beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #46 May 2, 2008

Happy Friday everyone!  It is time for another one of Beate’s wsc.  I’m all for having a little surprise on the inside of the card to continue the theme from the front….so I thought I would try it out on this card.

It is hard to see straight on, but I have a transparency sheet (acetate) within the main image with some of the details upfront and others in the distance. 

Here is a pic of the card half open to show you which details are in the foreground:

This process of layers was very time consuming, but with the end result, I think it was well worth it.  I first stamped the image in Old Olive ink on Whisper White and had to cut out most of the image to create the frame.  The next layer is Acetate.  I had to match up the cut out rectangle on all the layers of DSP and the Whisper White card base. I repeated stamping the image but with the colors I needed.  I then cut out all the images and adhered to the Acetate with Mini Glue Dots. The background of the image (sun rays and whimsical swirls by the bird) are not on the Acetate.  They would be part of the surprise on the inside of the card.

 

 

 

For the inside, I wanted the image to be a solid color with another hidden sentiment within the image that can not be viewed through the window when card is closed:

 The inside is very different from the outside of the card.  Very simple image revealed with a happy little sentiment.  I stamped the image in Groovy Guava ink and the sentiment is Rose Red ink.  You can see some of the details of the window to the left….there was really no neat way to hide all the craftsmanship , but I think it doesn’t look bad due to it all being white.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, make sure you head on over the the blogs of these talented ladies to see more samples for the wsc:

Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, Laurie Schmidlin, Lori Craig, and Sharon Harnist.

Have a wonderful weekend:)

STAMPS USED:  SU! Seasonal Whimsy and Bitty Birthday

CARDSTOCK USED:  Whisper White and So Saffron CS, Bali Breeze and Ginger Blossoms DSP

INKS USED:  Old Olive, So Saffron, Rose Red, Groovy Guava, Cameo Coral

ACCESSORIES USED:  Earth Elements colored Brads, Linen Thread, Mat Pack, Acetate, FLower Fusion, Scallop Punch, Sticky Strip and Mini Glue Dots.

 

26 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #46”

  1. jenn Says:

    oh my word. this is just amazing, truly amazing. send it to me – i’ll be the judge of it “doesn’t look bad” LOL! Beautiful, amazing work. Wow.

  2. Charmaine Says:

    Oh my goodness! This is fabulous! I LOVE it! How neat!

  3. Beate Says:

    Girl, you are blowing my mind every week! Every time you use this set I feel like I NEED to order it. You are so creative! Dang….this is beautiful!
    Have a great weekend!!! Hugs and smiles

  4. antje Says:

    wow, that is a wonderful idea! Very nice card.

  5. Holy-smokes, this is one awesome card, MaryJo! LOVE the acetate window and all the 3D details were certainly worth the effort!

  6. Wendy Janson Says:

    MaryJo, this is wonderfully clever! Really adorable!

  7. WOW!!! Mary Jo, this is outstanding!!! You really made this stamp come to life…and as usual your color combination is so unique and beautiful!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. HOLY COW WOMAN! I keep having to climb back into my chair today after BWSC! I LOVE LOVE LOVE… did I say I LOVE this? Oh, you rock! WOW…. and one more DANG! 🙂

  9. Cyndi Bundy Says:

    Wow! What an awesome card! The details are fab of course, but wanted to also say I love the colors you put together 🙂

  10. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Wow, this is totally amazing! Great job!!

  11. Regina Davis Says:

    What an amazing card! What a cool 3D effect you created. Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful card.

  12. young c-m Says:

    Wow, what a cool card! It looks like it took a lot of time and effort. Could you let us know of a link on how to create a similar card?

  13. stampmonkey Says:

    I LOVE this! You are so creative! It’s beautiful no matter how you look at it. tfs

  14. WOW! Mary Jo this is beautiful! It looks like alot of work but well worth it!

  15. Linda L Says:

    Oh wow wow wow….you are so clever! This is fabbo!

  16. Beautiful and so creative Mary jo! LOVE your designs as always. Jennifer 🙂

  17. Lori Craig Says:

    I am jaw*dropped speechless! This is incredible, MJ!! FABULOUS!! Hope your weekend of work goes well….I’m hoping to hear good AA news from you this week! No matter the outcome, you are my award choice! Hugs!!

  18. Lisa Says:

    Wow, Mary Jo, this is such a cool technique! Love that card!

  19. Conniecrafter Says:

    very creative, love the idea and it turned out lovely!

  20. djouellette Says:

    Fantastic! Blows me away….wonderful use of this set.

  21. Jill K Says:

    I love this one! It is brilliant. Great colors, layout and just WOW! Great job 🙂
    I think this set is ugly and most cards I see aren’t that great, but you make each card like a masterpiece. I am half tempted to get this set because of you!!

  22. Emily N. Says:

    Just gorgeous, MJ! This is so darn clever! LOVE it!

  23. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, another fabulous creation of yours! Love it!!!

    Cindy

  24. You are rocking in the creations department! I am such a fan! Take care, Deb

  25. lissette Says:

    Oh my God! This is just beautiful. I saw something like this at a Hallmark store and thought hum, can that be done by hand?? and you did it. It is simply great. Time consuming I can see but just lovely. Great job!


Leave a Reply

