beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Once in a while….. September 3, 2008

you meet someone and you are so glad that you did.  It was Convention last year (Denver) and I happened to spark up a conversation with someone.  She was so enthusiastic.  She encouraged me to “get out there and share” what it is I do.  She wants my SU! business to grow.  Her motivation is contagious.  Guess who?

I’m referring to Kimberly Van Diepen.  Isn’t she awesome?  Let me tell ya, when you communicate with her, you will feel like you have known her for years.  I receive emails daily with business tips and such.  I never have that “blah, blah, blah…too many emails…delete” syndrome when it comes to her emails. 

How do I show my appreciation?  Well, how about the Business Card cards & box that some of you may have seen in a new artisan gallery (for su! demo’s only).   I will be mailing this out to her today:)

Now to show my appreciation for those who stop by my site….How about a tutorial?  I have read that many wish Stampin’ Up! would share dimensions and directions.  With this VERY SIMPLE & BASIC BOX TUTORIAL, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CREATE A BOX FOR YOUR FUTURE PROJECTS.

I made 10 cards that will hold your personal business card. 

Old Olive cardstock cardbase measures 3-3/4″ x 4-1/2″ folded in half. 

Next layer is Tangerine Tango measuring 2-1/8″ x 3-5/8″. 

Haiku DSP strip measures 1-1/16 x 3-5/8″.

 

ETA:  TO MAKE THE SCALLOPED 20TH ANNIVERSARY FOCAL POINT ~~ Use Sizzix Side Kick and 20th anniversary die with Old Olive CS (set aside); Use die again with a piece of More Mustard CS and punch out middle with your 1-1/4″ Circle Punch (set aside); Use your 1-3/8″ Circle Punch to a piece of Very Vanilla CS; Assemble all three pieces together and adhere to card with Stampin’ Dimensionals🙂 

 

 

Place a rubber band around cards on top of Grid Paper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Draw a box around the base for the bottom of the box.

 

 

 

Determine how high you want the sides of your box.  For mine, it’s only 1″ (very tiny box for displaying purposes and easy for people to grab a card with your information inside). 

Draw out 1″ to all four sides.

 

 

 

You need to add a “tab”  for holding box together.  Mine is 1/2″ to the long sides.

 

You can see the final dimension and now you can take your cardstock and cut it to this size.

 

 

 

 

 

This is what your cut cardstock should look like.

 

 

 

 

Apply Sticky Strip to the four tabs.  The tabs are to be adhered to the “inside” of the smaller side pieces.

 

 

 

 

 

Assembled box.

Embellish to your likings.  I simply placed 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain around mine and made a bow.

 

 

 

 

Very easy.  The mini cards are the time-consuming part of the project. 

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day!

All supplies Stampin’ Up!

STAMP:  Wow Flowers

CARDSTOCK:  Tangerine Tango, Old Olive, More Mustard, Very Vanilla

PATTERNED PAPER:  Haiku Designer Series Paper

INKS:  Tangerine Tango and More Mustard

ACCESSORIES:  SU! Sizzix Side Kick; 20 Anniversary Die; Mustard and Old Olive Grosgrain Ribbon; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Mini Glue Dots; Sticky Strip; 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punches; Grid Paper.

 

31 Responses to “Once in a while…..”

  1. JanScholl Says:

    I want to know how you embossed the circles. These would be so cute for baby showers or sweet 16-just gotta know the deets on the circle.

  2. Ilene B. Says:

    Awesome instructions! You made it so easy. Thank you
    Your projects are gorgeous and you inspire us all.

  3. Nancy Koskovich Says:

    Thanks so much loved the cards and cute box! Using that grid paper I could make other sizes as well!! I love all your ideas thanks for sharing!! Nancy

  4. Chickie Z. Says:

    WOW! THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH for the directions. This is a beautiful gift & presentation. I’m one of the many who wish SU would give dimensions. We are the buying public yet they seem to have problems with sharing how to make items in all the catty’s we order from. Thank God for all you Blog people. You are awesome for posting all your beautiful creations using SU & all the other’s products. I apprecite you!! TAFS!

  5. StampinCathy Says:

    Great tutorial! I just love your cards and box. The colors are so pretty together and just love the style of your cards. YOU ROCK!

  6. Ginny Schleich Says:

    Hi Mary Jo,
    Thanks so much for the tutorial on the box. I saw your project on the SU website. Congratulations! Awesome box and cards. Thank you for sharing. Love your blog, too.

  7. Rose Ann Says:

    Wow…these are fantastic, Mary Jo!! You so rock!!!

  8. Wow, great little package! I love the embossed circle! Thanks for the directions.

  9. Shona Watson Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! I love visiting your blog and seeing what you’ve created. You are an inspiration, yourself, to so many! Thanks again, the box is beautiful!

  10. Cindy Major Says:

    That’s a great gift, and that’s very nice of you to send it to her. Thanks for sharing how you figure out box dimensions – I’m going to keep that in mind!

    Love the little bows of ribbon you created on the cards and the box 🙂

    Cindy

  11. Lyn Says:

    Mary Jo,

    Thanks for doing this. Guess my email wasn’t the only one!!

  12. Melissa Says:

    Awesome, awesome awesome! This is fabulous Mary Jo!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  13. Terri C Says:

    Thanks so much, this is a GREAT project!!! My only question is HOW did you make the bows?

  14. SARAH J. Says:

    MARY JO,
    I JUST HAD A LIGHTBULB MOMENT! WITH YOUR ASSISTANCE, OF COURSE. I HAVE SHIED AWAY FROM MAKING MY OWN 3-D CONTAINERS. PLACE THE ITEMS ON GRID PAPER AND MEASURE IT OUT IN EASY INCREMENTS – DUH! I WAS OVERTHINKING ALL THIS TIME. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THE TIP!

  15. Denise G Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing how to create a box…. I always wondered how it was done. You make it seems so simple.

    Thanks for the wonderful inspiration you give too!

    Denise G

  16. Sherry Weldy Says:

    Thank you so much for your time and these awesome directions! Mary Jo, I have to tell ya, I LOVED your pieces at convention! Just gorgeous!!!]
    Have a great week!
    Sherry

  17. kim howard Says:

    Great tutorial and love how you drew it out on the grid paper…I do this quite often.

  18. Anne Granger Says:

    Mary Jo,

    Thank you so much for your sharing this tutorial with us. When I saw it on SU!, I knew that I had to make this and was disappointed that they weren’t sharing the measurments with us. I love how you did the scallops, how did you make them??

    Thank you for taking the time to share you love of stamping with us, we really appreciate.

    I check out your blog daily and love your work. I look forward to learning from you as a fellow demonstrator.
    Your friend,
    Anne Granger

  19. Darling project, Mary Jo, thanks for sharing these very universal box construction instructions! Would you mind also sharing instructions for how you design the inside of the foldover card to hold a business card? I’m sure I can figure it out, I’m just a lazy stamper, and I’m sure your quick and easy notes and/or measurements would be helpful to many more than just myself 🙂

    Btw, I wholeheartedly agree that KVD is the most awesomest (is that a word? it is now.) motivator of a demo that I’ve ever met!

  20. Lori Craig Says:

    You. are. awesome!

  21. Britiney Says:

    I wanna be you when I grow up. Ok. You’re probably younger than I am, but you get the picture.

    Oh, and on a side note, I think of you every time, EVERY TIME I see this person:
    http://www.usanetwork.com/series/inplainsight/theshow/characterprofiles/mary/index.html

  22. Shera Says:

    Thanks so much for these dimensions/directions!! Maybe you can convince SU! to include these in future months. And congrats on the well-deserved Artisan Award!!

  23. Jill Kirk Says:

    How awesome are you…always thinking of other people! I love the box and cards, so cute! Thanks for the tutorial 🙂

  24. Bev Says:

    Wowie MJ!
    These are great! I was looking at the Artisan Showcase and trying to figure out which one was yours. 🙂
    Thanks for simplifying the box making process. Who knew to use grid paper as a guide? Your such a rock star lady! 😉
    -Bev

  25. Dawn Easton Says:

    So cool MJ! Love what you did here and thanks for explaining how to figure out a box! I’d never thought to use the grid paper like that before! yah!

  26. Denise Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this cute way to showcase our business cards and THANK YOU for sharing the directions….sooooo appreciated

  27. Merry Says:

    thank you so much for posting this!!! I saw it on the SU site and knew I *had* to make one for myself. I was going to play around with it but this makes it so much easier *wink*

    Thank you so much for all the great ideas and inspiration!!!!! I LOVE visiting your blog 🙂

  28. Vicki Says:

    This is darling!! What an awesome tutorial!! Love the holder!!

  29. Anita Says:

    Absolutely Awesome! Thank you so much for sharing! You are a blessing to all of us!

  30. Lori Says:

    Thanks for showing how to make the box! These directions are soooooo easy to follow and modify!

    You’re awesome!!!!!!!
    Lori

  31. Nicole Says:

    Hi Mary Jo!
    LOVE this project!
    It is this week’s featured 3D Demo Challenge over @ SCS!
    Thanks for the inspiration and tutorial!


Leave a Reply

