beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

adorable baby cards February 3, 2008

Let’s just say that I’ve been featuring some of my idols this weekend.  Remember, I have so many and I do apologize…I can’t get to everyone 🙂  I find something unique in everything I view.  I just had some extra time this weekend due to not having to work, so I thought I would play a lot.

Another idol is Lauren Meader.  I have been a long time follower of her work from way back.  I love her style and how she comes up with the most awesome stuff.  I also admire her from a mothering point of view….she is amazing!

On Lauren’s blog this week, she showcased the cutest onesie cards that you can view here.  She didn’t stop there.  She made a onesie bouquet for her friend who just delivered a baby girl.  My mouth dropped.  I had to try the onesie cards… I won’t even attempt the bouquet this weekend.  I am forever running to the store to buy a baby card (usually on the way to the shower or to see the new arrival…I’m so bad).

Here are the cards I made:

onesie baby cards

My friends baby shower is in mid February with a green Sweet Pea theme.  So I cut and mounted the retired hostess SU! set Event Full because it had a cute sweet pea image.

Sweet Pea Onesie Card:

onesie baby card sweet pea

Baby Girl Onesie Card:

onesie baby card girl

Baby Boy Onesie Cards:

onesie baby card boy  &  onesie baby card rockabye baby

I think I’m good for a while with these four cards.  And Lauren was so right.  Once you figure it all out, it doesn’t take long to make these.  You can find the directions in her blog post featuring her onesie cards.  And, congrats on PTI design team:)

STAMP SETS USED:  SU! Event Full, So Many Scallops, and Nursery Necessities

CARDSTOCK USED:  Papertrey White CS, Soft Sky and Certainly Celery Prints DSP, East Coast Prep DSP, Berry Bliss DSP, Soft Sky and Pretty in Pink CS.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black, Mellow Moss, Certainly Celery, Pretty in Pink, Barely Banana, Soft Sky, Real Red, Wild Wasabi, Tempting Turquoise, More Mustard.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Scor-Pal, 1-3/8″ Circle Punch, Scallop Punch, Crystal Effects (to peas and moons), Rhinestone stickers.

Happy Sunday!  And may the better team win.

 

26 Responses to “adorable baby cards”

  1. Libby Says:

    These are so cute!!!

  2. These are adorable!!!!

  3. Dawn E. Says:

    Oh my gosh…these are totally adorable MJ! Love them!

  4. Melissa Says:

    This is awesome!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  5. Silke Ledlow Says:

    These cards are super cute…I’ll bet the new mommies are gonna love them!!!

  6. Jen Ofiana Says:

    These are so so cute! I am so going to try these! So many possibilities!!

    BTW, thanks so much for the bday card! It was awesome! Do you mind if I show it on my blog?

    Have fun in CA!!

  7. jen del muro Says:

    shut up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! these are so cool!!

  8. Charmaine Says:

    These are just adorable, Mary Jo! Too, too cute!

  9. Beate Says:

    MJ, those turned out incredible! One is prettier then the next.
    Awesome!!!

  10. Sandra Smart Says:

    so adorable! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Awww… makes me wanna have another baby just so you can make me one of these adorable cards, MJ! Dang ol’ vasectomy!

  12. Mary Jo–I love your work! It’s nice to know you’re looking up to someone while I’m looking up to you!

    Could you share the horizontal and vertical dimensions of this card? I can figure it out from there, but I was just curious…

    thanks for all you share!

  13. chickiez Says:

    These are the cutest Onsie cards I’ve seen thus far!! The stamp sets you used are perfect for them. Please, can you share the template? I would love to make these as thank you cards for the new mom to be! TIAFS.

  14. These are soooooooooo cute! I must try some too! TFS =)

  15. Shelly Kettell Says:

    TOO CUTE!!!! and checked out Lauren’s blog, amazing stuff!
    I love your style! Very Inspiring!

  16. Marilyn Says:

    What darling cards these are!!! Usually when I make one card I stop – but you made a bunch – how fun is that!! Thanks for stopping by my site – love yours too!!

  17. Jill Kirk Says:

    I am lovin’ these!!!!! I’ve seen several idea’s come close but not nearly as cute as these. I’m totally copying!!!!!! Thanks!!

  18. Desirée Says:

    I loooove the onesie cards! I seem to be at a time in my life where EVERYONE is having a baby (I just had one too – he’s nearly 6 months old!). I gave it a go, trying to make my own onesie card, but I COULD NOT get the circle punch through 2 layers of card stock at the top fold! Did you have trouble with this? Any hints? I wonder if it was because I tried SU! Naturals White instead of Whisper White, and I know the Naturals is a little heavier weight. I’d love to have more explicit directions for these (like how to get the leg holes similarly placed!). Thanks so much for sharing! Love your blog!

  19. Lisa Banks Says:

    What Beautiful work…..as Always!!! Love this.

  20. jeanne nielsen Says:

    Very cute cards! I especially love the Sweet Pea card — it looks like you used different sized brads to embellish the pea pod? Very very cute!! Jeanne

  21. MJ these all came out so cute.
    Love each and every one!

  22. Krista Says:

    They sure are adorable !

  23. Taylor Says:

    WOW!! These are sooo adorable, Mary Jo!! I love how you used the scallop punch to accent the arm and leg openings! And the cute little rhinestones as the bottom buttons… so clever! YOU ROCK!

  24. Tracy B Says:

    These are just adorable. I love the colors you used! Thanks for sharing the link for the tutorial!

  25. […] So many questions February 12, 2008 Filed under: my collection — mjalbright @ 8:00 am I got several emails regarding these cute baby onesie cards that you can view here. […]

  26. Elizabeth Says:

    Those are cute little cards! I have been making onesie cards for about two years with my local scrapbook Accucut die. Used teddy bears and flowers in the center…hadn’t thought of the sweet pea or boat. Cool idea!


Leave a Reply

