beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #18 & some blog candy May 30, 2008

Lots to share in this post:  Taylor’s cupcake challenge, taking a card front and converting to a scrapbook page or large card, and a chance to win a stamp set. 

Let’s start with Taylor’s Cupcake Challenge.  Ahhh, I got to use are really cool color combo and patterned papers for this one!  I can’t say that I have used SU! Brilliant Blue or Green Galore in the past year (or more..lol).  It was fun playing with these bright vibrant colors for the sketch.

  

How fun right?  Aren’t those cupcakes the cutest?  Remember, you don’t have to use cupcake images to participate in the challenges:)  I fell in love with this paper when I saw it.  Boyish, but can also go to anyone I think. 

Now, how about making it a jumbo card or a 8-1/2 x 11 birthday section title page for a scrapbook.   I placed additional coordinating patterned paper to the outside of the card, added a title, some whimsical details, and think it turned out okay.

For the title, I used SU! Jumbo Outline Alphabet and filled in with Aqua Stickles.  I love my stamp-a-ma-jig tool…if you are a perfectionist, it is a must have handy tool.

For the whimsical pattern flowing across the page, I used an assortment of circle punches, paper-piercing, and coordinating brads.  I added dimension to some of the circles using foam adhesive.

You can see more samples for the cupcake challenge at the following sites:

Ana Wohlfahrt, Jami Sibley, Lynn Mercurio, Monika Davis, Sherrie Siemens, Stephanie Hargis, and Vicki Chrisman

And the featured cupcake sampler for the challenge this week is from Carol at Happiness Blooms.

 

WANT TO WIN THIS MFT STAMP SET CALLED “WHAT’S UP CUPCAKE?” THAT IS DUE TO BE RELEASED IN JUNE?  LEAVE A COMMENT AND I WILL DRAW A WINNER ON MONDAY EVENING USING RANDOM.ORG. 

 

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND:) 

STAMPS:  MFT What’s up Cupcake? and You Take the Cake; SU! Jumbo Outline Alphabet

CS:  Shimmery White, Brilliant Blue, Green Galore, and Tempting Turquoise

PP:  Doodlebug Design Inc. Birthday Boy party time, ring toss, and ribbon stripe.

INKS:  Stazon Jet Black & Opaque Cotton White; SU! Brillliant Blue, Green Galore, and Tempting Turquoise.

ACCESSORIES:  Aqua Stickles; Creative Cafe Green Twill; Foam Adhesive tape; Sakura white and gold gel pens; su! bold brights brads assortment

TOOLS:  stamp-a-ma-jig; su! mat pack, ticket corner punch; 1/2″, 3/4″, 1″, 1-3/8″, and 1-1/4″ circle punches.

 

 

 

170 Responses to “Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #18 & some blog candy”

  1. jenn Says:

    I love it!!! The colors are so bright and cheerful!!! I love that cupcake image and would love to WIN that stamp set!!! Pick me, pick me!!! LOL!!! 😀

    Jenn

  2. Sherrie Says:

    Those cupcakes look awesome, how cool to incorporate the sketch in a big layout! Great job…as per always!

  3. cassie Says:

    love these colors together – but i don’t think i’ve ever used them together either! love this stamp – i’m very excited to see what else is in this set! crossing my fingers!

  4. Whooo hooo blue! Love it. What a clever and creative way to use the sketch! I’m so impressed with all of the dimension, detail and embellishments! Fabulous!

  5. Taylor Says:

    So cute, MJ! I love that Doodlebug paper and I can already tell that I’m going to need that MFT stamp set!

  6. Jennifer Says:

    I love your card and the new stamp is very cute!!

  7. Jami Says:

    Love the bright fun colors and the cupcake image is so cute! Very cool the way you turned the card into a page too!

  8. Jody Morrow Says:

    I am LOVING that cupcake set from MFT and of course your card is gorgeous! 🙂

  9. young c-m Says:

    Nice, bright cheery card! =)

  10. Leanne Says:

    What a great card! I love those bright colors and that cupcake stamp is too fun!

  11. Deb Neerman Says:

    WoWZa! This card is so striking! And those stamps are to-die-for!

    Thanks for the chance to win; and for all the inspiration!

    Deb
    debkneer at aol dot com

  12. Tamara Says:

    I love your card, and I love the idea or putting it on a scrapbook page to add an accent. so great!

  13. Kim Ross Says:

    Woohoo! A new cupcake set! That’s certainly something to celebrate!! 🙂

  14. mbrein23 Says:

    Soooo cute! I’m so into cupcakes right now …. at least the rubber ones won’t add calories! -Melinda

  15. Gail S. Says:

    Soooo cute! I love the piercing! You do a wonder ful job..keep it up 🙂

  16. Mary Dawn Says:

    so cute, i love the layout especially

  17. Yummy – I love cupcakes! These are such sweet cards!

  18. Monika/buzsy Says:

    Love the cupcakes! Great colors… I love blue… and all the dots and circles… the letters look awesome! I love that alphabet set… TFS!

  19. Shelly Says:

    So cute! Love how many uses you can get out of a little card…Thanks for the chance to win!
    Shelly

  20. Julie Says:

    Love it!!! Now I want a cupcake. 🙂 ~Julie

  21. Jill Says:

    Great card! A girl can never have enough cupcakes in her collection, can she? I’d love the chance to win that set from MFT. Thanks for the opportunity!

    Jill

  22. Kelly S Says:

    great card..I don’t have any cupcake stamps..I know it’s terrible!!

  23. Sweet card Mary jo, LOVE the fun design and darling paper & images.

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Jennifer 🙂

  24. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Love the bright, fun, vibrant colors!! So yummy!

  25. SusanH Says:

    Absolutely love these colors!! And the paper piercing is my fav – thanks for the chance.

  26. Jackie Says:

    They are absolutely adorable! I would love to have them – thanks for offering them up!

  27. What a SUPER card! I am so in love with those colors together…Hmm..must find some pattern paper to match them. 😀 Everything works so well together!

  28. Clara Says:

    Love the way you did the title!!! Awesome!!!

  29. Kelly A. Says:

    Such a cute card! It makes me hungry for cupcakes!

  30. Estivalia Says:

    love the colors and the glittery “happy birthday”! 🙂

    now I wonder why I feel like baking cupcakes, LOL.

  31. Amy Says:

    I love the colors of your cards on this post! Bright and fun! I don’t have any MFT stamps and would love to win my first ones!

    Have a great weekend!

  32. Inkylin Says:

    Nice bright cheerful colors for these cards. Such cute cupcakes.

    -*Linda*-

  33. Melissa (smileytexan) Says:

    Very, very cute card!! I love the colors together. I think I need to start collecting some cupcake stamps. . .I’ve seen too many very cute ones! Winning the set would be a great start!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Melissa

  34. annabelle Says:

    Love the card, the colors were so cute and the dp is so great.I love the cupcake images, it turned out great. I would love to win it, so thanks for the chance. Thanks for the inspiration and god bless.

  35. Mary Says:

    VERY nice! You have *enviable* stamp-a-majig patience… Thanks!

  36. Mandy Kirk Says:

    I love the card, the cupcakes look so yummy!
    Mandy

  37. StampinCathy Says:

    Your cupcake card is just to cute. Love the colors and great layout. Count me in on this sweet candy. Thanks for a chance.

  38. zgirl Says:

    Ohhhhh..this is the set I want. Thanks for the great opportunity–I really hope I win!!!
    I loveee cupcakes–and the colors.

  39. Kathie Tice (aka chattiekathie) Says:

    It looks like a really cute set, (like all of the MFT sets)! I hope you pick me!

  40. Kim Howard Says:

    I absolutely love how you did the paper piercing, it’s wonderful! Great vibrant colors you chose as well.

  41. Tara Says:

    darling card…love the doodlebug paper!! 🙂

  42. Jaime Says:

    Everything coordinates so well together on your card! I love it!

    Thanks for a great giveaway! I love anything and everything MFT!

  43. Sue Says:

    How cute! I love the color combo–it would be perfect for a pool party birthday! Can’t wait to see the whole set!

  44. Allison Says:

    Wow…what a neat idea for a scrapbook page! Still, the idea scares the dickens out of me! Great color palette too!

  45. nina Says:

    such a cute idea ! you cant really get enough glitter!
    THanks for the chance to win MFT stamps. They would be sooo much fun to play with.
    Nina

  46. Christine Says:

    This is awesome- love what you have done to make a bigger card, fab colours you have used!

  47. Dawn K Says:

    I love this Doodlebug paper. I have the stamp set that coordinates with it. Great job on the challenge.

  48. Brandi Says:

    Wow! Bright colors! I love how you took the card front and turned it into a scrapbook page, I’ve never thought to do that!

  49. Beth Mak Says:

    Love the colors you used, like you I hardly ever use these two colors. Can’t believe I don’t have any cupcake stamps – would so love to have this tier of cupcakes. 5.30.08

  50. Belinda Says:

    I love the bright colors! I never seem to get that color combo to work for me. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win the stamps too! Looks so cute! Can’t wait to see the rest of the set!

  51. Windy Says:

    I love your work and thank you for the offer.

  52. Elaine Says:

    What a clever way to transform the card into a scrappin page! Love it! I am not good at making things transition so this is really helpful for me.
    I would love to win the set also – it’s really, really cute!

  53. Jackie W. Says:

    Wow! Cute stuff! I love your cards! I really hope to win that cute set!!

  54. Ginny Says:

    The colors are great. So summery and bright. Thanks for sharing.

  55. Suzanne Dean Says:

    Love these little cupcakes–your’s look good enough to eat! Great job!
    Suzanne D

  56. Amy Young Says:

    I always love your creations! These cards are great! So bright and cheery! I’m totally loving the cupcake set from MFT too! I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  57. Kerry J. Says:

    Love those cupcakes and that Doodlebug paper is fabulous – as is your card and scrapbook page! Thanks for the chance to win!

  58. Janin Huerter Says:

    LOVE< LOVE< LOVE…….This is the first time on your blog. I am so glad I found it. Your work is great. I love this card. I think Cupcakes are so fun. You can use so many colors to represent what you are feeling. Looking forward to seeing more from you. I will be a regular on your blog. Thanks for giving me great ideas!

    Janin

  59. Jenn Billings Says:

    I hopped on by because of the cupcake challenge and I am so glad that I did. I love the cupcakes on your card. They are so cute and everything pulls together so well!

    I hope that I am the lucky winner!

  60. sandyh50 Says:

    Oooh, I hope I am lucky and win these cupcakes! Very cute card!

  61. Katie Says:

    Thanks for the chance to win! I would love to add this set to my collection!

  62. Brooke Says:

    I love your cards! I love how much detail you put into every card. Every time I see one of your cards, I go – WOW! Love em!

  63. HB Says:

    ooo’ I LOVE the colors you used! Adorable card!!!

  64. What a great card! Works wonderfully for young or old, male or female! Can you believe that I don’t own a cupcake? I would love the chance to win!

  65. cindy royal Says:

    You betcha, I want to win a June released set called “what’s up cupcake.” I love cupcake stamps.. they are perfect for birthdays, no matter what the age!

  66. Celeste Says:

    Great cards, your work always inspires me!

  67. What a fun card! Awesome color combo! So excited about the chance to win. I’ve been looking for the perfect cupcake set! Can’t wait to see the rest of this one!

  68. Swedie Says:

    I really enjoy the things you make. Thanks for the chance to win some stamps.

    Swedie

  69. Deepa Says:

    What a cute card! I always struggle with using busy papers, so this card helps a lot! I love the colors, Doodlebug is so fun!!

  70. Denise G Says:

    I love the colors you used for the card. They are just perfect! Love the image too. Can’t wait to see the rest of the set! Do we really have to wait? I love MFT stamps!

    Denise G

  71. Love, Love, Love how you took that sweet and cheerful card and “enlarged it.” Great idea in this day of “recylce/ reuse/ etc.” I love making jumbo cards, especially for friends at work, so everyone can sign the cards! Thanks for the inspiration. Beautiful work!

  72. Christine Ray Says:

    Your card is great! Just goes to show that cupcakes can be any color! Thanks for sharing!
    Chris

  73. Annelies Says:

    Gorgeous card! These stamps and color combo are great!
    Greetings from Belgium, Annelies

  74. What bright energetic colors. Love your work and happy smile in your pic.

  75. CORINNE SAINDON Says:

    Wow I love it !!! The color combo is my favorite one using the SU colors. It’s bringt and fun. Thank you for all your time you spend sharing your talent with us in your blog. Can’t wait to see what you do next.

  76. Renae Says:

    I really liked the Outline Alphabet letters filled in with Stickles! Cute idea!

  77. Chris D. Says:

    This card is adorable! I love the way the stickles looks in the otline alphabet–have to try that today! Nice bright card, and it turned into a beauriful page!! Thanks for sharing!!

  78. Charlene Says:

    Love these bright colors and of course….cupcakes. I’m all into them both stamped and IRL. TFS!!

  79. Jennifer Says:

    Wow! What a cute, bright card! Love the colors!

  80. elizabeth Glass Says:

    Darling Mj! Thanks for sharing,Elizabeth

  81. What an adorable card! I love the circles, and the stamp set looks cute!!

  82. Conniecrafter Says:

    these cards are just too cute, love the papers and colors and those sprinkles on the cupcakes are neat! cool piercing too!

  83. Gayla Says:

    What a great, fun use of colors that are usually overlooked! Thanks for the inspiration!

  84. Cheryl Says:

    Just when I think I have all the cupcake stamps I couldn’t use in two lifetimes, another “just gotta have” set comes along. Beautiful card – thanks for the chance to win the cute set!
    Cheryl

  85. Cynthia Says:

    How cute is that card??? I love the colors too! Cynthia

  86. Martie M Says:

    Absolutely love the color combination. Would love to have the stamps set. Fingers crossed.

  87. Peggy Springer Says:

    Love the cupcakes! Thanks for the chance to win!

  88. Susan C. Says:

    Love MFT…would love to own this set!

  89. Chris Hauck Says:

    What a darling card! I just adore the Doodlebug designer paper. It looks great all together…I love ballet blue and green galore together. Thanks for sharing.
    Chris Hauck

  90. Claudia F. Says:

    Cupcakes are pretty in blue ! Love your work.
    Claudia
    scfranson@charter.net

  91. Elizabeth V. Says:

    What a great card…thanks for sharing your creativity with us!

  92. Terri Says:

    Love the green and blue combo, so cheery. The cupcakes are adorable too.:)

  93. kim3timemom Says:

    Love the colors of these cards..and I love the cute cupcakes!! Thanks so much for the chance to win.

  94. Darlene L Says:

    Love the cupcake stamps. Great card and wonderful scrapbook page. Super color choices too! Darlene L

  95. So cute! I love what you did with your cupcake card! Crossing my fingers and my toes that my number is picked for the MFT set!

  96. Connie Pruitt Says:

    I love any cupcake stamps! These are adorable and I would love to win. Really like the colors in your card. I haven’t ever tried them and I am suprised how cute they are!

  97. rose kerry Says:

    Love your card. I think for a solid year I used brilliant blue and green galore for everything!!! I am a bold bright kinda gal. I love how you bumped up your card, love the lettering in happy birthday and all the detail. Excellent job, thanks for showing the before & after!

  98. terri Says:

    I love the cupcakes and the color combination and I can’t belive I have the birthday hat paper exactly!

  99. becky - belledancr (SCS) Says:

    You did a great job and isn’t it fun to switch colors groups once in a while–we all need a chance of pace!
    I love how you did the cupcakes!
    becky
    SCS belledancr

  100. Karolyn L. Says:

    Ohhhhh . . . love that DP and the color scheme. I am OBSESSED with cupcakes – they just make me happy. I hope I win this new MFT set! Thanks for the opportunity and for sharing your amazing talents! Karolyn L. (garkarlon@msn.com)

  101. Sharon in NE Says:

    Cute name to match the very cute image: What’s up cupcake. Love it!

  102. Annapurna Says:

    Beautiful card. Love the color combination. Here is my wish…I don’t have any cupcake images, so please pick me.

  103. Kim Says:

    Love how you showed how it could be a card or a heading for a scrapbook page. I never would have thought to use a card like that, but I will now! Thanks for the chance to win!

  104. Kim L. Says:

    Wow! I like the idea of using the “card” as part of the scrapbook page! That’s a great idea for using the old cardfronts from swaps! Being a paper piercing maniac myself, I love the swirly piercing -did you use a template or was that done free-hand?

  105. ooo…i would love to win that set!! your card is adorable!
    regina

  106. Brandi W. Says:

    I love brilliant blue and green galore together. Your card is beautiful!

  107. Such a fun card! Those colors work well together and are so bright! Congrats to you for using them. LOL!

  108. Stephanie Says:

    Wow! Amazing Card! I don’t use the colors very often either but you have done a great job with them! I love it! 😀

  109. Susan G Says:

    Love the blue and green combo. I don’t have anycupcake stamps so I sure hope I get picked as the lucky winner!

  110. Cyndi Says:

    beautiful cards!!!

  111. Anne Marie Says:

    Love the cupcakes. Great work!

  112. Catherine Says:

    ty, for this chance at some great blog candy :)!

    Hugs,
    Catherine
    http://www.mystampinggrounds.blogspot.com
    catlevy@eastlink.ca

  113. I love filling in an alph with stickles!! LOVE stickles! What a great idea. TFS!

  114. Donna Says:

    I love your card! Bright colors are awesome – I missed Taylor’s challenge 2 weeks in a row being on vacation (boo hoo) I’d LOVE to win this set – it’s so cute!

  115. Lisa Says:

    Great card! Love those cupcakes, and would love to receive this set! TFS!

  116. Cindy Vernon Says:

    How cute is this? I would love to win!

  117. Denise Says:

    MJ, great card! You’re the best. TFS!

  118. Rebecca Says:

    Woah…those are soo cute. I just boutgh the stampamajig! I don’t know how I ever lived without it!!

  119. Heather Summers Says:

    Cupcakes are so hot right now — thanks for more inspiration!!

  120. MelissaS Says:

    I love what you did with this, from the cupcake tower to the colors, to the awesome sparkly lettering. Thanks for sharing!

  121. Janette Says:

    I love cupcake stamps and these are sooooo cute! Thanks for the chance to win.

  122. Renée Says:

    I love the colours that you’ve used. So bright and cheerful! The glitter in the outline alpha is fabulous, great idea!

    p.s. congrats on the Artisan award!! You so deserve it!

  123. Susan Z Says:

    Great color combination! I like the way you incorporated the card design into the larger design!!

  124. kathleen Says:

    This card is so bright and cheery! I love that Cupcake set! Thanks for the chance~

  125. Sheila Says:

    Absolutely love the color combination. Nice bright cheerful colors. Such cute cupcakes too. Thanks for the chance to win MFT stamps.

  126. Brenda H. Says:

    Wow, what an awesome card…great color combo! I would just LOVE to win these stamps…Thanks for the chance!
    ~Brenda H.

  127. Alison Says:

    Wow, that is such a fun card.
    Would love to win the stamp set
    Thanks

  128. lacyquilter Says:

    I love the blue/green combination.

  129. buzzy Says:

    Fun dots! What a fun way to morph a small card into something spectacular!

  130. Rachel M. Says:

    Love the card and the color combo! Don’t have any cupcake stamps, so this is a treat! Thanks for the opportunity!

  131. Those cupcake tops are Da Bomb! And I love the use of the alpha set — mine just got put together and I am looking forward to playing with it… this is great inspiration! Thanks for the chance to win, too.

  132. Stephanie Eisele Says:

    I am so into cupcakes lately. I wonder if it is because I’m on a diet and I shouldn’t eat them. So……..I’ll stamp them instead.

  133. Kathie Tice (aka chattiekathie) Says:

    How cute! I love the fresh colors you used and I love cupcakes!

  134. Kenna Says:

    I love the paper, but the cupcakes are the cutest! I do not even own any cupcake sets yet. Great card!

  135. Lynda K Says:

    Love those cupcakes!! I SO remember the bright blue/green color combo from the 60’s! Our first bedroom was all done in royal blue and bright green. Thanks for the memory!

  136. Shelly Kettell Says:

    Great card! Love your piercing!!!!! I didn’t know you could stamp WithOUT the stamp a ma jig!!!! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!!

  137. Colleen Says:

    Those cupcakes are the cutest, I just LOVE them! Your incorporation of the sketch into a page layout is so seamless. Thanks for sharing how you you did the letters too – I think I need to buy more stickles!! The color combination you used makes me think of going to the pool. So fresh and invigorating. Thanks for the chance!

  138. Stephanie Cox Says:

    I must get this set! It is too cute! I love your design with it! Thank you for sharing! I was thinking about baking some cupcakes…hmmm..!

  139. Desiree Says:

    Your projects are always fantastic! I love looking at your blog to see the beautiful creations you’ve made. Thanks for sharing!

  140. Jennifer Says:

    Super cute! I like the sketch in a sketch. and the cupcakes are to die for! I have that paper girly style…

    Jenn

  141. mary Puskar Says:

    Yummy–my favorite desert “in hand”. It was a great day when there was a cupcake in my lunchbox. Would love to win the new set of stamps. Count me in and this card is divine!

    Mary
    http://www.primitiveseasons.blogspot.com

  142. Heather B. Says:

    Great color combo! I love the cupcakes! Thanks for the chance!
    Heather B.

  143. Tasha Says:

    I really enjoy your blog. Such cute ideas. Thanks for the chance to win the mini. I have seen a few sneek peaks and love it!

  144. Kris Says:

    So Cute! I love the cupcake stamps!! Love how you can cleverly use these colors that dont see the light of day in my stamp room! lol! Thanks for the chance to win!

  145. Joey Says:

    I recently discovered your blog. I have loved everything so far. I can’t tell you enough how much I this!

    Joey

  146. Robyn A Says:

    Great card, and what a fab stamp set. Thanks for the chance.

  147. Heidi Says:

    Great card. Please enter me in the contest.

  148. Ellen Sutton Says:

    I just found your blog! What a great blog it is!!! The cupcake card is so bright and cheerful! I would love to win this set!
    Thanks

  149. broni Says:

    I love the bright colors of your cupcake card!

  150. Viv (VivLyn) Says:

    Very cute set and I love your card! I love blue and green together so this really caught my eye! TFS!!

  151. Jennifer Welter Says:

    Ooooh, I love cupcakes! I can’t wait for this set to be released!

  152. Mendi M Says:

    Love it!!

  153. LeAnne Says:

    Of all the cupcakes I’ve seen, I like this one best! The card is just so sweet–I LOVE these colors–very summery!
    LeAnne

  154. Giovana Says:

    Beautiful card, love the colors!!!
    Thanks for the chance to win this pretty set.

    God bless
    Giovana

  155. MariaMatter Says:

    Love this!!! The icing looks sooo yummy! Beautiful colors too!
    Thanks for the opportunity to win this cute set!!!!

  156. betty lou Says:

    Soooo cute! Thanks for the chance to win!

  157. bunnyb Says:

    So sweet!!!

  158. Lisa Davis Says:

    I love these colors together! These are my favorites for the year! I love your cards and those cupcakes look really yummy! tfs
    Lisa

  159. Lisa Moore Says:

    PICK ME… plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  160. Alyssa Says:

    Cool color combo! Thanks for the chance – I don’t have any cupcake stamps :o)

  161. Meredith Says:

    I am a huge fan of your cards and your site. You have an amazing gift!!

    Love the card!

  162. Lisa Henke Says:

    a chance to win a new set?! How cool is that! I would have left a comment anyway, this is fabulous! I love the colors and wow-that’s A LOT of glitter.

  163. Crystal Birr Says:

    I have a thing with cupcakes lately- that paper is just too cute and it is a perfect match!! Woderful card!

  164. janet d. Says:

    Love the cupcake set! Thanks for the goodies!

  165. Julie Says:

    love it and how it becomes a scrapbook page!

  166. Laura Says:

    Love your color combos within theses cards. You blog setup is appealing as well. Thanks for the opportunity.

  167. Allison L Says:

    Thank you for the inspiration and the chance at the set!

    Allison

  168. Gina Says:

    The card looks so yummi, you just want to eat it !!!

  169. jeanne nielsen Says:

    I love the bright fresh colors! I love the stamp set! I love the chance to win a new stamp set! Jeanne


Leave a Reply

