beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

LEAVING IT ALL BEHIND April 3, 2008

What does that mean?  Over the past couple months, I’ve been creating a lot of stuff.  I guess you can say I have been having deep thoughts about all the stuff I make.  All the cards I post here get thown into a wicker storage bin on a high shelf where I usually never look at them again or I go through and take them apart.  Gasp right?  I can’t figure out the auction stuff and I’m not really sure who would want them.  But, I do know a small little group close to me that would like to have them some day…..my kids (when they are way older…lol)  I’m not going to give them the bin full of cards.  I’m gonna leave them this project I made:

  TK book  It is a little memo book (4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″) that I’m going to add stamped, colored images to that I can just keep with me.  I did sign my signature & year to the front cover just to add a personal touch that I think they will appreciate.  

I first saw CHF TK stamped images over at Debbie Olson’s site  (another fabulously talented woman I met out at CHA… and a long time follower) and fell in love with them.  Being someone who loves to color, I thought it would be fun to have some of the images.  The image above is TK The Rose Garden.  Let me tell you, it took 20 hours total to color in this image.  I “tried” to get it as close as possible to the original but that is impossible.  I also made a soldered charm to coordinate with the main image.  Added some May Arts ribbon to the side to hold charm and green stone in place.

Here is a close up of the image.  I used Prismas for coloring.  How am I doing with my new pencils?  I love them.

TK close up pic

Have a great day:)

 

25 Responses to “LEAVING IT ALL BEHIND”

  1. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh my gosh, you coloring is exceptional – and I’ve gotta say, you’re definitely committed to your art if you spent so long working on it! People who do not do craft do not realize the amount of work that went into something like that… Hopefully, your kids see you work and know how much love and care went into those projects that they will get someday!

    Thanks for sharing, your blog is always a joy to explore!
    Cindy
    (cindy_canada on SCS)

  2. Barb Barton Says:

    OMW MJ, this is just gorgeous. When are you coming over to give me a coloring lesson!!! LOL!!!

    I’m sure your kids will deeply appreciate these handmade beauties that you leave for them!!!

  3. Emily N. Says:

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    When I first looked at the notebook my first thought was I can’t believe MJ didn’t stamp something on the cover! As I read on and realized you DID stamp and color that image I just about had a stroke!! AND I can totally see that it took you 20 hours to color that baby! You are so amazingly talented! I am completley blown away by this! BEAUTIFUL!!!!! I wish that I lived close to you and I would pay you to teach me how to color:D

  4. Taylor Says:

    You colored that!?!? OMGOSH!! I thought that it was out of your element to use a store bought journal, but then I read on! You are truly amazing… and what patience you have and attention to detail! It looks like a journal you’d find in a fine stationery store! Oh… and I know about a bazillion people who would purchase your gorgeous cards!

  5. That is probably one of the prettiest images I’ve ever seen.
    Oh my goodness! The shading, the detail, the work! I wouldn’t have a clue where to even start with something that gorgeous! Fabulous for sure!
    Gretchen

  6. Donna Says:

    wowza! this is amazing! just like the real thing! 20 hours, huh? don’t know what to say to that other than coloring is your thing & very therapeutic, huh? I know it is for me.

  7. Kelly Schelske Says:

    Oh my goodness, this is fabulous!! Amazing coloring, 20 hours….WOW!!!! You did an absolutely spendid job:-)
    Kelly

  8. Lisa Says:

    20 HOURS?!! GASP!! It really shows because your work is so beautiful!

  9. kathleenh Says:

    OMG Mary Jo! There are so many people who would LOVE to have some of your beautiful cards and artwork! Have you thought of Etsy? This project is so beautiful! I am in awe of your talent.

  10. Michelle Says:

    Oh my gosh…20 freakin’ hours! Well you can definately see the work you put into this – it is absolutely the most stunning journal I have seen!

  11. Elizebeth Says:

    I wonder how many hours TK put into the actual painting because I’m guessing compared to size that you are about even with him!

    This is just amazing, your new pencils are wonderful, and I love the little charm on it!

  12. Nimue Says:

    I can’t tell you how relieved I am to hear that there is someone else out there spending endless hours colouring! All the time I work I’m thinking, “I should be doing something useful and here I am colouring”. Now, if I could do it as well as you I’d stop beating myself up and just enjoy! It’s truly exquisite.

    Nimue

  13. ~amy~ Says:

    What an absolutely stunning job…you are magnificent with your coloring. What a fantastic journal…

  14. MJ – Holy cow! My mouth dropped (literally…I think I had to close it manually) when I saw the up close image showing the amount of detail that you put into the coloring! Beautiful! I mean seriously, I am not sure how you got that much detai in there! Wow!

    You need to find a local craft store or something to sell your creations in if you can’t figure out an online way to do it. Your work is always a piece of art in itself and could easily be sold!

  15. debbie Says:

    Oh my goodness! Your coloring is unbelievable! I’m not surprised that it took you 20 hours! WOW! And what an amazing gift to leave your children! It is so touching! My mom is an artist and if she ever left anything like that to me it would mean the WORLD! Truly! What you did is absolutely amazing!

  16. Crystal Says:

    That is so Beautiful!!! I have seen this stamp many times and think how beautiful it is- but I would not be able to do it justice. I am still learning the prisma coloring technique. I think you may have motivated me to play some more with my prisma pencils! 🙂 Your kids will cherish this!

  17. Charmaine Says:

    Holy cow! 20hrs??? Wow…it’s gorgeous. I don’t think I could ever do a TK image 🙂

    Great job!
    Charmaine

  18. Jackie Pedro Says:

    What a wonderful gift to give your children. I am in awe of the image and how you colored it. Looks like Thomas Kinkade did it himself!! Gorgeous…

  19. WOW! Mary Jo I cant believe you actually colored that! Its beautiful and looks so REAL! My hand hurts looking at it!LOL!

  20. Kathy Says:

    What a beautiful coloring job!! I really thought it was a sticker or something!! Wow!! I have coloring envy!! After all said and done that was quite an accomplishment!! Nice job…

  21. Jenni Says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! I LOVE it! Can I ask what color you used to stamp the image in? I think you should think about selling your stuff on Etsy as well.

  22. Debbie Olson Says:

    SO beautiful, MJ! And I’m not surprised that you spent that long coloring it. . . Art is a time consuming mistress, isn’t it? 😀

  23. Beate Says:

    MJ, what a beautiful and special gift for your children. Your coloring is amazing. Amazing isn’t even a good enough word to describe it. I keep staring at it. Wow! You are an incredible artist.
    Hugs!

  24. Ickle Pickle Says:

    Gorgeous book no wonder it took you so long colouring it. it’s so beautiful. Well done 🙂

  25. That’s great! I find the idea very nice and your technique is great! You should definitely do it! I just wrote a small post on color – very interesting question indeed: why do we like colors? Please, comment on what you think about it:
    http://boomerangblogger.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/new-morning-coffee-break-thoughts-why-do-we-love-colors/

    Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

