beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #29 August 15, 2008

Happy Friday!  That means it is time for another one of Taylor’s challenges.  I really like circles, so this sketch was a fun one to play around with.   Remember, you don’t have to use cupcake images to participate in the challenge:)

             

I thought it would be fun to create a 3-D item this week.  Ahhh, but guess what?  It is more than that!  The top of the gift box lid is a card:)  It’s an “all-in-one” package! 

Here are a series of pics to show all the details of this project:

 This would be a sideview front on.  The box base was created with Bella Rose Designer Series Paper.  The lid is Pink Pirouette cardstock with a scalloped border created with a 3/16″ Corner Rounder PUnch.  I did punch a hole in the lid x2 (front and back) with a 1/4″ Circle Punch.  Made a Riding Hood Red cardstock circle for around the punched hole with my 1/4″ & 1/2″ Circle Punches so I could thread the 5/8″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon through it to keep the box closed nicely.

This is a birds eye view of the project to show you the card feature of the lid.  It is a 4-3/8″ square card that is attached to a 4-1/2″ lid with Glue Dots.  I just love this idea…..at parties, the card always seems to get separated from the gift, so I thought this was neat.  Picture giving this to a young girl.  She can keep it after her party as a keepsake box.

I just love this stamped flower from Eastern Blooms stamp set.  I simply stamped it twice and cut the larger petals from one of the two images and attached together with a mini glue dot.  Topped off with a Pearl from the Pretties Kit.  Created the rosette behind the sentiment with 5/8″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon. 

Check out what the rest of the cupcake crew came up with for Taylors challenge:  Ana Wohlfahrt, Jami Sibley, Lynn Mercurio, Monika Davis, Sherrie Siemens, Stephanie Hargis, and Vicki Chrisman.  And this weeks featured cupcake samper is Noelle McHone.

Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for stopping by.

All supplies Stampin’ Up!

STAMPS:  It’s All Good, Eastern Blooms, and Defining Alphabet

CARDSTOCK:  Chocolate Chip, Riding Hood Red, Pink Pirouette, and Whisper White.

PATTERNED PAPER:  Bella Rose Designer Series Paper.

INKS:  Riding Hood Red and Chocolate Chip Classic Stampin’ Pads.

ACCESSORIES:  Pretties Kit; 5/8″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon; Sticky Strip; Pop-Up Glue Dots.

TOOLS:  3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Crafters’ Tool Kit; 1/4″, 1/2″, 1-1/4″, and 1-3/8″ Circle Punches.

 

28 Responses to “Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #29”

  1. stamperosity Says:

    Oh my isn’t this the most ROCKIN’ creation! I love the way you used the circles, and the box is genius! And it’s all topped off with that adorable ruffled sentiment. FABU!

  2. Monika/buzsy Says:

    Awesome project! Love the design, the colors… TFS!

  3. Oh my word Mary Jo! You are such a genius! 😀 The box top works as the card too??? How cool is that! You are too creative girl! Congrats on your new big adventure by the way! How excited you must be! You deserve it though!

    ((hugs))

  4. Jami Says:

    First of all MJ – what a terrific take on the sketch to spell out bday, but WOW – the box idea is over the top! Love it!!!

  5. Angie Tieman Says:

    THis is fabulous!! Love the Stampin’ Up! stamps too! *wink*

  6. Ana Says:

    What an awesome project MJ! Love the yummy color combo 🙂

  7. How fabulous is this, Mary Jo! I LOVE it!

  8. Lorie Says:

    Holy cow! This is amazing! As usual!

  9. Wow! Love this! What a great project for Taylor’s sketch!

  10. Q Says:

    Beautiful project! Love the paper you used and the spin you put on Taylor’s sketch! Do you have a link to the directions for the technique you used to make the box? Thanks for sharing your neat project!!

  11. Linda Says:

    Ooh Mary Jo…that is a great idea…love the lettering on the top…a great little package.

  12. Kristy Says:

    This is just beautiful. The red flower and the center just pops!

  13. sandie carter Says:

    WOW!! This looks terrific. Love the idea of using letters in the circles and without the flower would make a great male card front. Thanks for the inspiration and for sharing.

  14. Jami Says:

    Holy Smokes!! What an amazing creation!! I just love the big birthday letters, and that ribbon in the middle. And that box… Whoa!!! Way cool!

  15. Lori Says:

    what a great treat box! and what an inspiring challenge. I’ll make my way back to Taylored Expressions to find some more ideas! Thanks!!!

  16. kathryn Says:

    LOVE everything about your project — so cute!!!!
    I love the paper you used, it is so very pretty! 🙂

  17. Sara Says:

    What a great project. I love the colors, the way you used birthday and I really love that the top of the box is like a card.

    Sara

  18. Wow! This is incredible! Will you over directions for your box/card combo? Love the double flower and the ribbon flower!

  19. Fantastic box /card! Your are a genius creator! Love your chocolate rosette! Deb

  20. Absolutely lovely!! Wish it was my bday 😉 Thanks for the inspiration!

  21. Wow, great job with the sketch!

  22. Kerry Wheeler Says:

    Hi MJ
    Your blog is fantastic and I love your bubbly words and projects. SU must be so psyched to have you on their team. I knew it was just a matter of time though. :+) I am so glad to hear you are focusing on your business side of SU too and having more shows. I saw what you did at my dhow and was so pleased. Not only did I get a ton of free stuff, I had a BLAST too!! To whomever is reading this if you can have a show with MJ, DO IT! It is fun and the FREE stuff rocks!!! Especially in time for halloween, they are one of my favorite cards.
    If you’re far away then have an email or book party! They rock too.
    Have a great day and happy stamping
    Love, Kerry

  23. barb schram Says:

    Love this…what a great take on Taylor’s sketch!

  24. Vicki Chrisman Says:

    Oh this turned out totally CUTE! Love it! So creative!
    My friend Cat has been here from Maine, and just headed back home today..so I’m just now getting around to my blog hop.

  25. Susanna Says:

    Mary Jo, I just love this box! The card worked in as the cover just adds that special touch!

    I gave you a special “shout out” over at CardoftheWeek.com. You can see the original post here: http://www.cardoftheweek.com/2008/08/card-of-the-w-3.html.

    I did use a picture from your post, with links back to the site and the original post. I hope that is OK. Please feel free to email me if you need me to change anything.

    I also have an “I was featured” on badge for you if you want it 😀

    Thanks again for sharing!

  26. WOWIE on an amazing creation! The colors just make it fantastic! Good job and congrats on that shout out from Card of the Week!

  27. joyk Says:

    What an incredibly creative project…………love the birthday card and gift box-in-one idea. Beautifully done!

  28. Beth Says:

    I am continually in awe of your creative talent!!! Thank you for sharing 🙂 This will be such a useful project for all the birthdays to come.
    Blessings,
    Beth


Leave a Reply

