beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Taylor’s cupcake challenge #13 April 27, 2008

I must tell you, I look forward to my weekends off.  I can catch up on some stamping…and participate in Taylor’s cupcake challenges.   For this weeks challenge, I kinda changed it up a little and added a more details than I should have. 

I wanted to use Stampin’ Up! products for my sample.  The card base is Taken with Teal CS with a layer of Bali Breeze DSP.  I corner rounded the two upper corners with my 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch.  The horizontal strip is Taken with Teal and Whisper White CS.    Added some Pumpkin Pie Stripped Grosgrain Ribbon with a Pewter Brad.  The sentiment is from SU! Many Happy Returns that I stamped in Purely Pomegranate ink on Whisper White CS and punched out with my Word Window Punch.  Adhered to card base and added another Pewter Brad for balance. 

I had to punch and adhere each strip separately due to all the layers to create the circle openings (there are 5 layers of CS at this section of the card).  So, I measured and punched the 3 circles with my 1-1/4″ Circle Punch.  I created the Old Olive circle frames with my 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punches.

Now for those flower images within the punched circles….So you open up the card to reveal a bright arrangement of flowers:)  So fun and a nice surprise!  I first started with a piece of Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White CS that I rounded the two upper corners again to coordinate with the outside of the card.  I stamped the 3 circular flower images from SU! Big Flowers stamp set in Purely Pomegranate ink on Whisper White CS.  I punched them out using my 1-1/4″ Circle Punch.  I then adhered strips of Always Artichocke 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon with the middle piece longer and folded up to create a leaf.  The middle flower I layered on a 1-3/8″ Circle Punch piece of Taken with Teal CS and a Scallop Punch piece of Pumpkin Pie CS.  Each flower has a Build-A-Brad in the center which holds a stamped image from SU! Little Flowers stamp set that I used Pumpkin Pie ink on Whisper White CS.  Finally, I added a strip of Old Olive CS that I scalloped using my 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch.  I added a Pewter Brad to each end of the strip.

There you have it!  Now, head on over to Taylored Expressions to see all the details for participating in Taylor’s cupcake challenge.  Hope you all are enjoying your weekend:)

 

5 Responses to “Taylor’s cupcake challenge #13”

  1. Kira Says:

    Oh my gosh, this is so cute! What a great idea. I love how there is no clue there are flower inside, just pretty circles, until you open the card. A cute little “preview” idea. TFS!

  2. Taylor Says:

    Oh how adorable, MJ!! I love the flowers inside… what a cute and clever idea. You rocked the sketch! Thanks for playing!

  3. Regina Davis Says:

    This is awesome! I love the element of surprise with cards. Love it!!

  4. Joanne B. Says:

    This is adorable! What a sweet surprise inside! You’re so stinkin’ clever!

  5. kathleenh Says:

    Amazing! Your attention to detail is second to none!


Leave a Reply

