beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

the sweetest thing January 4, 2008

Yeahhhh!  Beate’s back with her weekend sketch challenges.  Check out her blog, fresh & fun, for all the deets.

Here is my card and the sketch for this week:

beate wsc#29 card                beate’s sketch #29

Ahhhh, bright colors to make me forget that it is 20 degrees outside here.   As you can see the circle in Beate’s layout…I made that part of my flower from the main image.  I looked closely at the new Eastern Elegance Rub-ons & Bali Breeze DSP and realized that the stamp set True Friend coordinates, so this is what I came up with.  I’ll tell you, it was hard to use the rub-ons…this is one of those items that I must have but don’t want to use:)

I got the idea for the color combination from page 10 & 11 from the new collection.  Just a little tip, I go through the catalog and write down page numbers & color combinations that appeal to me.  It saves time.  I just pull out my sheet of paper and decide what would work with the project.  I don’t use the wheel at all. 

The card base is Old Olive CS 5-1/2″ x 8″ folded in half (card front size 4″ x 5-1/2″).  I used Versamark Ink and So Swirly Jumbo Wheel on the card base and sponged the edges with Old Olive Ink

Next layers are Bali Breeze DSP running horizontally mid card front.  The Rose Red flowered Bali Breeze DSP measures 1-3/4″ x 5-1/2″.  I created the little scalloping with my Scallop Punch (see prior post for the tutorial) and adhered it to the back of the 3/8″ x 5-1/2″ Pumpkin Pie flowered Bali Breeze DSP, then adhered to the card base.  Added white dots the the middle of the orange flowers with my White Uni-Ball Signo Gel Pen.  3 pewter brads from Vintage Brads Assortment placed along right side.

beate wsc#29 card flowers upclose

The main image is So Saffron CS 2-7/8″ x 3-1/2″ with paper-piercing/faux-stitching to upper section and horizontally at base.  Rubbed “the sweetest thing” sentiment to the bottom (they are really cool and you can’t see an outline like some rub-ons leave).  Used Old Olive Stampin’ Write Marker to color the stems of the flower and placed in desired locations with help from my Stamp-A-Ma-Jig tool.  The larger flower was created with Rose Red & Pumpkin Pie Classic Stampin’ Pads, cut out, and adhered together.  Used another Rub-on to So Saffron CS and placed in middle of flower in a Pewter Build-A-Brad.  Attached to card with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  The smaller 3 flowers were made with Rose Red, Old Olive, and Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ Write Markers, cut out, and adhered to card with Mini Glue-Dots.   Added an Old Olive flowered Bali Breeze DSP strip measuring 1/4″ x 3-1/4″ to the left of card (to divide flowers from sentiment) & 1/4″ x 2-3/8″ to the right of card with white zig-zag ribbon from Beachfront Ribbon Originals and a Pewter Brad. 

beate wsc#29 card sentiment upclose

Now, head on over to the following blogs to see some amazing work done with Beate’s sketch:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Have a wonderful weekend

 

29 Responses to “the sweetest thing”

  1. jenn Says:

    Oh, *thunk*. . . this is so beautiful!

  2. Lori Craig Says:

    ****THUD**** Absolutely beautiful! Mary Jo.

  3. Charmaine Says:

    GORGEOUS, Mary Jo! LOVE the papers, the colors, the brad! Just beautiful!

  4. Barb Barton Says:

    WOW, you out did yourself again!!! This is absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Now I have to go wipe the droll off my keyboard!!!! LOL!!!

  5. Jennifer Scull Says:

    wonderful card with those bright colors! I’m so happy to see this set in the catty! don’t blame you about those rub-ons, but from this side of the compy screen, I must say I’m VERY happy that you used them!! 🙂 ric-rac is one of my fave accessories on cards and that brad is adorable here! perfect as always!! 😀

  6. Jackie Pedro Says:

    I just recently found your blog and I have to say you do the most fantastic detailed work! This card is just stunning. All of your detail is just amazing!! I am going to take your advice and sit down with my catty and jot down color combos that catch my eye!!! thank you…

  7. Beate Says:

    Wow! Like always, your card is amazing! I LOVE that you paired the True Friend set with this paper and the rub ons. Your card is beautiful. I love all the details and that Build-A-Brad in the center of your gorgeous flower.
    Have a wonderful weekend. Hugs and smiles

  8. Beth M Says:

    What a beautiful card! I love the colors and all the little details!

  9. Cathy Says:

    Another beautiful card. Love the colors and love how you used the ribbon.

  10. I second Jenn’s *THUNK*…. now that I’m back up on my chair. I LOVE what you did with the rick rac…. well, I love it all… this is awesbomb! 🙂

  11. ladystamper Says:

    Love it , of course! Love the build a brad on there….thanks for getting my creative juices flowing this morning! I’m ready to stamp now! :o)

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Another amazing card…I am so glad I found your blog! Totally inspiring!! Off to stamp….:)

  13. Estivalia Says:

    everything coordinates so well, love the bright colors and I can’t wait to try those rub-ons myself : )

  14. Jo Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  15. Elizebeth Says:

    Im so happy the weekend sketch is back! Gives me even more reasons to come check out your beautiful work!

    Love the build a brad in the center, I have to get some of them!

  16. Ashley Says:

    This card is SUPER WOW!!!

  17. beautiful card Mary Jo!! Love the fun bright colors and the rub ons!

  18. Holy Cow!! This is absolutely gorgeous!!! You have such an amazing eye for detail!!

  19. Oh! That’s really pretty! Those rub ons are going to be fun!

  20. Heather P. Says:

    Oh, this is gorgeous!

  21. Ilina Crouse Says:

    I love your card. It’s very smart idea to write down the color combinations from the catalog, I never thought of that, and I don’t use the color wheel either. I just take out pieces of cardstock and see which combinations I like, but that sometimes may take an hour!!!

  22. Becky Says:

    This card is gorgeous. I love how you used the rub ons and the way you used the true friend stamp set. I would love to add you to my blogroll…just let me know! Thanks!

  23. Shelley Says:

    What a sweet card!

  24. This is gorgeous, MaryJo — love the bright colors and the flower as your circle accent!

  25. Carolyn King Says:

    You ROCK! I love this card and love the catty idea! TFS!

  26. This is a stunning card! I think many of us are leaning toward the cheery colors these days! Thanks for the bright smile you put on my face! Deb

  27. Wow! I swear I don’t know how you come up with some of the beauties that you do! Thank you for inspiring me!

    By the way, my guess is that you don’t have time to play, but I would love to know more about you….so I tagged you! You can check out my blog (www.craftyengineering.blogspot.com) for the questions.


Leave a Reply

