beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a little pampering April 25, 2008

I decided to pamper myself and create a little something to go with it.  While browsing around Target, I found rectangular tins at the dollar spot and couldn’t resist picking up a couple to decorate.

Here is what I came up with:

As the song goes, “these are a few of ‘my favorite things’!”  What do you think?  Such a cute gift idea for a new mom or bride, or even the mom who just needs to slow down and take a break.  How about Mother’s Day? 

I found a my favorite things rub-on  (link is a little different from the one I used) from My Mind’s Eye and had to have it to go with some of my stamps…lol  It goes perfect with the MFT Time for the Bubbly stamp set.  Which goes perfect with my bathing supplies tin.

Here is an upclose front view of the tin:

I used my 3/16″ corner rounder punch to create the scalloping to the bottom and inside top of tin.  I then adhered some Dew Drops to every other scallop.  The main image was watercolored.  I added Ranger Crackle Accents to the tub.  The light blue twill is from Creative Cafe. 

For the side, I used my Crop-A-Dile tool to punch two holes in each side.  I made handles out of the light blue twill and attached with large silver brads:

I hope I have inspired you all take some time for yourself this weekend:)

 

30 Responses to “a little pampering”

  1. Kelly S Says:

    Awesome job MJ!! I love B&BW stuff adn Sea Island Cotton is one of my favs too!! Great job and whata wonderful gift idea:-)

  2. What a wonderful project. You derserve some pampering!!

  3. Teri Says:

    I just love this! so creative and such a great gift it will make! Aloha, Teri

  4. Krisstee Says:

    ABSOLUTELY beautiful. At first glance I thought it was a pic from a magazine; an inspiration challenge. Job WELL done!

  5. StampMom Says:

    Aaaah, I feel more relaxed just *looking* at this, so sweet and soothing. Really beautiful work!!

  6. Alyssa Says:

    A great project! But what really caught my eye is your fantastic coloring – truly amazing how much it looks like a painting!

  7. Conniecrafter Says:

    Oh this is just too cute, love all the touches you have given to this, the handle idea is very creative! Love these colors, wish I would have picked some of these up!

  8. Emily N. Says:

    This is great MJ! LOVE it!

  9. Becca Says:

    You have done a marvelous job!!! I picked up some of those tins too with an eye towards decorating them. What you did with your exceeds what I ever imagine could be done.

  10. lacyquilter Says:

    This is fabulous! What a great gift.

  11. Charmaine Says:

    What a great gift idea and presentation. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Charmaine

  12. Tonya Says:

    Ohhhh! I absolutely, positively ADORE this!!

  13. Lori A. Says:

    This is super cute! It looks so relaxing. I was just going through my daughter’s Teacher Appreciation Week list and May 5th is “Mellow Monday” with the ideas of favorite scents, lotions, etc. This would be perfect!

  14. Shona Says:

    this is just beautiful! endless possibilities with this idea. i walk by those $ things all the time and sometimes even put them in my cart and then I put them back after walking around asking myself, “now what am I going to do with them”?? Sadly I already have a cupboard full of those types of items!! Great job and thanks for sharing!

  15. ~amy~ Says:

    You’ve definitely inspired me! I have a couple of those T tins AND I love B&BW!

  16. Nancy Riley Says:

    MJ, this is so creative and adorable! Lovin’ everything about it … the colors, the design, that wonderful blue twill … it’s outstanding!

  17. Melissa Says:

    Awesome Mary Jo! I’ve been looking for ideas similar to this for a bridal shower that I’m attending so the timing couldn’t be more perfect. Thank you!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  18. Mel Says:

    How absolutely gorgeous! Love all of your elegant details. I’m inspired! Thanks! :0) mel

  19. shila Says:

    So cute!! Love it. That stamp was made for this.

  20. Laura Says:

    WOW! The gorgeous colours and design scream pamper me! Beautiful…love the colours. your colouring on the tag is amazing. What a wonderful gift!

  21. ulrikam Says:

    Wow! This is just so wonderful! The sentiment and the stamp is jsut perfect. I would love to have a basket like this, maybe I will just have to make one of my own. Thanks for the inspiration!

  22. Jukie Says:

    What a lovely idea! tfs

  23. Charlene Says:

    Nice – I forgot the Cropadile could punch through metal.

  24. This is a beautiful gift. Great job with the colors. Very serene,

  25. Laurie Says:

    Love this!!! You did such a great job on the tin. I would absolutely be pleased as can be to receive this!

  26. Lisa Says:

    Soothing colors, and I love the shading!

  27. Chris Hauck Says:

    Oh you found the tins too. I bought like five of them with hopes of some delightful gifts. You’ve inspired me! I love your project! Thanks for the inspiration.
    Chris

  28. Deb Kemp Says:

    Oh my goodness! I bet Target will have NONE of these left after seeing this!

    As always, you have more talent in your pinkie than most of us do in their entire body!

    Gorgeous!

  29. Deb Says:

    Oh my! These are wonderful! I saw these tins too, and unfortunately I passed them up. 😦 Silly me!
    Thanks for sharing this delightful little project.

  30. Krista Says:

    This is so gorgeous !! I love to color combinations you used !
    Great gift !


Leave a Reply

