beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a little glimpse December 31, 2008

I can’t believe 2008 is almost over.  I don’t think it went by fast, but it sure was a busy year to say the least.  I reflected a little yesterday and reminded myself how thankful I am. 

I was browsing through my Christmas pics and instantly fell in love with this image.  It is peaceful, warm, and welcoming and became my favorite spot in my home this past month.  Standing 10 feet tall, this years tree was my favorite (but I say that every year).

blog-dec-31-2

I always look forward to January.  I love birthdays….and I still enjoy celebrating my own lol.  My little Ethan will be turning the big “5” on the 10th.  That’s a big one right?  School is right around the corner.  I even stated to John yesterday that Ethan’s looks are changing.  I have a nice party planned already and have been asking what he wants for his birthday (I’ll just continue my search for some items I couldn’t find during the holidays).  With a party fast approaching, I have to send out invites tomorrow.   Here is what the guests will receive soon.

blog-dec-31-1

One of my favorite card samples in the current SU! catalog is on pg. 113.  I used the card as my inspiration for Ethan’s invites (and had to change some things up a bit).  I have NO NUMBER STAMPS…gasp!  So, The main circle works well with the word “five” spelled out.  The number 5 on the three smaller circles is actually from the Dec. 25 stamp from the set Winter Post.   This is a time consuming invite, but I only had to make 10 total.

Thanks for all of the wonderful comments and support over this past year.  Happy New Year!!!

ALL SUPPLIES SU!

STAMPS:  Party Hearty, Jumbo Outline Alphabet, Winter Post, Classic Background, and Nursery Necessities.

CARDSTOCK:  Pacific Point, Kiwi Kiss, Real Red, More Mustard, Bashful Blue, and Whisper White.

INKS:  Pacific Point, Kiwi Kiss, Real Red, and More Mustard.

ACCESSORIES:  Pacific Point 5/8″ Striped Grosgrain Ribbon; Punches Plus Classy Brass Template; Silver Elastic Cord; Silver Eyelet; Styled Silver Hodgepodge Hardware; Crafters’ Tool Kit; Scallop Edge Punch; Star and Large Star Punches; 1/4″, 1/2″, 3/4″, 1-1/4″, 1-3/8″, and 1-3/4″ Circle Punches.

 

21 Responses to “a little glimpse”

  1. Allison F Says:

    What a gorgeous invitation. I love the colours and design.

  2. IfatArt Says:

    Great Invitation! cute idea!

  3. JoAnn Burnham Says:

    Very nice. We have a great-granddaughter turning 8 on Jan. 10th. Happy Birthday wishes to Ethan.

  4. Jenn D Says:

    That is a fabulous invitation!

    I love your watermark! I needed that a few weeks ago. Great idea!

  5. We have so much in common! I live in Pittsburgh and I also have a son turning 5 in March. We are thinking about a bowling party though.

    We’ve spoke before by email.

    Happy New Year to you!!!

  6. Nancy Riley Says:

    A brilliant design, MJ! It’s PERFECTION!

  7. Renée Says:

    Love the invitation and your tree looks absolutely fabulous! I can see why you’d like to stay nearby!!

    Have a happy New Year!

  8. Jen O. Says:

    Such a beautiful tree! And the inviation is adorable! Such a special invite for his 5th birthday.

  9. Happy Birthday to Ethan EARLY. Take it from someone who will have children in college, 2nd, 1st and PreSchool next year, they grow up before you know it!!!!!!!

    EXCELLENT invitations with all of the wonderful details!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR and thank you for sharing your talent, it is such wonderful inspiration!

    Hoosier HUGS, Nicole

  10. Conniecrafter Says:

    very cute, I still love celebrating my birthday too 🙂 this invite is too cute, hope he has a wonderful birthday!

  11. Dawn Easton Says:

    Happy New Year MJ!! Your tree is certainly GORGEOUS! Love your invites for your son’s birthday…the little bit of scallops popping out from the edge is a neat idea!!

  12. Rachel M. Says:

    Happy New Year! Love your invitations! Wow! Hopefully I’ll be able to also make my own son’s invites too. I keep saying that every year and I still don’t. He turns 5 in June so I have time to practice:)

  13. Love the invitation for your son’s birthday party!

  14. Lisa Brown Says:

    This is a precious invitation! I love it!

  15. stampinbythesea Says:

    Happy New Year sista! My daughter turns six on the 10th! How ironic.
    Can’t wait to see all your pretty things at Leadership. I will take some pics for you!

  16. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, the guests have probably no idea how lucky they are to receive a Mary Jo original! And such a cute one, too! Lots of work and great detailing in that one!

    All my best wishes for 2009! I hope it’s a fabulous year for you and your family and that I will be seeing more of your fabulous work! (Looking forward to seeing what you’re sharing at Leadership!)

    Cindy

  17. Nayheli Says:

    Beautiful invitation!! Hugs from México and happy 2009!!

  18. Cindy B Says:

    Love the invitation! How appropriate for a 5 year old guy. Happy Birthday Ethan! Have a terrific time on your day.

  19. Beth M Says:

    Your tree is beautiful and that invite is precious! I hope the recipents view is as a keepsake!

  20. Such an adorable card & beautiful tree. TFS!

  21. Mary Says:

    How precious! I love the tree and you photographed it so well! The invite is so cute! I would be wanting them back after people looked at them!


Leave a Reply

