beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

SU! takes on the owl trend May 13, 2008

I am seeing owls on tree branch images everywhere lately.  Not quite sure I understand why, but some of them are cute.  Not wanting to invest money on owls, I discovered some things in the Stampin’ Up! catalog while browsing it this evening.  There is an owl image in ABC Images set and a tree branch in Spring Solitude Hostess set.  Combine them and you are now following the trend SU! style:)….and here is what you get:

  I think it’s a “hoot”.  Had to throw that in there:)  It’s a simple thank you card that is really easy to make.

So, why is there an owl trend going on?  I have two rather large owls that make a visit to the tree tops in my back yard about once a week.  I’m assuming it is a male and female because they have very different loud calls back and forth for hours (we can hear it from inside our house).  If you happen to be outside at night, at just the right time, you will hear them swoop, a loud squeal follows, and off they fly with a bunny.  It’s a little sad.  My kids and I will sometimes get out a spotlight and look at them…they give us just enough time to see how huge they are, then they fly away. 

Thanks for stopping by:)

STAMP SETS:  SU! ABC Images & Spring Solitude

CARDSTOCK:  Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, and Shimmery White; Fall Flowers DSP.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black; Chocolate Chip and Really Rust Stampin’ Pads; Chocolate Chip and Old Olive Markers.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Ticket Corner Punch; Aqua Painter; Theater Ribbon Originals; Earth Elements Brads.

 

 

16 Responses to “SU! takes on the owl trend”

  1. ~amy~ Says:

    Super sweet!!! Love the combo of patterns…the colors…the ribbon..perfect!

  2. RaeAnne Says:

    i love it… its is certinly a hoot

  3. Deb Kemp Says:

    Too cute — perfect colors!

  4. Dawn Easton Says:

    Fantastic idea combining those sets MJ! They look like they were made for one another. How cool for your kids to catch a glimpse of them in your backyard!!

  5. Tara Says:

    super cute…I love that you combined the two sets to get with the trend!! 🙂 love that fall dsp too!

  6. Laura Says:

    This is totally cute! I love seeing an SU version! Great card, great job keeping up with the trends!!

  7. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Ack, I have that stamp and totally forgot about it.
    I will get it inked up and make an SU owl trend card! 🙂
    Not sure why the owls made their way into our hearts for paper crafts, but I do love them!

  8. Beate Says:

    Girl…you are so smart! I am excited. I just got myself the ABC images.
    Your card looks amazing. Have a wonderful day. Hugs and smiles

  9. MaryJo Says:

    WOW!! Thanks for this – I have the ABC images and the solitude set and never would have thought of this! ((HUGS))

  10. Vera Says:

    You are one smart cookie to have put those stamps together. Great idea!

  11. Libby Says:

    You are such a clever girl! This is so cute. Not sure why there’s an owl craze going on, but I happen to like them a lot! 🙂

  12. rebecca Says:

    how very clever…i’ve used that branch for so many other uses as well!

  13. Lisa Henke Says:

    love this! and yes, I don’t understand why owls got so hot all of a sudden, but I’m being sucked into the trend. Word is, SU has an owl set coming in the new catty so I’m holding out for that! I love that you used what you had to come up with this cute card.

  14. Jamie Says:

    resourceful!!!! I have both stamp sets and never thought about the cobo!!

  15. Conniecrafter Says:

    He is so cute, how neat that you have them visiting your backyard!

  16. Debbie Says:

    You have amazing talent. I like your style of card making along with all the colors that you use. I could comment on each card that you make, but it would be the same….. “Awesome Job, I admire your work.”


Leave a Reply

