beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Happy New Year January 1, 2008

As predicted, the family was asleep and I brought in the new year making this card to share with you. 

a happy new year 2008 

Learn to compromise and do what you have to do to make things work is what I said to myself when I completed this card. 

Here’s what happened — I had the idea in my head before starting.  When I went to gather the supplies, I discovered I was out of Vellum and I so needed it to cover the Print Pattern Design to make it subtle.  I used a Vellum envelope that I had to make that part of the card work but it wasn’t quite the size I needed so I off-centered it.  Then, “happy” just didn’t fit and the card was already rather large….so here’s what I came up with — some of you will have celebrated a little too hard last night and may wake up not feeling right…some may be hangin’ onto something saying “Y” to yourself…lol  Bare with me, it’s late and I’m rather tired:)

I used my Print Pattern stamp, Versamark, and Silver EP on Basic Gray CS measuring 4-1/2″ x 5-7/8″ matted on Basic Black CS 4-3/4″ x 6-1/8″ and Brushed Silver CS 5″ x 6-5/8″.   Card base is Basic Black CS measuring 6-5/8″ x 10-1/2″ folded in half.  Ticket corner punch to upper corners and bottom right corner. 

Used Big Deal Alphabet stamp set for “happy”.  Stamped with Versamark ink on Basic Gray CS.  Applied Black EP and heated to set.  Cut out with Paper Snips and attached all letters to my 4″ x 5-1/4″ Vellum except for the “y”.  Next used ABC Alphabet Lower stamp set for “new year”.  Used Stazon Jet Black ink and Stamp-A-Ma-Jig.  Added a black brad from Vintage Brads Assortment after the word “year”.  Folded up the bottom right corner of the Vellum. 

a happy new year 2008 upclose (upclose embossing details and cutting of letters….I do have a technique for cutting these letters out and will share at a later time.  It can be challenging to cut out some of the inside spaces of certain letters)

The clock is a Heidi Swapp XL Ghost Clock Shape.  I used Silver Cord to create the hand of the clock and a black brad to the center of the clock. 

Lastly, added Silver Brads to the ticket punched corners.  With the right upper corner where the “y” is, I attached Silver Cord to the letter and threaded it through a 1/16″ hole created for the brad then finished it by adding the silver brad.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL:)

 

16 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. Tandra Boyer Says:

    Hey! Nobody else is up? Its only 1:40 here in So Cal!! LOL
    This card ROCKS!!! How inventive! I totally LOVE the hangin’ Y!!
    Tho, mine could be straight since I didnt indulge!! haha

    This is just fantastic!!

    Happy New Year to you!!

  2. fran Says:

    This is a great card! Love all the details! Happy New Year to you and yours!

  3. It looks fantastic! I just love that hanging Y!

  4. Holly aka Toy Says:

    Gorgeous, MJ!

  5. Estivalia Says:

    happy new year to you too! : ) amazing card to start really good the 2008

  6. Samantha Says:

    Wishing you a blessed New Years!!!

    wonderful card!

  7. Lynn B. Says:

    This card is gorgeous! Happy New Years!

  8. Dawn E. Says:

    Happy New Year! Your card is awesome!! Best Wishes to you and your family for a happy and healthy 2008!

  9. corie Says:

    Happy New Year!! Big hugs and smiles!

  10. Jo Says:

    What a great idea!! I think the cards which turn out not quite as you wanted are usually the best!! Happy New Year.

  11. Charmaine Says:

    Just fabulous, Mary Jo! LOVE this card! Happy New Year to you!

  12. young Says:

    Great card! Ha ha – I love the idea of the hanging y. Fits perfectly for a lot of us. 😉

  13. nancy littrell Says:

    OMG..your card must really be incredible IRL. A card that must be touched and looked at in detail. I would love to see how you made your letters. TFS and Happy New Year to you too!

  14. Elizebeth Says:

    Your letters are so cool, cant wait to see what your tip!

    Happy New Year!

  15. jen ofiana Says:

    Very cool card! Happy New Year!!!

  16. Rachel M. Says:

    Love the card! Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

