beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

my heart aches… December 23, 2007

this time of year.  I’m balanced with a festive feeling and a sadness for others who are not as fortunate and blessed, or may be having difficult times, or even worse — a child having to be hospitalized during this time. 

I try to teach my kids that there is WAY MORE than toys & must have items.  I’m the very first to say they can be spoiled.  I mean, we all want our kids to have more than what we had….but I want them to be appreciative as well.  I’m a firm believer that it is way better to give than to receive, so I spent yesterday out and about doing some things to make my heart ache a little less.

Last year, I won SU! Artisan Award.  I took $200 of my winnings and purchased Stampin’ Up! kids Tattoo Kits.  My plan was to donate them to my local hospital for kids to use as therapy during hospitalization.  I held onto them until Christmas time so they could go to kids who would be in the hospital during the holidays.  I happily delivered them yesterday to my local Hershey, PA Ronald McDonald House:

               su! tattoo kits donation

                                                   su! tattoo kits donation upclose

                    hershey, pa ronald mcdonald house

I’m such an emotional goof.  There is no other gift I could receive this holiday season that could make me feel more happy inside.  I was so proud to deliver these tattoo kits knowing that they will bring a smile to someone’s face.

That wasn’t enough.  I now had to teach my kids to be thankful for having what they have and that they will have a good traditional meal with family on Christmas Day (I tend to dislike hearing the “do we have to go?” remarks from them).  So, next was a trip to inner city Harrisburg, PA to donate hams and other foods to a mission. 

hbg, pa mission  I wish I could do more.  This is the front entrance with donations from people left at the door and some notes written on an easel. 

I HOPE that EVERYONE has a very MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Done bloggin’ until the holidays are over. 

 

15 Responses to “my heart aches…”

  1. texasjodylynn Says:

    That is SO incredibly wonderful of you! You made me cry. You are a wonderful person for thinking of those less fortunate. HUGS!

  2. Lorie Says:

    Good for you! I feel the same as you! Hurts don’t have to be big in order for the Christmas season to feel bad even just some of the time. Just a smile or even a little gift (or acknowledgment of the pain) to a person you know (or maybe you don’t know but have been told) can do wonders!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! May God bless you always!

  3. Erin K Says:

    what a wonderful thing to do with your winnings! You rock.

  4. Melissa Says:

    “What you do for the least of these you do for me” Matthew 25:40

    What an excellent example of the true meaning of the season. May God bless you and your family this holiday season and always!

    Merry Christmas,
    Melissa

  5. young chang Says:

    Right on! I don’t have kids yet, but when I do, I’ve already resolved that we’ll go Christmas shopping for a needy child, so they know it’s more about giving, than receiving. Thanks for sharing this story and have a Merry Christmas!

  6. Sandy Carlson Says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I got all teary eyed reading that. It is so true how spoiled our children are, but how important it is to teach them the TRUE meaning of Christmas! Thanks for sharing that with us.
    Sandy

  7. Jill Kirk Says:

    That is so awesome! You truly understand what Christmas is about. I hate it when people comment how stressed they are about getting gifts for their family and friends…they are SO missing the point. What a fabulous thing you have done. It makes life much more meaningful with kind deeds as these. God bless!!

  8. Jennifer Scull Says:

    What an important lesson you are teaching your children!!! As much as your heart is aching, remember that it is that very ache that is causing you to reach out and ease the burdens of those who are hurting in other ways this Christmas. God is smiling down on you and your family!! 🙂 We all do our small part in whatever way we are led, which truly is not so small after all! How wonderful to be able to share in your kindness. Thank you for sharing with all of us!!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!! 🙂
    Jennifer

  9. Charmaine Says:

    Mary Jo, that is just the most wonderful gift! OH my goodness. . .those tatoo kits are just darling and I’m SURE kids will just LOVE them and smile. what a wonderful thing you’ve done! It brings tears to my eyes!

  10. Fe Says:

    What a wonderful thing to do and what great values to teach your children.

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Hugs Fe x

  11. Karen S Says:

    What an awesome way to use your winnings! Those kids will be so excited – and I bet your kids will remember this for many years to come. By the way – the little tags you put on the kits were darling too! Merry Christmas!!!

  12. Kadie Labadie Says:

    Mary Jo…..You are SO COOL! What an incredible gift you not only gave to the Kids of the RMH but also to your own children. Teaching them about the act of giving-and then to be part of that giving throughout the year is rockin cool. I couldn’t help but send your blog page to my daughters who also are practicing this fine art of giving (my my example when they were younger) and they responded back to me by saying they were moved by your generous spirit. They (as I do) hope that others follow your lead and build a tradition of giving not onlty over the holidays but throughout the year. (my dh & I pick up money we find just down on the ground and put it in a special box throughout the year and at the end of the year we use that money to give to an organization of our picking as an end of the year donation…….this little something is fun for us to do throughout the year and has set the example to our children and their children throughout the year). THANKS MARY JO for your wonderful blog site-I enjoy visiting. Kadie

  13. Dawn E. Says:

    Wow, what a wonderful thing you did! I’m sure those kits brought smiles to many childrens faces! My daughter and I always like to go and drop things off to the shelters too. Nothing this good though! Brand new stuff for so many!

  14. You have such a kind and giving heart — it brings a tear to my eye!!! The Lord looks down favorably upon you — God Bless You!!!

  15. Savitri Says:

    This was very nice of you to do. My daughter’s only three but we try to teach her the same thing, help others and appreciate what you have. On her own she came up with three things that she wanted from Santa. No more she said because other kids need toys from Santa too. From mom and dad, nothing. She just wanted us to buy toys for other kids who are less fortunate. So we adopted three kids and she helped us shop for toys and clothes and even though she didn’t want anything from us we did get her a little something because it was just weird to not give your child something for Christmas.


Leave a Reply

