beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

From the groovy garden. A tone on tone wow! June 9, 2008

Sometimes working with just one color can be a challenge.  Sometimes working with this large flower stamp can be a challenge.  This tone on tone card has some hidden wow factors that add just the perfect monochromatic touches.

 

All supplies are Stampin’ Up! except for the white brads that I hope will be available by SU! soon *wink*. 

I’ll just tell you all the layers of CS starting from base up to main image panel:  Groovy Guava CS, Groovy Guava Textured CS, Whisper White CS, a piece of Groovy Guava DSP from Ginger Blossom DSP collection, and main image panel is Groovy Guava CS.

Because the flower image is rather large, I thought the sentiment “wish big” would be perfect.  It was small enough to fit right in the corner with the ribbon directing your eye where it needs to go.  KWIM? 

Finally, do you see the circle details that I added to the main image?  It gives just the right amount of added details to a rather large single colored flower.  I stamped the From the Garden image in Groovy Guava on the CS.  I stamped the Canvas BG with Versamark ink.  I had to restamp again so I could have an image to punch the circles from and place on top of the main image.   I sponged the egdes with Groovy Guava ink.  Punch a hole for the Groovy Guava Dbl-Stitched ribbon with a Horizontal Slot Punch and tie in a knot. 

I used a Ticket corner punch to the right corners of the card and added two white brads for balance.

Hope ya like.  Have a wonderful Monday!  I met a fellow SU! demo today at my little Ethans swim lesson.  I forgot to ask her name.  I know she said she stops by my blog.  Could you please contact me so I can have a card for you at the next swim lesson:)

STAMPS:  From the Garden Hostess Set, Canvas BG, Short & Sweet

CS:  Groovy Guava CS & Textured, Whisper White, Ginger Blossom DSP.

INKS:  Groovy Guava and Versamark ink

ACCESSORIES:  Stampin’ Sponges, Groovy Guava Dbl-Stitched ribbon, Horizontal Slot Punch, Ticket Corner Punch, 1/2″, 3/4″, 1″, 1-1/4″ Circle Punches.  White Brads are Doodlebug Design Inc.

 

20 Responses to “From the groovy garden. A tone on tone wow!”

  1. LeAnne Says:

    Beautiful! That stamp is quite intimidating in size, but you did a great job taming it down! Love this color, I am so going to miss it!
    LeAnne

  2. Jen Snyder Says:

    Oh you don’t have to get me a card. I just wanted to say hello! I was excited to meet the famous published stamper from Harrisburg whom I see all of her beautiful work in the On Stage magazines. It was nice meeting you as well! Hope Ethan will jump in the pool for you tomorrow! LOL!
    Jen Snyder

  3. ~amy~ Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Love all the subtle touches that really make the card shine!

  4. Desiree Says:

    What a fabulous card! Where do you get all of your inspiration? Your creativity has me in awe!

  5. This is just gorgeous!! There is so much elegance and complexity to this card!

  6. Karen M Says:

    Cool card! Love the circle details.

  7. Kris Says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous!I love the tone-on-tone. look. Tfs! Kris

  8. Conniecrafter Says:

    This is just lovely and like what you did with the ribbon and the circles are such a creative and neat idea!

  9. Charmaine Says:

    I love all the layers and details you put into this card…simply stunning.

    Charmaine

  10. Bonnie W Says:

    Wow! You finally have me sold on that stamp! Now I better get a “party” put together to earn it before they’re gone.

  11. lacyquilter Says:

    I love how you threaded the ribbon through.

  12. DianeL Says:

    This is the most AWESOME card – TFS
    DianeL

  13. nina Says:

    love the cirles

  14. Sandy K Says:

    Beautiful!

  15. Steph Says:

    So pretty… I love monochromatic.

  16. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, very cool card! Simple yet so effective! I love all the added details! It turned out beautiful 😀

    Cindy

  17. Carolyn King Says:

    Gorgeous MJ–LOVE the tone on tone (and the little circle accents are genius!)—you done good! This is striking!

  18. Leslie Says:

    I love, love, love what youdid with this stamp. I have not even decided if I want to mount mine yet or not! I have to ask you: It looks like in addition to the circles, you actually managed to also line up the grid from the canvas bg. How on earth did you do that!?!?!? Or is it an optical illusion, and there is hope for the rest of us! 😉

  19. Judy Says:

    This is one of the most outstanding cards done with the Groovy Guava theme. I really have enjoyed this color and hate to see it go. You did a fabulous job on this card.

  20. This is gorgeous! I am trying to do some catch up! So glad I stopped by! Take care, Deb


Leave a Reply

