beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

twas the night before christmas… December 24, 2007

and I’ve been asked by some people what my home looks like for the holidays.  I thought I would give you a glimpse of my personal life & my home on the night before christmas.  This has not been a good day…trying to get so much prepared and my little Ethan woke up with the flu.  I just put him to bed and I think he’ll be much better by the am.

Here is my foyer:

front door - foyer

Festive red berries decorate the lighting in my home with outdoor traditional decorations:

holiday lighting                  outdoor decorations

(Some here in Central Pennsylvania leave the candles in their windows year round.)

Stockings and handmade ornaments from the kids hung with care:

stockings hung                    ornaments hung

Can’t forget the dog.  Last year he ate the cookies my youngest left on the harth for Santa.  He did it again tonight.  It really doesn’t bother me.  It has become a little tradition for the dog I guess.  We need the cookies to be eaten anyway, so we just let it go (we just remove  certain cookies from the plate that are not dog-friendly before letting him do his thing):

for santa              bailey and his cookies  

Merry Christmas to all.  And to all a good night!

Just a reminder of the sketch challenge a couple posts down with some candy:)

 

10 Responses to “twas the night before christmas…”

  1. Jill Kirk Says:

    Sorry to hear about Ethan! I wish the Holiday’s were in the Summer. It’s the pits that SOMEONE is always inevitably sick for the holiday’s. My little guy has a double ear infection and sore throat. He’s doing better though.
    Best wishes to you! You deserve them all. Merry Christmas. Hope tomorrow brings much joy to your home…and it is beautiful!

  2. fran Says:

    Hope your little feels better today. Your home is beautiful! Merry Christmas!

  3. Jennifer Scull Says:

    Here’s hoping for a better feeling little boy soon! We’ll be saying prayers over here in Ohio for all of you. Remember that Christmas is just a day, and the real meaning of it lasts all year long! God’s gift wasn’t meant for just one day. Too often we let outselves get distracted by our to-do lists and plans and lose sight of His plans. (this is for me, too here! 🙂 ) Focus on making your son feel better and your family feel loved and the rest will all fall into place.

    And by the way, your dog is wonderful!!! I am such a fan of big dogs! Our fam has 2 labs and they get their own special treats for Christmas just like the 2 cats do and everyone else. Yep, we’re all spoiled and VERY,VERY blessed!!!!!

    Have a beautiful day with your family!! 🙂
    Jennifer

  4. Jennifer Scull Says:

    p.s. your home is absolutely GORGEOUS!!!! 🙂 and the cookies look pretty yummy, too!! 🙂

  5. Mary Jo
    Merry Christmas!!! Sorry to hear your little one is sick. Your home is beautiful- and I just love your dog!

    I just recently found your blog- and WOW amazing- we live close by- well a few hours. I tagged you …have fun with the answers if you decide to play.

    JILL

  6. Caz Says:

    I am sorry your son was ill, I hope he got better. We were all sick for Christmas this year 😦

    Your home is beautiful and the dog! WOW he his HUGE

    I love your blog
    Caz

  7. What a lovely and beautifully decorated home — HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  8. Charlene Austin (SCS - Willow01) Says:

    Thanks for sharing the pics of your home. Just beautiful! And I am in LOVE with your dog. Holy Smokes!! I have two teeny tiny girl dogs. One is 4lbs and the other is 7lbs. I am sure they would love him too!! I am in awe of your work and I found you through Beate’s blog. I check in often and I look forward to seeing your work continue to amaze me in 2008. Happy New Year.

  9. Deb Says:

    Hi!
    I just came across your site via Taylor V.’s and I love it! Being the dog lover I am, the pic of your dog is a hoot! He is the kind of dog my brother always wanted. He got a full sized collie instead.
    Anyhow, great blog and I shall return!

  10. Dina Anderson Says:

    just browsing your blog via link on SCS…. and gotta tell you that I LOVE YOUR DOG!!! S/he is ADORABLE!!! Oh, and you are totally an enabler to me!


Leave a Reply

