beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

simple love cards for soldiers January 29, 2008

These cards where made to be sent overseas so soldiers have Valentine’s cards to send home to their loved ones.  You can find out more info –>here<–  on Beate’s blog…you have to act fast.  I made these this am and it only took about 1hr.

rak for soldiers

I was told to “keep it simple”, so here is what I came up with.  I had to add some details because the card base is Whisper White and it needed a little dazzling.

STAMP SETS USED:  SU! Priceless and Short & Sweet

CARDSTOCK USED:  Whisper White, Regal Rose, and Real Red

INKS USED:  Real Red

ACCESSORIES USED:  Regal Rose 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, Crafters’ Tool Kit (paper-piercing tool & template), Stamp-A-Ma-Jig, Cotton Candy Stickles.

Finally, it has been brought to my attention by a viewer that she was having difficulties seeing my posted pics due to my waterseal and shadow box that I insert.  I do appreciate all feedback and I’m working on a solution for the issue.  I do place my waterseal over areas that don’t contain details for your viewing, so I will not be removing or lightening this feature up at all.  With help from some of my friends, I have researched “how to get a bigger image file when you click on the photo”.  I’m hoping it worked for this pic.  I will do my best & continue striving to share with you my work….but bare with me as I am still learning the whole bloggin’ stuff 🙂

Have a wonderful day. 

 

13 Responses to “simple love cards for soldiers”

  1. These look beautiful! What a thoughtful thing for you to do for our soldiers! I’m sure it will be very appreciated.

  2. Donna B. Says:

    this is wonderful, Mary Jo – enlarging the pics worked; I was wanting the same thing, I get a lot of inspiration from your work now I can be more blown away by all your detailing!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Awesome Mary Jo! And thank you for making your photos bigger when clicking on them so that I can check out the details…..

    Many Blessings,
    Melissa

  4. Jukie Says:

    Any Sweetheart will be delighted to recieve one of these!

  5. Cyndi Says:

    i love the shadow box!

  6. Katie Says:

    The enlarging is WONDERFUL!!! I love your work, but am thrilled to be able to see the details! These cards are lovely. I love all the little touches to jazz it up.

  7. Beate Says:

    Girl! You rock! I LOVE the cards. Simple…maybe for you. They are gorgeous!
    Love that the enlarging works. Now just resize it a bit before uploading so the enlarged version isn’t so HUGE when you click on it, ykwim?
    Hugs and smiles

  8. Charmaine Says:

    These are just precious, Mary Jo! LOVE the colors and that ribbon!

  9. Mary Campbell Says:

    Beautiful. Thanks for sharing. Mary

  10. MJ,
    All I can say is that when you keep it simple, it is still stunning! I totally love this card! I think it may be the inspiration I needed for my workshops in Feb. Thanks for sharing your wonderful talent with us!

  11. Jennifer Scull Says:

    gorgeous cards as always!!! I am always stuck when faced with a white bg, so you did a beautiful job! I avoid white bases for my cards like the plague, but I may attempt one today! 🙂

    I sent out my Valentine cards for the troops, too! Not simple though, and I have a friend in Iraq that I send them to. Trying to get them overseas for all the holidays. Sent over 400 at Christmas ……. whew – lots of stamping!! 😀

  12. Rose Kerry Says:

    Beautiful cards, I wouldn’t have added a thing, love the paper piercing and scalloped edge!

  13. SARAH JOHNSON Says:

    I LOVE YOUR ‘SIMPLICITY”!!! I ALSO LOVE THE BIGGER PHOTOS, SO WE CAN SEE ALL YOUR AMAZING DETAILS. THANKS!


Leave a Reply

