beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

how in the world… January 18, 2008

am I to use this LARGE flower stamp???  But, I had to have it due to my love for watercoloring.  And this stamp, From the Garden (hostess set level 1), yells out “color me”.

I originally wanted to use it for the wsc, but realized that the size of it just wouldn’t work for the sketch.  So, I made my mom a Mothers Day Card.

from the garden mother card

If you look closely, I wanted the leaves and flower petals to pop in and out of the frame/border of the main image.  It really added a lot of dimension to the flower. 

I started with an Old Olive CS base measuring 5″ x 8-1/4″ folded in half (I know, weird dimensions, but it’s an odd-large flower image).  Rose Red CS 3-7/8″ x 4-3/4″ adhered to card base.  Next layer is So Saffron CS 3-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ and used Scor-Pal to score lattice lines (hard to see due to the flower covering up).  You can see a tutorial on Debbie Olson’s blog on how to achieve this look.  Adhered stamped flower (will talk about that in next paragraph).  Had to carefully cut a Pumpkin Pie CS that is 1/8″ wide to fit as a mini frame that would weave in and out of the flower image.  Stamped “Mother” from Everyday Flexible Phrases stamp set

from the garden mother card upclose 1

For the ginormo-flower, I stamped it twice on Shimmery White CS with Stazon Jet Black ink (one time for the flower and one time for the leaves).  I used an Aqua-Painter for coloring.  For the flower, I used stampin’ pads Rose Red, Pumpkin Pie, and Ruby Red inks.  For the leaves, I used stampin’ pads Old Olive and Always Artichoke inks.  I cut out the flower and set aside.  To the leaves, I added Glassy Glaze Enamel and created the cracked glass technique to them.  Sponged on some extra Always Artichoke ink to add some extra detail to the cracks.  Carefully cut out the leaves.  Adhere the flower on top of the leaves as they would appear originally.  Adhere to card weaving leaves and petals inside and out of the Pumpkin Pie CS mini frame.

from the garden mother card upclose 2  Lastly, can’t forget the last flower detail.  Adhered some new Orange Glass Beads to the middle of the flower using Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue.

I have come to the conclusion that this is a great image for scrapbooking.  Will have to play around more to see what other cards I can make this this flower:)

 

15 Responses to “how in the world…”

  1. Adelina Says:

    Beautiful! I love the glass beads in the middle of the flower.

  2. Charmaine Says:

    THis is gorgeous, Mary Jo! I want that stamp too! I love what you’ve done with it!

  3. your card is absolutely beautiful Mary Jo! I bet your Mom is going to LOVE it!

  4. Laura Brown Says:

    What a wonderful card! I love the layering details. Just beautiful!

    Laura

  5. veronica Says:

    you did amazing on this. i love those thin mattes around the bloom. the watercoloring is wonderful too.

  6. Jacque (SCS: Petals) Says:

    Wow, wow, wow! Just amazing!

  7. Besides the beauty of this card, the first thing I noticed was how the leaves were under and outside the frame. Just gorgeous! Deb

  8. Jenny Says:

    Oh WOW!!!! This is stunning. The coloring is fantastic, but what makes this truly fab is the leaves & petals–it looks like it’s growing out of the card with how you layered the frames.

  9. ladystamper Says:

    Holy cow girl! You never cease to amaze me with your talent! I love it!!

  10. Angi Says:

    Oh wow! This is stunning. This card makes me rethink the idea of this stamp. I didn’t have any attraction to it before, but now…wow!!

  11. Libby Says:

    Wow this is absolutely gorgeous – love all the details you added!

  12. Lovely card and fabulous colours –

  13. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, oh, wow… My Stamper’s Club members and I had a conversation about this stamp the other night. I was telling them we *thought* we didn’t need it because we hadn’t seen it used yet… Boy, was I ever right to figure that seeing something made with it would make me flip 180 degrees about this one! I LOVE what you’ve done with it! It’s colorful, bold and elegant all at once. TFS!

    Cindy

  14. Joan Says:

    This is truly beautiful! It looks like an incredible amount of work. What a beautiful gift for your Mother.
    Joan

  15. Jamie Says:

    I love the beads on the flower and the watercoloring is amazing!


Leave a Reply

