heart}2stamp .

nursery necessities card  Isn’t this stinkin’ cute? 

Here is an upclose so you can see the Letters Wheel stamped image and the large star is embossed with Crystal Clear EP. 

nursery necessities card upclose

So I don’t have to keep re-typing this in the directions…ALL cardstock edges where sponged with Going Gray ink.

The card size is 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″  Basic Gray CS folded in half.  I cut 1/2″ off of one of the ends and placed a scalloped piece of Bashful Blue CS created with my 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch.  Added a 1/4″ strip of Going Gray CS over the Bashful Blue strip and added faux-stitching created with Paper-Piercing Tool from Crafters’ Tool Kit and a White uni-ball Signo Gel Pen.

The Bashful Blue CS was wheeled with Nursery Letters Jumbo Wheel and Versamark Ink.  Applied Crystal Clear EP and heated to set.  The piece measures  2-1/4″ x 4-1/4″.  Used 1/2″ Circle Punch to Going Gray CS, and Blue Ice Circle Rhinestone Brads to the right of the card.  Before adding the ribbon, I adhered the two bottom layers of the main image to the Bashful Blue wheeled piece.  They are Going Gray CS 2-5/8″ square and Basic Gray CS 2-1/2″ square.  Next tied Basic Gray Taffeta Ribbon in a knot to the right side.

For the main image (you already have the two bottom layers attached) — I stamped the elephant and sentiment in Basic Gray ink on a 1-7/8″ square of Going Gray CS (it’s like you have to because of the ear).  Next layer is Bashful Blue CS punched with a Marvy Square Scallop Punch (only non-SU! product…just replace with a 2-1/8″ square piece of Bashful Blue CS).  Final layer is a 2-1/4″ piece of Whisper White CS.  Attached to the already adhered 2 bottom pieces with Stampin’ Dimensionals (so the knotted Taffeta Ribbon is running through the matting of the main image).  Stamped the alphabet star from the stamp set in Bashful Blue ink on Whisper White CS.  Covered with Versamark, Crystal Clear EP, and heated to set.  Used my NEW Large Star Punch to punch out.  Used Star Punch and Basic Gray CS to create the smaller star.  Added a Blue Ice Circle Rhinestone Brad and attached to card using a Stampin’ Dimensional.

This is a keeper I must say.  I may just create a scrapbook page out of it featuring my little boy.

 

10 Responses to “special delivery…it’s a boy!”

  1. I just love your attention to detail on this card — wonderful job!!! I, too, view this as a wonderful set for a scrapbook page, and it may just get me to actually put some of my kids pictures on a page!!!

  2. jen del muro Says:

    this is so cute!!! i love how you used the blingy brads! hugs-jd

  3. Jill Kirk Says:

    Love it! So subtle and beautiful. Always perfection with you!!!!!!!!!

  4. Becky Rusher Says:

    Great card, Mary Jo!

    Tag, you’re it!

    The rules of the game:
    • Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
    • Share 7 random and/or weird facts about yourself on your blog, we all want to know them.
    • Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
    • Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

  5. Jennifer Scull Says:

    that is just so cute!!! I like the embossing – it adds a very nice touch and shine. those brads give a nice pop of bling that I love!!! I can imagine this transferring soooooo well to a scrap page. if you do it, please upload for all of us to see!! 🙂

  6. Charmaine Says:

    This is SO cute Mary Jo!

  7. Elizebeth Says:

    This is so wonderful! Your layers and embellishments are just stunning.

  8. jen ofiana Says:

    so so cute! I like that set too and have been eyeing it!

  9. Excellent card! I love the greys!


Leave a Reply

