beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #22 June 27, 2008

Yes, it’s Friday!  I woke up this morning thinking it was Thursday…lol.  I have been so disorganized and thrown off my normal routine all due to a dentist appointment yesterday.  Man, that gets me so worked up and it went so smoothly without pain:)  Now I can focus on getting back to stamping.

Here is what I quickly came up with this morning for Taylors cupcake challenge.  I wish I had more time to play with this sketch and give you more of a wow factor, so I posted a “masking maniac” creation below it with the same set (was going to submit it to the stamping royalty contest but I, once again, had other things get in the way and I wasn’t able to send it in.

  I had some other ideas and maybe I’ll get to that later this weekend.   I added two little cupcakes to go with the cupcake theme.  Remember, you don’t have to use cupcake images to participate in the challenges.  Give it a try with whatever you have.  Believe me…I have very little cupcake images and I’m now on the lookout for some cute ones.

If you want to see more samples from the cupcake sketch team, check out their sites:

Ana Wohlfahrt, Jami Sibley, Lynn Mercurio, Monika Davis, Stephanie Hargis, and Vicki Chrisman

And this weeks featured cupcake sampler is the most fabulous Sharon Harnist (yippeee).  You can check out her creation at her blog paperfections.

HERE IS THE CARD I MENTIONED ABOVE.  DO YOU HAVE THE PATIENCE FOR MASKING WITH 4 DIFFERENT SETS TO CREATE A SCENE??? 

 

Let’s just say it took a whole weekend of on and off stamping to create this card..lol  That’s right!  4 stamp sets:  MFT’s Meet me at the Cafe (cafe window scene), Can Ya Dit It (hat), Gone to the Dogs(lady walking dog), and Behind the Scenes (floral design on wall). 

The window is covered with Crystal Effects with a touch of Adirondack Aqua Re-inker for the glare effect. 

 

Hope you all have a happy Thursday   Friday!

 

 

24 Responses to “Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #22”

  1. Monika/buzsy Says:

    Great cards! Love the images you used… wow! great job on the masking! TFS!

  2. Wow, what fabulous cards, Mary Jo! Fabulous coloring and OMGoodness, all the masking on the 2nd one — phenomenal!! Thanks so much for the mention, sweetie!

  3. You and I had similar ideas with the cupcakes! Awesome card and such a cute image.

  4. Darling cards Mary jo, LOVE the creative design and layout. Hope you have a wondful weekend!

    Hugs, Jennifer 🙂

  5. Taylor Says:

    OK… it’s official… you are amazing! Both of your cards are adorable, but that masked card is jaw-dropping! You said it took you all weekend to make it, but it would take me my whole life just to “think” of such a scene!

  6. Ana Says:

    AMAZING MJ!! That MFT card is mind blowing!! It looks like a painting!!

  7. Wow girl these are rocking, awesome job.

  8. Regina Davis Says:

    Both cards are beautiful, but your masking card is OUT OF THIS WORLD AMAZING! Your patience (and hardwork) really paid off. Thank you so much for sharing it!

    Have a terrific weekend – Regina

  9. Sherrie Says:

    Wow, That is a ton of masking MJ! Very worth it though! Both cards are beauties! I love the little cupcakes sitting on the table….ok and scrolling through your blog. YESTERDAYS’ PROJECT……AMAZING! You ooze talent!

  10. Holy smokes…another jaw dropper!

  11. pegg Says:

    Both are gorgeous, but the 2nd one — wow! Thanks for sharing that with us. It’s soooo awesome!!

  12. Although it took you a while for that card, it was WELL worth it. I love the final result! I just love your creations! 🙂

  13. Carol Says:

    I am so loving all these great designs this week for Taylor’s cupcake challenge. I’m so inspired, I think I’ll play along. I also spotted your baby carriage and I LOVE IT!!!! It is so adorable. Thanks for sharing your great ideas.

  14. I don’t even know where to start!!! It is all just so FABULOUS!!

  15. Bellawhoop Says:

    I’m definitely WOWed! Holy cow! The second card is amazing. I love your masking to create that scene. I’m sure you’ve heard this more than a dozen times, but you are one AMAZING lady!

  16. Oh my goodness! Both of your cards are fabulous! You never cease to amaze me girl! 😀 Terrific job! I am glad that you were able to get your card made. It was so worth it!!

  17. Kathy D Says:

    Love these! Especially the 2nd one. SO much work, but so worth it!!!

  18. Shona Says:

    this is quite ingenious!! You are so creative! Rock on girl!

  19. Pat Says:

    Oh my, that masked one especially is an eye-popper AND a jaw-dropper! You need to frame that one and display it. Such beautiful work.

  20. Conniecrafter Says:

    Fun cards, like the canopy’s, how cool to combine so many sets in one and it looks terrific, love the effect of glass window!

  21. KAT Says:

    All of the extra work to mask the 4 stamp sets was worth it – it’s a beauty!!! Glad to know there is someone else out there that takes more then 30 minutes to create a masterpiece!!!

  22. Erin K Says:

    These are amazing.

    You ARE a super blogger BTW.

  23. So cute! I love MFT!! Great job on the cards. Love them as I always do!!!

  24. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, this card is awesome! Love all of the details you’ve included – they’re great! The Crystal Effects to make the window was a nice touch 😀

    Cindy


Leave a Reply

