beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a new territory March 31, 2008

I was asked, by two of my dear friends who are to wed this year, if I could make their wedding invitations.  Oh man!  This is an area I haven’t touched until recently.  I met with the Bride & Groom-to-be and they brought me a pic from a wedding magazine and asked me if I could re-create the card they loved.  Looking at the sample and seeing that it resembled the flowers from SU! Artfully Asian set, I said, “yes”.   I wrote up a contract, explained the “Angel Policy”, gathered up all supplies I would need, and got started.  This meeting is what made me fall in love with the color combo of Vanilla, Navy, and Turquoise:)  It’s hot I tell ya! 

Note (I blurred out all names and personal info so it may look a little wierd to you).  I started with a box that coordinates with their colors and simply states “thank you” on the lid as my little package gift to them.  I placed all of their invites and such in this box.  They could use this box later for thank you’s they will need to send out:

wedding invitation box  I purchased a box at my local craft store.  The top was covered with SU! DSP (retired but matched).  Added a strip of Navy Satin Ribbon.  Topped off with the sentiment made from sets Artfully Asian & Frames with a Flourish.   The sentiment has two layers with the upper layer attached to bottom stamped square with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  I did notice that it was slightly off center and did fix after I took the pic 🙂

wedding box inside  Lid removed from box to reveal shimmery white vellum.

wedding box inside 2  Here is the presentation of the invite package once the vellum is lifted up.   The package includes the invites, rsvp postcards, envelopes, and place cards for seating.

wedding package  It is rather hard to see details, but all flowers have Crystal Effects to them.  There are little dry embossed circles to the rsvp card to separate the response section from the return address section. 

Here is another pic of the wedding package from a different view:

wedding package 2

I will be making a gift for them that I will post once I finish it (well, have to start it…lol).  I want to make them something to showcase their invite.  It will be framed and elegantly decorated to coordinate with their theme. 

TFL and have a wonderful day:)

 

36 Responses to “a new territory”

  1. sonia Says:

    they are stunning i think they will be very proud to recive them

  2. Lisa Henke Says:

    wow! these are so pretty and elegant! I’m sure you’re so proud of how they turned out and they will love sending them out. Don’t be surprised when you get more requests.

  3. Belinda Says:

    Wow, so pretty! Can’t wait to see how you showcase the invite!

  4. Erin Says:

    These are truly lovely. Better than anything they could have bought in a store or catalog.

  5. Savitri Says:

    This is just so pretty!!! I bet they’d be awed.

  6. Ann C. Says:

    Very elegant and tasteful! I’m sure they’ll be impressed. Beautiful!

  7. Dawn G Says:

    Oh my gosh!!! That’s all I can say…

  8. i’m doing some save the date postcards for a couple. where did you put your stamp that included the Stampin’ Up! copyright on these so that it was discrete? thanks for mentioning this, as it’s my first sales thing with the new angel policy and i want to comply!

  9. jeanne nielsen Says:

    Wow! Did I say…”wow”?!!!! Looks fantastic! You packaged them up so nicely too. Jeanne

  10. Lauren Vincitorio Says:

    Gorgeous! Your friends are very lucky, indeed!

  11. Amanda Says:

    OH MY!! They are gorgeous!!!! How lucky the bride and groom are! I hope you didn’t have to do HUNDREDS!! 🙂
    Amanda

  12. cassie Says:

    WOW! Those are amazing! How did you do the wording? I’m picturing you, one letter at a time, on what looks like 100 or more invites!
    Impressive!!

  13. Amanda Angert Says:

    These are gorgeous — both the cards and the presentation! I’m making wedding invitations and I might just have to “borrow” this idea!!! TFS!

  14. young c-m Says:

    These look very nice!

  15. Charmaine Says:

    Oh my! GORGEOUS! I’ll bet they’ll LOVE them!

  16. Charmaine Says:

    These are really nice…I love the colors that were chosen…

    Charmaine

  17. ~amy~ Says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous!!! Such a wonderful presentation too!

  18. Nancy Riley Says:

    WOW! The bride and groom are sure to be pleased … you’ve done a fabulous job! Love the extra touch of the beautiful presentation!

  19. elizabeth Glass Says:

    These are just beautiful MJ………you did a WONDERFUL job!!!
    Have a good day,Elizabeth

  20. chickiez Says:

    Oh my, they are so Elegant! The color combo is just beautiful. Can’t wait to see what wedding gift you come up with. Keep us posted as I’d love to see it.

  21. Jennifer Scull Says:

    jaw-dropping gorgeous!! so professonal looking! but wait, you ARE a professional!! 😀

    those colors go so well together, which kinda surprises me. but then again, not really knowing you and your amazing talent! I, too, am curious how you did the angel policy stamping. sure wouldn’t want to ruin a beautiful wedding invite with a tacky ‘stamped by….’ image.

    have a great day!
    Jennifer

  22. Linda Says:

    Your friends are so lucky!! They are gorgeous and the fact that you made them will make them a lasting memory.

  23. Shona Says:

    they are gorgeous! Very elegant. You did a beautiful job on them. Thanks for sharing.

  24. Lori Says:

    Very pretty!

  25. Conniecrafter Says:

    Oh my these are just lovely, I am sure they are going to be just thrilled with them, so professional looking!

  26. Jeni Says:

    WOW. These are so elegant. I love the soft colors and they look very professional. They are going to love them!

  27. Allison Says:

    Those are so beautiful and elegant. Nicer than anything someone could buy from a store! And you are right that colour combo is awesome.

    Did you have to make stamps to say everything or how did you get all the text?

  28. Staci Lynch Says:

    WOW! These are amazing as usual~ You should be so proud of them and I know they will absolutly love them!!

  29. vicki lynch Says:

    Well, i have to say these are gorgeous. You better be careful or you will have a card making business that won’t stop! Your creations are beautiful. i also wanted to comment on the dog story. You went out of your way to make things good. That is so very inspiring. i would like to know what she thought of your cards? If you don’t have a friend for life, i will be surprised. What a woman! What a heart! Nice getting to know you through blogs!

  30. Dawn E. Says:

    Oh my goodness MJ! These are FANTASTIC!!! You have done a fantastic job with this project. It’s absolutely amazing!!!

  31. Lisa Dolson Says:

    This color combo is so pretty!! And you did a beautiful job! You must have had fun making everything.

  32. Melissa (moster) Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous and how nice of you to package them so thoughtfully for the couple. I think the bride appreciates it so much when a “vendor” treats something as special as HER wedding invitation with such care. The same holds true with birth announcements.

  33. Patti Says:

    These are beautiful. I am getting ready to do my sisters invites and not only loved the cards, but also the way you packaged them. They are presented very elegantly.

  34. Alison Says:

    Hi,
    These are just so elegant and very contemporary. I would also be interested in knowing how you included the angel policy and also how you did the wording. There have been quite a few engagements around here lately and I have been trying to work out some wedding invites. Your work is just gorgeous. Thanks for posting it.

  35. Judi Says:

    Wow! This is wonderful. I bet they loved all of it.

  36. Grace Says:

    Amazing work! The whole package is sooo elegant. I love it. I am interested to know how you applied the “angel policy” and how you did the wordings. Thank you for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

