beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

it’s all good and simple January 15, 2008

I made this card for Beate’s Be Inspired Challenge #1.  What I was to do was make a card & use the notepad as my inspiration.  It really cut my creating time in half.  I used the provided color combo and just changed up the layout a little (okay, so I couldn’t stick to the layout exactly and had to keep adding stuff….lol).   Head on over to Beate’s blog and give it a try.  I had fun making this card.

beate challenge it’s all good card          bic1-notepad.jpg

Base is Chocolate Chip CS measuring 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ folded in half.  Bottom is Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP 2″ x 4″ with edges sponged with Chocolate Chip ink and 3 circles dry-embossed to the bottom left corner that was created with my Classy Brass Punches Plus Template.  Top is Bali Breeze DSP 2″ x 4″ with edges sponged as well.  Next is a layer of Chocolate Chip Satin Ribbon topped with a piece of Purely Pomegranate Dbl-Stitched Ribbon tied in a knot to the side of the card. 

The sentiment square is a stamp from It’s All Good stamp set.  I stamped it in Chocolate Chip ink on Whisper White CS and punched out with my 1-1/4″ Square Punch.  Punched a piece of Taken With Teal CS with my 1-3/8″ Square Punch.  I used a Taken With Teal Stampin’ Write Marker and colored in the ampersand.  Attached to card base with Stampin’ Dimensionals.

beate challenge it’s all good card upclose

The 4 circle flowers are from A Beautiful Thing stamp set.  I used Pumpkin Pie, Rose Red, and Taken With Teal ink on Whisper White CS.  I then punched them out using my 1/2″ Circle Punch.  Attached to card with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  Added Flame Dew Drops to the centers of the flowers. 

Wondering what Dew Drops are.  Let’s just say, I fell in love with them when I saw them on Debbie Olson’s blog.  I ordered them instantly. 

dew drops upclose  now that’s some eye candy.  These little acrylic pebbles are fun to use & easy to attach.  Oh the possibilities!!! 

Have a wonderful day:)

 

7 Responses to “it’s all good and simple”

  1. Lorie Says:

    This card is fantastic! Live, Love, and Laugh is “my” saying…add create and you have my blog! I just bought that stamp so hopefully I can make something as beautiful as yours with it!

  2. christina Says:

    i love dew drops too! my mini glue dots are the perfect size to attatch them and they look soo cute! i never knew what the “real” name of them was until i read your post (my friend gave me a heap, and we just called them water thingys!lol) so thanks heaps 🙂
    love your version of the notebook too! very pretty
    have a great day 🙂

  3. Denise Says:

    Hi, I just love this card; your card, inspired by Beate’s book, is so wonderful with the colors, your ribbon choices, the flowers ; I hope to make something like this…it’s great!!

  4. Beate Says:

    MJ, this is stunning! I LOVE how you added color to the saying. It makes the & look almost 3D. I love the dew drops (I HAVE to order them now! What was I waiting for???)
    Thanks so much for trying this challenge! Like always, your card is a feast for eyes (does that sound corny? Blame it on English being my second language. It’s my standing excuse when I sound weird. LOL)
    Hugs and grins

  5. Jennifer Scull Says:

    what a great card! now I wish that I could find something to inspire me the way that notepad did you! you did a wonderful job on the challenge, but honestly I don’t think anything challenges you when it comes to stamping. you are truly the QUEEN of creativity!! 😀

    I have fallen head over heels for dew drops!!! I bought 3 bottles and when those arrived I had to go back and order 4 more! yep, all these blogs enable me in a desperate way! but I say, keep on!!! 🙂

  6. bree Says:

    beautiful as always!!!

  7. Julie Says:

    I love these pebbles (and all your cards!) . I just got a bag of these a michaels and you get way more than whats in the bottles. It’s a different name brand. Also How do I get to the site with the onesie templates?


Leave a Reply

