beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

taylor’s cupcake challenge #12 April 21, 2008

When I saw Taylor’s challenge for this weekend, I instantly thought bright and fun.  How can you not when you visit her site.  I have had my hands on some stamps that I’ve been waiting to use, and finally got the opportunity late tonight.

  I took a different approach with these adorable Changito monkeys….I colored them in bright colors to coordinate with my papers.  I think of my kids when looking at this image.  They are constantly doing “crazy” childish things to one another.

Here is my find this past weekend.  I had to go to my local office supply store.  While browsing, I saw a Mead Watercolor paper tablet for under $5.  I got 15 sheets of 9″ x 12″ white watercolor paper that works beautifully.

STAMP SETS USED:  Stampendous Changito Amigos and Crazy about You sentiment.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Mead watercolor paper; SU! Pumpkin Pie, Purely Pomegranate, and Soft Sky CS; Tinkering ink “Grigette” patterned paper.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black; SU! Pumpkin Pie, Purely Pomegranate, Creamy Caramel, Green Galore, Soft Sky stampin’ pads; Pumpkin Pie, Green Galore, Bashful Blue, and Creamy Caramel Stampin’ Write Markers.

ACCESSORIES:  Pumpkin Pie striped Grosgrain ribbon, ticket corner punch, horizontal slot punch, bold brights brads. 

Thanks for stopping by:)

 

23 Responses to “taylor’s cupcake challenge #12”

  1. Jana M Says:

    O M GOODNESS!!!

    How cute are these?!!! I love the colors, too!

  2. Kelly S Says:

    Oh my, how cute are those monkeys!! Fantastic card too, but those monkeys crack me up!! Love the patterned paper and I am not a huge Tinkering Ink fan either…Great job!! Kelly

  3. I LOVE the color combo in this card and the stamp is absolutely adorable! Great work!

  4. Conniecrafter Says:

    Fun bright card, cute image! Thanks for the tip on the watercolor paper!

  5. rose kerry Says:

    Very cute, love that green monkey, sute layout, must case!

  6. Taylor Says:

    What an adorable card, MJ! I love that image and the bright papers! Congrats on your awesome watercolor paper find too!

  7. Jen Ofiana Says:

    so adorable. Love the bright colored monkeys!

  8. Anthonette Says:

    Great card with nice color and paper choices! I love the Changito Amigos.

  9. Viv (VivLyn) Says:

    Adorable! I love the color of your little monkeys…who says monkeys have to be brown?!!! What a cute card!!

  10. Kira Says:

    Yummy and very adorable! Definitely looks like a couple of kids (although I know some “grown-ups” who do that too!).

  11. Judi Says:

    Very cute card!

  12. Ashley Bowen Says:

    This is so adorable! I love everything about it! Keep up the excellent work! Hugs, Ash~
    http://www.ashleyscreativecorner.com

  13. Laura Says:

    Adorable! Love your bright fun papers and your colourful monkeys! Too cute!

  14. Love those monkeys! Love your blog. So glad I found it!

  15. Charmaine Says:

    Oh how adorable, Mary Jo! I LOVE the monkeys colored in bright colors! How fun!

  16. Deb Says:

    I love it!! Your monkeys are a hoot! What an amazing job of coloring…..BRAVO!

  17. Cindy Major Says:

    I love those monkeys! They look so adorable, making faces at each other like that (and yes, this could easily have been my sister and I when we were younger!)

    I like that you colored the monkeys in bright colours instead of neutrals – they’re so darn cute!!!

    Cindy

  18. Libby Says:

    This is so much fun!! Love those bright colors.

  19. Ickle Pickle Says:

    Wow gorgeous card, ver ycute and I adore the colours you’ve used 🙂

  20. Teri Says:

    Just love the color combo. I love all of your work! Thanks for sharing them with all of us! Aloha! Teri

  21. […] of the Stampendous Flower Chat stamp set is Mary Jo Albright. You can check out her adorable card here! Mary Jo, email me at tayloredexpressions@gmail.com with your address and I’ll send out the […]


Leave a Reply

