beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Taylor’s Cupcake Challenge #10 April 5, 2008

I’m so lovin’ Taylor’s challenges she posts on her blog, Taylored Expressions

Here is my sample for her sketch:

I did get the opportunity to do some paper shopping yesterday but it was really short lived.  Ethan was a wild little boy.  I should have known better, but I HAD TO GO..   Let’s just say, I will be returning tomorrow.  What I did find was this awesome patterned paper, ribbons, and brads that I used for this sample. 

The stamps:  Cuppacakeabella and yummalicious stamps by Stamping Bella.  I just split the sentiment to make it work for the space I had. 

The papers: patterned papers are by Daisy Bucket Designs and I used Sweet Marabella Francesca and Bianca.  Also used SU! Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, and Shimmery White CS.

The brads:  The medium sized orange glass ones are by creative cafe/imaginations.  The little brown ones I LOVE.  They are called ultra mini brads by Queen & Co.

The ribbons:  The orange striped organdy ribbon is by May Arts.  The green ribbon is actually paper ribbon by Daisy Bucket Designs.

Other accessories:  Due to the image “popping out” of the main image square, I couldn’t use my ticket corner punch…I used my word window punch to create the corners.  I used an aqua painter for coloring.  Boho Blossoms Punch to a piece of the patterned paper to create the flower near the sentiment.  Used 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ circle punches for sentiment.  All edges sponged with ink. 

Now, head on over to Taylor’s blog to check out this awesome sketch.

Have a wonderful evening:)

 

34 Responses to “Taylor’s Cupcake Challenge #10”

  1. Kelly Schelske Says:

    That card is definitely “yummalicious”!! Oh my gosh, those papers are fabulous!! Have a super weekend:-)Kelly

  2. This is so yummy! LOVE your new paper! I better go paper shopping tomorrow! LOL! Deb

  3. Gorgeous card! I’m always envious of people that can pair patterned papers together in such a pleasing manner. You did a great job. Those papers are awesome, and I love the Bella stamps.

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Great card Im off to try my hand at it thanks for insirping me Cynthia

  5. Lisa Henke Says:

    I love this card, and yes, those papers and ribbons are beautiful! Don’t cha just love that Bella? super cute.

  6. Wow, this card really is yummalicious! Great colors and patterns. The whole thing is phenominal!

  7. care-in Says:

    Wow! This is gorgeous. I love the soft colors, they aren’t your typical “cupcake” colors.

  8. peanutbee Says:

    Wow, this is gorgeous. Love the added bling on the cupcake, and in the small circle up in the corner. Great paper too!

  9. Kira Says:

    This is fab! The colours are just wonderful, especially as someone said they aren’t the “typical” cupcake colours. I’m a huge fan of oranges so this is just wonderful! Very inspiring for colour choices! And I love that cupcake Bella!

  10. Tamara Says:

    That is a great card. I love that Bella (well, I love all the Bellas).

  11. Sheila Says:

    Absolutely love your card. Great job on using patterned paper which is my weak spot.

  12. Charmaine Says:

    Love the color combo. I like all the different DP’s you used.

    Charmaine

  13. Emily N. Says:

    Love that PP! Just beautiful and fun!

  14. Charmingdesigns Says:

    This color!! I can almost smell Orange Creamcicle!! Laurie

  15. Taylor Says:

    Love those fabulous patterned papers, MJ! Your card is absolutely adorable! Thanks so much for playing my cupcake sketch challenge! 🙂

  16. Viv *VivLyn) Says:

    How cute!! I love that Bella stamp and you did a beautiful job with her!

  17. Conniecrafter Says:

    Such a cute layout and love how you took advantage to show off those pretty papers, great idea, so love these colors!

  18. Kerry D-C Says:

    Totally a yummalicious card!

  19. Charmaine Says:

    Oh I LOVE this MJ! What a fun card. . .and delicious colors!

  20. Emily Says:

    Mary Jo, as always you REPRESENT sistah! I love your work.. you are AMAZING and especially now that I KNOW you, I feel “that” much closer!
    Mwah!
    love ya
    Em

  21. veronica Says:

    love your paper choice, they are so cool!

  22. Ilina Crouse Says:

    I love this card and the color combination.
    As for adding link, I was in a way intrigued by it, so decided to try it on my wordpress blog(which I never use) and it worked fine for me with just highlighting the word or phrase where I want to insert the link and clicking the “chain” button for the link.

  23. Denise G Says:

    Beautiful! I just love the paper…. Great job!

  24. Jennifer Says:

    Soooooo Cute Mary jo!!! I LOVE the fun design and sketch and that ribbon is just so yummy!

    Jennifer 🙂

  25. stampmonkey Says:

    What a lucious card! I love this color combo — so citrus-y. Great job on coloring in the images too!

  26. Fe Says:

    Oh that’s so funky. I am loving this card!

  27. Oh I just love that Bella. There are a few I need. I better get on that soon. LOL. GREAT job on the sketch. I really love it.

  28. Libby Says:

    This is so adorable!!! Love the stamp, of course, and love the colors you chose! Great job with the sketch!! 🙂

  29. ElizabethB Says:

    AMAZING!! This is beautiful and cute and fun and…. 🙂 You did a great job. I am off to surf more of your site. Very inspiring.

  30. Mary Jo I LOVE this card! Great dp and ribbons! Gotta love those Bellas!LOL! Great sentiment!

  31. Cindy Major Says:

    Well, aren’t you clever! Last time I couldn’t fit my image in my ticket corner punch, I just gave up… What a nice idea, to use the word window punch instead! Gotta remember that one…

    I absolutely love your card and the colors you used! Those papers are awesome! Orange has really been growing on me since I’ve first started crafting…

    TFS!
    Cindy
    (cindy_canada on SCS)

  32. Maria Jesus Says:

    wow very nice card, the colors, the papers, the stamps!!

    by the way i read your post about your dog, it’s cute!!!

    Maria Jesus

  33. Becky G Says:

    Oh wow! What a wonderful card! I love it!

  34. Ickle Pickle Says:

    I adore this cupcake card and the papers you have used are so pretty 🙂


Leave a Reply

