beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

oops! I did it again! December 21, 2007

I wanted to share with you an exciting email I received last night from Stampin’ Up!

I am the winner of December’s Wow! Art File Contest.  Now, we demos have to wait 3 months to see my entry in the next on stage magazine.

What did I make?  Oh man, where to start:

It took me about 45 hours to make this project… I had a Cosmo Cricket plain chipboard cigar box here that I purchased a year ago to use for the Artisan Award and decided not to use it.   I wanted to make a stationary box that contained cards & envelopes.  I used the new level III stamp set Time Well Spent.  I stamped, watercolored, applied Crystal Effects to all of the flowers, and went wild with the design.  I cut out about 48 flowers total and some of the centers to the flowers (so somewhere around 80 cut outs)…yep, my hand still hurts.  The whole box was covered with Soft Sky Prints DSP and all edges sanded.  Inside of the box contained 5 cards (they were all the same) decorated to coordinate with the outside of the box.  Also included 5 envelopes that I also decorated with ribbon, flower, etc. 

What I used: 

Time Well Spent and Linen Background Stamp; Rose Red, Soft Sky, Certainly Celery, Close to Cocoa, and Shimmery White Cardstock; Soft Sky and Certainly Celery Prints Designer Series Paper; Rose Red, Soft Sky, Certainly Celery, and Close to Cocoa Classic Stampin’ Pads; Stazon Jet Black and White Ink Pads; uni-ball Signo Gel Pen; Whisper White Medium Envelopes; 1/16″ Circle Punch; Ticket Corner Punch; 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Crop-A-Dile Tool; Sanding Block; Stampin’ Sponges; Aqua Painter; Sticky Strip; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Mini Glue Dots; Crystal Effects; Vintage Brads Assortment; Pewter Jumbo Eyelets; Crafters’ Tool Kit; 1/4″ Certainly Celery Grosgrain Ribbon; Soft Sky Double-Stitched Ribbon; Linen Thread; Wire Works; Chipboard Card Box; Acetate Sheet.

I’m so happy.  I haven’t entered many contests lately, so this is good!

Merry Christmas & have a safe New Year.

 

14 Responses to “oops! I did it again!”

  1. Laura Says:

    Merry Christmas Mary Jo! Can’t wait to see your award winner in On Stage!

  2. Donna B. Says:

    that’s awesome! not surprised the least bit, your stuff is always WONDERFUL!!! can’t wait to see your project!

  3. Charmaine Says:

    That’s awesome! Congratulations! I can’t wait to see it! So happy for you!

  4. What a fabulous early Christmas present! Congrats! I look forward to seeing your beautiful creation soon! Merry! Deb

  5. Jennifer Scull Says:

    That is soooooo very exciting!!!! Congratulations to you!!! sounds like you most certainly deserve it after all the work you put into the project!!! We are so proud of you here at your blog as your faithful followers! 🙂 Can’t wait to see the finished project!!

  6. JoAnn Says:

    Wow!!! That is so wonderful! Cant wait to see what you made!

  7. cathy Says:

    WOW what an email to get right before Christmas!! Are you going to make a special frame for this email? You can hange it in your Hall of Frame! I can’t wait to see your project..I guess we will have to wait 3 months too.:(
    Congrats and Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  8. Jill Kirk Says:

    Holy moly. The anticipation is going to KILL me!!!!!! I bet it is absolutely beautiful. Can’t wait to see another masterpiece!! CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!

  9. stacilynch Says:

    Awesome! I am sure it is amazing as usual! 🙂 I hope you and your family have a fun filled and relaxing Christmas! Can’t wait to see your project!!

  10. becky cunningham Says:

    Congrats to you on all your accomplishments! You are very talented and deserve the spotlight!

    Happy Holidays!
    becky

  11. Elizebeth Says:

    45 hours?!?!??! Makes my little 2 hour project seem like a breeze, I just made a cigar box/stationary set ala Papertrey style with fall flowers today. Well I made 2, the other was the new ‘ginger blossom’.

    Anyway, after hearing ALL the details I cant wait to see it with my own eyes!

    Congratulations Mary Jo and I hope you and your family have a WONDERFUL Christmas!

  12. DeniseLynn Says:

    Congratulations!!! My good friend is a SU! demo … I’ll be buggin her to show me your winning entry. I am so happy for you. You’re on a roll …. keep it going.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours and may your new year be filled with laughter, love and good health.

  13. Nancy Riley Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS, Mary Jo … and not surprising in the least! Can’t WAIT to see the winning project!

    MERRY CHRISTMAS !!!!!!!!!

  14. Mel Says:

    WOW! What a labour of love. :0) Congrats on your well-deserved winning! Hope your hand feels better soon, ;0) and can’t wait to see your project! Mel


Leave a Reply

