beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Another Scallop Tutorial January 19, 2008

This time it is creating a “Starburst pattern” with some common SU! punches. 

But first — an update — It is official, I’m heading to California and attending CHA!  This is my birthday gift from my husband.  Ahhhh, I get to go away by myself to Californ-I-A.  I have never been there before.  So it’s going to be so exciting….the west coast and CHA:)  Did I mention, I love my man.  I will be with the MFT gang and will have the opportunity to meet some of my idols *wink*     

Okay, now for the tutorial.  Here is the card and upclose pics first:

love starburst card  card base River Rock Textured CS 6-3/4″ square folded in half to create a long card.

 love starburst card medallion upclose  medallion upclose

love starburst card sentiment upclose  sentiment upclose

_______________________________________________________________

Tutorial to create starburst medallion & spiked trimming:

starburst tutorial  Punches needed to create starbursts tutorial step 1  Using image from Boho Backgrounds, stamp Blue Bayou ink on Blue Bayou CS and Scallop Punch x2 to create the starburst pattern.

tutorial step 2  Using image from Boho Backgrounds again, stamp Groovy Guava ink on Groovy Guava CS and use 5-Petal Flower Punch.

tutorial step 3  Place punched flower back into the 5-Petal Flower Punch as shown and punch again.

tutorial step 3 end result  end result is a starburst created with the 5-petal flower punch.

tutorial step 4  Next layer to medallion is the larger of the 3 flowers from Boho Blossoms Punch.  Stamped image from One of a Kind stamp set with Rose Red ink on Rose Red CS.

tutorial step 5  Focus for next layer is now on the small flower from the Boho Blossoms Punch.  Used Blue Bayou ink on Groovy Guava CS and punched out small flower.

tutorial step 6  Now, you’re dealing with a very small punched flower.  The best way I could come up with is….flip the flower over and place a Mini Glue-Dot on the back of it.  Slide back into the Boho Blossoms Punch and use a tooth pick to get the flower where you need it to be to create the starburst punched pattern (don’t worry about that glue dot, it is the back and will be needed to adhere).

tutorial step 6 end result  This is the end result of the small flower punched x2 to create a starburst pattern.  I then attached this to a Pewter Build-A-Brad.

tutorial step 7  Here are all the pieces punched and ready for assembly to create the starburst medallion.

tutorial step 8  Finished assembled starburst medallion.  For the mini medallion (the “o” in the word love), I just did the last three steps and added a pewter brad from Vintage Brads Assortment.  Used Jumbo Outline Alphabet and Blue Bayou ink to create sentiment.

But wait, there’s more.  Did you see the spiked scalloped trimming running horizontally across the card.  Well, I did a tutorial about using the Scallop Punch to create a mini scalloped border.  If you do step 1 (create the starburst circle) and punch out the middle (or cut with paper snips), you now have a spiked trim created to coordinate with the starburst medallion. 

 tutorial step 9 spiked trimming  just bend to desired shape/pattern.

I played around with this, and I recommend the same and find which way you prefer.  If you punch the 1-3/8″ Circle Punch first, you have to cut the starburst and try to work it back into the punch small sections at a time.  If you do the scallop punch x2 first to create the starburst, you either have to do a guestimate where to use the 1-3/8″ punch or just use paper snips.

 

34 Responses to “Another Scallop Tutorial”

  1. YAY!!!!!! I can’t wait to meet you!!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    This is Fabulous! I just got this set and never would have thought of all your possibilities.

    Thanks for another great tutorial. YOU ROCK, ROLL AND SWAY GIRL!!!!

  3. laurie hines Says:

    Thanks so much for the tutorial. Can’t wait to try this!

  4. Julie Masse Says:

    Great tutorial!! What a beautiful combination of flowers! I look forward to meeting you with all the MFT gang at CHA- what a wonderful husband you have! 🙂

  5. Silke Ledlow Says:

    Your card is super cool!!! The tutorial is great…I’ll try it and let you know what I came with!!!

    Have fun in California!!!

  6. YIPPEE!!! We’re going to have so much fun!!! (and how sweet of you to refer to me as one of your stamping idols… ; ) )

  7. Joanne B. Says:

    First of all, I just LOVE this tutorial! You’re brilliant.
    Secondly, I’m going to CHA too with Paper Pretties, and I’m so excited that so many of my favorite stampers/bloggers will be there too!!

  8. Angie Tieman Says:

    Gorgeous card!! Thanks for the tutorial showing all those cool flower punch tricks! So excited you’re going to CHA, I’ll be thinking of you and sending you hugs and good thoughts on the plane ride!

  9. ladystamper Says:

    Thanks for this! I love what you did. Way to think outside the box!

  10. Debbie Says:

    How do you place the scalloped piece BACK into the punch? I have had so much trouble with this. Is there a trick or am I just all thumbs (hope not as I am a dental hygienist by day!)

    Deb

  11. Jill Kirk Says:

    Awesome new idea’s. Thanks!! You are fabulous.
    Have a blast in Cali. Just got back from there…leadership was awesome. The sun felt so good too. I am freezing back home. Enjoy your “vacation!”
    I LOVE all the recent posts!!

  12. diane Says:

    Congrats on going to CHA!!!
    There’s no way I’m going to that much trouble to make starbursts! LOL But thanks for the tutorial, I’m sure lots of ladies will do it!!!
    Have a great weekend! 😀

  13. Marie Says:

    GORGEOUS card and thanks for the awesome tutorial with pics to go along!!! Love the colors!

  14. bree Says:

    youre genious!!!!!!!!

  15. jenn Says:

    OH MY GOSH! I CAN’T WAIT TO MEET YOU! And yes, I’m shouting. I can’t WAIT!

  16. When you’re good, you’re good! Thanks for these tips.

  17. Love your starburst punched flower card! You will enjoy California! I have lived here for over 40 years in soutern Cali. Is the convention in Anaheim ? That is where Disneyland is. I am in San Diego south of there about 1 + hour, near coast.
    Have fun! Deb

  18. Charmaine Says:

    WOW, is that cool! I’m bummed you’re going to CHA. I was supposed to with the gals from Paper Pretties, but it’s just not good timing for me with the new baby. It would have been nice to meet you! 🙂

  19. Tami Says:

    You are absolutely one of the most talented stampers out there! I must say I was one of the lucky ones to swap with you at Convention the past year, and your work is proudly displayed in my stamping area … always getting comments from my customers (and I do tell them it’s not my work =)
    How do you come up with this stuff … it truly amazes me! Very creative girl, and I thank you for your willingness to share with us all! Have fun in California!

  20. Beate Says:

    Can I tell you how much you rock! Awesome ideas, MJ!!!
    Your card looks amazing!
    Have a wonderful Sunday! Hugs and smiles

  21. Pat S. Says:

    I was browsing for cards using Ginger Blossom, and found your wonderful tutorial. I’m a subscriber now!

  22. Rhonda K. Says:

    Very cool! I saw something like this once before and I have tried playing around with it but was unable to reposition the punch image inside the punch and get it lined up correctly. Is there a secret to this?
    Thanks for sharing your tutorial. Fabulous work!

  23. Libby Says:

    This is such a great tutorial – it’s never occurred to me to use the punches like this! Thanks so much for sharing!

  24. This is wonderful Mary jo, if you don’t mind I am going to put your instructions on my Blog…

    Check it out:
    http://jenniferssweettreatdesigns.blogspot.com

    Have a wonderful week, Jennifer 🙂

  25. Tilda Says:

    Hi, could you help?? I did this and I to have tumbs when it came time to keep the flower in the punch to repunch for the medallion…..what did you do to hold it in there and turn.

    Please visit my blog to let me know! Thanks so much!

    http://raggedydayz.blogspot.com/

  26. Taylor Says:

    You’re coming to CHA!?!? Oh… I can’t wait to meet you!! YAY!

  27. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Oh, lucky girl! You’ll love So Cal!! I am in Northern CA… bummer because I would have LOVED to meet ya! I am not going to cha this year….so sad… 😦

  28. Jen Ofiana Says:

    btw, love what you did with the punches!!

  29. I think I need to get some more punches! These are fab! Come and check out my SU alphabet challenge blog if you have time! We’d love to see some of your creations on there!

  30. […] to create something. I really really don’t like that card. It’s a crossover between Mary Jo’s card and a really old […]

  31. maria siete Says:

    do you now where can I buy online the jumbo scalloped circle punch??
    PLEASE HELP ME!!
    I live in Guatemala, Central America and they don`t sell the jumbo or even the large one in the scrapbook stores here and I haven`t been able to find one online so please help me!!!

  32. Brooke S Says:

    You use the most amazing color combinations and you are so dang clever and innovative.. Thanks for sharing.

  33. I just love your blog & especially how you share all your great tips, techniques and ideas w/us. I had such fun trying this technique for the SCS challenge today. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

